72 hours in Germany

Guten Tog!

I mentioned earlier this week that I am in Hamburg (Germany) and several people asked if it was for fun or business. Unfortunately, I am here for work, but it is still fun to get over here when I get the chance! I lived here in 2008 and have only been back once since then. Hamburg is a really cool city, especially when the weather is nice, which it is not this week! Those of you who are familiar with Seattle weather would understand…it pretty much rains all the time and the high hasn’t gotten over 60* since I have been here.

The great thing is that it is light for like 18 hours a day in the summer and the running is awesome! This is the view from my hotel room at almost 9:00 at night. It was still this light past 10, even with it being so overcast.

Hamburg is about 60 km from the North Sea, connected by the Elbe River, which is one of the only rivers in the world that actually has a high and low tide. I always stay near the river because there is an awesome running path along it that is one of my favorite places to run. Ever. It is kind of where I got my start into “real” running and just makes me happy to be there.

I have run twice since I got here. The first day was a nice easy 5-miler to beat the jet lag and get some fresh air. It was WINDY and very cloudy, but the whole run I was just feeling grateful that I have the opportunity to travel and run in a place so far from home. Sometimes I take for granted that my company provides me so many opportunities, but I know that I am lucky to get some unique experiences because of my job.

The view from in front of my hotel after my run on Monday.

Yesterday I gave the presentation that was the primary reason for me being here. It was nerve-wracking, but I felt like it went pretty well and I got good feedback from my boss. It is just strange that 3 months worth of work can be presented in 20 minutes and the only thing you leave with is a pat on the back and another few months worth of work! I am certainly not complaining…I understand that this is just how these things work 🙂

This morning before I went up to Kiel for the day, I hit my favorite running path for a 6.5 mile run with 5 miles at tempo pace (sub-7:30). I was feeling tired and sluggish at first, but once I got warmed up, it was a great run. How can you beat this?!

Speaking of my drive to Kiel. I rented a car yesterday and our admin here in the office took care of it for me. Europcar came and dropped the car off yesterday afternoon while I was in my meeting. I stepped out and signed the papers and they left me the keys. I went to leave the office yesterday afternoon, and I found this

Nice huh?

Well, apparently the signals were crossed in our communication because I thought the rental car company knew that I am a moron and unlike most people (at least in Europe), I cannot drive a manual transmission. After some failed attempts to call the company from my cell phone, I trucked it back into the office and convinced them to bring me an automatic. 30 minutes later, I get this:

And I am supposed to drive that thing on the Autobahn?! Where there is NO SPEED LIMIT?! bahahahaha!

Turns out, it did okay although it pretty much shakes at anything above 120 km/hr. I had her up to 140+ (~87 mph) and was definitely feeling it. The good news? There are no blind spots, because you are sitting literally, at the back of the car!

Well, I am off to enjoy my last night here in Hamburg. I will have been here for less than 72 hours by the time I leave tomorrow morning! And unfortunately, I timed my trip poorly and won’t be here when Germany plays Italy tomorrow night in the Europe Cup (soccer). It is HUGE here and all everyone is talking about! Germany has never beat Italy in International play.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in running, training, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 72 hours in Germany

  1. Laura says:

    Glad to hear your presentation went well! Have a safe trip home.

  2. hehe love the little car! i haven’t driven a manual in awhile it woudl take me a bit. glad the presentation went well!

  3. Have fun, that car looks like so much fun! The days are long where I am in MI right now too – the sun sets around 9:30…it definitely takes some getting used to 🙂

    • Corey says:

      I find that I eat more and tend to gain weight when the sun stays up longer…I guess I just think that it is day-time and I should still be eating!! Do you have that problem too?

  4. elizabeth says:

    i must say, pretty cool experience for work! i would’ve been scared to drive that little car!

  5. Christina says:

    Hey, you lived in Germany? How funny, me too. And we have Schnoodles in common. How funny 😉 Hope you are having a great time (despite having to work too) … safe travels! I’m heading over there myself in a couple days and hoping to find a reprieve in temperatures so I can run comfortably outside again. We’ve been having 100+ here in the Midwest 😦

    • Corey says:

      We DO have alot in common 🙂 You are going to love running over there and the cooler temps! Assuming you are going somewhere in the Northern part? I am not sure what the temps are like in the Southern part of the country? Where are you headed? For how long?

  6. Pingback: Weekly Recap: On the road |

  7. Pingback: Going With the Flow |

  8. Pingback: Know When to Fold ‘em |

Tell me what you think!

