What’s Next?

Since you now know that I am breaking up with triathlon, you may be wondering, “What’s Next?”. Isn’t this the first question anyone asks after you train for and complete a big goal race?!

I started giving thought to this question WAY back in April, when I had mentally committed, but hadn’t even signed up for B2B. At that point I had the marathon itch and was even contemplating how I could train for CIM and B2B at the same time. I came to the conclusion that it was impossible for me to treat BOTH as “A” races, so I (reluctantly) decided to forgo any thoughts of a fall marathon.

Then after making new friends who like to travel all over the country to race at Hood-to-Coast, I decided that my spring marathon would be Eugene. Anyone who follows Sarah or Emily knows the magic that happened there last year and there are several of us who are looking to recreate some of that magic in the form of BIG PR’s and MASSIVE GOALS in 2013.

But in the meantime, I have several other races on the calendar, where I am looking to update some PR’s, but also have some fun.

First, is the NYRR Dash to the Finish 5k. This was a last minute addition to the calendar. At some point during our missed flight debacle in August, Molly and I decided that we were going to fly to NYC for a little mini Hood to Coast reunion and to cheer on our friends who are running the marathon (plus tons of other bloggers like this girl and this girl). Jocelyn has graciously offered to host us for the weekend, so we will be slumber partying and cheering, but now also RACING! Since I am not running in the actual marathon, I am stoked to still get the opportunity to run through the streets of Manhattan and Central Park! And who knows, maybe I will get that sub-21:00 that I was chasing this summer??

After that is the TXU Turkey Trot 10k on Thanksgiving Day in Houston. I will be there visiting my family, but will also get to run this race with the lovely Laura and Holly. I haven’t run a 10k since March 2011 on a hilly course and I am excited to see how I can do at this distance.

A few short weeks later, I will be gunning for a PR at the Kiawah Island Half Marathon. I ran the full here in 2010 and it is a SUPER flat and small race. Even better…I am going with my HTC roomie Elizabeth and we are going to make a little weekend getaway out of it. Picture lots of wine drinking…(post-race, of course)

Then on January 13th, I will be running the 3M 1/2 Marathon in Austin, TX. I have heard great things about this race, so when my brother posted on Facebook that he was considering undertaking his first 1/2 marathon here, I immediately picked up the phone and called him. A few days later we were both registered and had our parents convinced to take a road trip to Austin for the weekend too! Another bonus? Elizabeth and my Nuun vanmate Tricia will also be there! Little mini reunions over and over!

I am not sure what to expect for this race. To add to the fact that it is a hilly course, I will also be taking an entire 7 days off of running to go snowboarding in Breckenridge 2 weeks before. I definitely won’t be going in expecting to PR and may even run with my brother so that we can fight bond for 13.1 miles.

That’s the extent of the set schedule for now. There will likely be a few other races in the mix between 3M and Eugene, including a local 10-miler, a 10k and possibly another 1/2 marathon, but starting January 7th, exactly 16 weeks from toeing the start line in Eugene, everything will revolve around getting to Oregon healthy and ready to race the best marathon of my life.

I have a few other marathons in mind…including San Francisco, Chicago and (lottery willing) NYC, but haven’t made any final decisions. San Francisco would be a “for fun” marathon (which I have never done!) and Chicago would potentially be a redemption race or another PR attempt, depending on how Eugene turns out. Suggestions?

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in friends, Goals, Hood to Coast, Races, running, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to What’s Next?

  1. Jaclyn says:

    These races sound like fun! Maybe I’ll be able to make it to one of them 🙂

  2. Ricole Runs says:

    I am so jealous of all the fun trips, races, and reunions you have planned!!! Why oh why am I not coming this weekend too!!!!! 🙂 You are gonna bust out some major PRs very very soon my friend. 🙂

  3. Carrie says:

    Corey, I just registered for Dash to the Finish Line! I won’t be “racing” the event, but it looks like it will be a blast. 🙂

  4. Steph says:

    So many races! So jealous.

    • Corey says:

      Some of the local ones I am looking at for next year are the Green Valley 10-Miler, the Reedy River 10k and the Swamp Rabbit 1/2 marathon…are you doing any of those? Also, are you going to the Lululemon run this week?!

  5. Terzah says:

    That sounds like so much fun, especially NYC and the mini-reunion in Houston. I’m looking forward to reading a bunch of great race reports.

  6. do you even have to ask my opinion? San Fran DEFINITELY!! At this point, I’m only planning to run the 1/2 (2nd 1/2 this time) and for fun. Jocelyn mentioned it as a possibility too so…PEER PRESSURE!!!

  7. What a great schedule- so many blog friend reunions thrown in there! I think you’ll be surprising yourself with some nice new prs this fall. 🙂 Excited to see you at the Turkey Trot!!

  8. Steph says:

    I think the 3M half marathon is flat and fast! I am so jealous of this one in particular. I would love to make it down to Austin for it on my birthday 🙂

    • Corey says:

      Wow! I just looked at the elevation profile! You are right…it is net downhill. Looks fast! Hmmm….maybe I should rethink my racing strategy 🙂 Is there a chance you still might come????

  9. Lindsey says:

    Ahhh I am still contemplating Kiawah! If I don’t end up doing the half at Governor’s Cup this weekend, I will probably sign up for that one. Also, I am thinking hard about trying my first full at Chicago next year!

    • Corey says:

      Kiawah is a nice flat course! Hopefully the weather will be better than 2 years ago! It would be fun to meet up! Chicago is seriously on my radar…but I just hate that I have to sign up so early. I would have to commit before I even knew about NYC lottery!

  10. Meredith says:

    Awww what a time for a race in ny! Don’t forget your wet suit. Head out to Southern Cali at some point!
    Cheers,
    Mery

  11. elizabeth says:

    yay yay yay! so looking forward to hanging out soon! and yes, i’ve heard (in addition to steph) that 3M is actually a great PR race 🙂

  12. evamadera says:

    I cannot say enough good things about San Francisco. I’m running the full (after running the 2011 1st half and the 2nd half this year) and can’t wait. It’ll have to be one amazing race to beat SF for me. 🙂

  13. Sounds like a great racing schedule! I’ve heard great things about Eugene and it’s always fun to meet up with other friends/bloggers at races!!!

  14. Pingback: A Change in Plans |

  15. Sarah OUaL says:

    I already have a Nuungene paper chain countdown started at my desk. Epicness on the (distant) horizon!

  16. Pingback: Good News & Bad News |

Tell me what you think!

