Workout Log: June 4 – June 17

I was out of town for this entire two weeks! And boy was it crazy! While it was tough to get “regular” workouts in, the good news is that I focused more on running and had the highest mileage weeks that I have had since coming out of marathon training. It felt great to run more again, but I definitely have a few twinges and aches that have popped up that I need to be careful of as I continue to ramp up training this summer.

This will most likely be the last two-week workout log that I post. Now that I am unofficially starting training for Beach 2 Battleship, I will post more detailed weekly training recaps.

June 4 – 10

  • Monday – EASY 3.75 miles a.m. (9:43 min/mile) + 5:00 p.m. Spin – 45 min (18 miles)
  • Tuesday – Speed workout: 12×400’s @ 6:20 w/45 seconds rest; 7 miles – These were tough! Alisen gave me the workout and she loves a short rest interval! 45 seconds isn’t a very long rest. Result: 1:34, 1:36, 1:35, 1:35, 1:35, 1:34, 1:36, 1:35, 1:33, 1:35, 1:34, 1:33
  • Wednesday – 5:30 a.m. Body Attack 30 min elliptical + weights/abs – unfortunately the Body Attack class was cancelled for the summer and I didn’t check the schedule before waking up early and going to the gym! I still used the time, but I was a little bored.
  • Thursday – 7 miles w/4 miles tempo @ 7:30 min/mile: 7:25, 7:27, 7:26, 7:19
  • Friday – OFF (looked back and saw that this was first complete day off with no yoga, swimming or anything since May 18th…yikes!)
  • Saturday – 11 HILLY miles at the lake (8:24 min/mile)
  • Sunday – Open water swim 1600m
Totals:
  • Run = 28.75 miles
  • Swim = 1600 m
  • Bike = 18 miles
  • Time: 6 hours and 15 min

June 11 – 17

  • Monday – OFF 😦
  • Tuesday – Speed workout: HILLS! – 6 miles w/2 mile w/up, 10 x 1 min hill climb + 5 x 30 sec hill climb, 0.5 mile c/d
  • Wednesday – Indoor brick! 45 min spin (15 miles) + 2 mile TM run (8:21 min/mile)
  • Thursday – 6 miles tempo w/3 miles @ 7:15 – once again perfect, cool weather! Warmed up for 2 miles in my PureCadence (LOVE THEM!) and then ran 3 tempo miles; 7:13, 7:10, 7:11. I was really hurting by 2.5, but overall loving the faster tempo paces than even 6 months ago!
  • Friday – Swim 1900 m at hotel pool. It was a 16 m pool so it felt like I would take a few strokes then have to turn right away. It was 120 lengths to get 1900 m! But I was really glad to make it work on the road.
  • Saturday – 3 easy miles – a late night on Friday (not by my choice) kept me from being able to run Saturday morning before our meetings, so I was extremely happy to squeeze something in before dinner. Just doing something always makes me feel good.
  • Sunday – 10 miles (8:20 min/mile) – had to get up very early to get this done, but was rewarded with a lovely morning on Lake Shore dr. in Chicago. I felt very, very tired and my legs were heavy so it was a struggle to keep the pace I was aiming for, but so satisfying to push through a tough run and meet my goal.
Totals:
  • Run =  28 miles
  • Swim = 1900 m
  • Bike = 15 miles
  • Time = 5 hrs 10 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, swimming, the lake, training, triathlon, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Workout Log: June 4 – June 17

  1. Ricole Runs says:

    WE’RE IN THE SAME VAN!!!!! Goooo Morning Team! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    Wow, your interval and tempo paces are really strong! Nice work getting all those miles in on vacation, and so many quality runs. So… guess what I registered for this evening…. eeek! Nervous already!

Tell me what you think!

