Weekly Recap: Here we go!

Countdown to B2B: 18 weeks

Hello from Hamburg, Germany!!

Last week officially “unofficially” marked the start of training for Beach 2 Battleship! I am excited to be back in training, but without a strict schedule.

I am pretty happy with the volume of training this week and the quality of the workouts. The focus moving forward definitely will be to continue the strong run training and to re-gain the fitness that I lost after 2 full weeks off of the bike.

Monday – 22 miles ride, ~1:18 (16.9 mph): I originally planned to go to the track with the Tri Club for speedwork, but after running 10 miles Sunday, I didn’t think the one-mile TT that was on the schedule was really a good idea. When I got a text from Char saying that she was riding after work, the decision was easy to make. I rode with Char and Jesse and he was really pushing the pace. Our average doesn’t show it but we put in some solid tempo miles in the middle of the ride.

Tuesday – 32.6 mile ride, ~2:02 (16.0 mph): It is a amazing how much bike fitness you can lose after not riding for two weeks. After Monday night, my legs were shot and I did not want to get out of bed when the alarm went off at 5:05 a.m.! In that moment I was questioning how I am going to make it through the next 4 months of training. When I finally got out of bed, I rode with Char for the first 50 min then we circled back to pick up Kim. We did a ton of climbing and my legs were dead/on-fire/hating me the whole time.

Wednesday – 7 mile run, w/3 tempo: 7:08, 7:09, 7:07 (7:58 min/mile avg.) + Master’s Swim – 2200 yds: I warmed up 2 miles with Walter and my legs felt absolutely dead. When I started the first tempo mile, it was hard, but manageable. I dropped Walter off at home, switched shoes (out of my PureCadence – breaking them in smart!) and finished the last 2 tempo miles. Once I was on my own, I can’t say it felt easy to run those paces, but I definitely did not feel like the level of effort should have been giving me such fast paces! It was awesome, especially on such tired legs!

I didn’t want to go swim after work. I went home to change and it took all of my will power to get out of the door. In the end, as usual, I was very glad I did. It was a tough workout and I was definitely feeling the time off from the pool.

Thursday – Brick: 16.7 mile ride, ~1:04 (16.7 mph) + 15 min run, 2 miles (7:30 min/mile) + Easy 3 mile run, (8:28 min/mile) – TWO-A-DAY! Met Jenni early to ride. She is nursing a hip injury so we took it pretty easy on the bike, then I hopped off and got in 2 sweaty miles. Since it was a pretty light workout in the morning, I thought this was a good day to squeeze in a second run so I did 3 easy miles after dinner. I was definitely inspired by all of the HTC motivation this week!

Friday – Speedwork: 7 miles total with a pyramid: 2 mile w/u, 400 m (1:34), 600 m (2:25), 800 m (3:14), 1200 m (5:01) 800 m (3:13), 600 m (2:23), 400 m (1:35), w/ 400 m rest intervals – I headed to the track to knock out a big pyramid of intervals. It was an awesome morning, humid but not super hot and I was excited to do some fast running! My legs definitely weren’t fresh so I felt a little sluggish warming up and the intervals were tough, but I hit all of my paces and felt so, so great afterward! (Can you tell I am still on my endorphin high as I write this?!)

Saturday – Ride Master’s Swim 3400 yds: This is where my “no plan” training really makes sense right now. I had already done 3 rides, including a somewhat “long” ride and I really just wanted to sleep in and then spend the morning with a friend getting mani/pedi’s and shopping. I got an awesome workout in at Master’s Swim and was still able to enjoy the late morning and mid-afternoon as I pleased!

Sunday – 8 miles, 8:11 min/mile: The first “long” run of the 1/2 marathon training cycle and it was HOT and HILLY! I took Walter for the first 3 and wish I would have only taken him 2. I got a late start (around 8:40) and it was just too hot for him. I chose a route that I haven’t been on in a while, just trying to mix up the scenery a little and I forgot just how hilly it was! This isn’t as far as I have been going lately, but the training plan called for 8 and since the pace was supposed to about 10 seconds per mile faster than what I have been running, I decided to stick with it.

Totals:

  • Swim = 5600 yds
  • Bike = 71.3 miles
  • Run = 27 miles
  • Time = 10 hrs. 20 min.


About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Weekly Recap: Here we go!

  1. meredith says:

    hey..meant to ask you last week..what are you two a day runs going to look like? Think i am going to do the same, running is my weakest link…share your ideas

    • Corey says:

      I am probably not a good one to give advice since I have only done it twice. Ever. I plan to do them once a week on the day of a brick (since that is an easy run) or after shorter tempo run. I am thinking that the second run will just be nice easy-paced miles, with no focus on pace for now. Maybe after I get a little more used to it, I will do one to three miles of increased pace in the 2nd run?! What does your coach say about it?

  2. Ricole Runs says:

    Wow! Incredible week of workouts! Very very impressive!

  3. meredith says:

    My coach tells me not to do it-and that to have faith in the plan lol….but im paranoid im going to die on the last leg of the race…..i dont want to walk…were there alot of walkers when your raced?

    • Corey says:

      I didn’t do any double run days last year. The only reason I am doing them now is to prepare for the Relay I am doing in August. There were TONS of people walking at the 70.3 in Augusta. It was so hot (90*) and since I was in one of the last groups to start the swim, most of the run course was people walking who were in earlier waves. I walked almost the whole last 3 miles of the course because my calves were cramping so bad I couldn’t push off to run. I think many people walk at least the water stops, especially when it is hot and especially when it is the first one!

  4. Laura says:

    You got in some awesome rides and speedy runs! Wow! This is helpful as I think through how to add in bike and swim time for the next 2-3 weeks… not sure how you keep this up year round though. It’s exhausting just thinking about fitting it all in. 🙂

    • Corey says:

      I hear you! I definitely don’t train like this year-round…mostly just in the summer and even then only when I am training for a longer distance race. I always miss it in the winter, but then I look forward to going back to just running and taking classes, etc. by the time I am midway through summer!

  5. elizabeth says:

    i’m tired just reading that. wow!!! impressive schedule. are you in germany for work or fun?

  6. Caroline says:

    for the the pictures it is picmonkey the website! it is free. also you can download for free one called photoscape

Tell me what you think!

