Travel Crazy

The past week has been a chaotic mix of travel, work, running and good food (and lots of it).

Travel…

If you follow me on Twitter, this will look familiar, but basically the last 9 days have looked like this:

Greenville –> Hamburg (2 days) –> Rostock (3 days) –> Hamburg (1 day) –> Birmingham, England (2 days) –> Hamburg (3 days) –> Greenville

I am currently on the final 3-day leg in Hamburg and very much looking forward to going home Wednesday.

The only part of this trip that was for “fun” (vs. work) was the weekend trip to Birmingham. I flew + took the train there for the weekend to see my friend, her husband and sweet little girls. It was a very laid-back, relaxed weekend of catching up and enjoying being with old friends. We did take a quick trip out to Warwick Castle Saturday afternoon which, despite the weather, was really cool.

Warwick Castle

Work…

Has been good, but busy. We had off-site meetings with my team last week, which were great, but I had to squeeze in getting actual work done during breaks and in the evenings, which can be a bit stressful. We made the 2.5 hour trip to Rostock, which is directly north of Hamburg on the coast and had this view of the North Sea from our conference room.

rostock1

But of course, that view turned into this view on Wednesday and Thursday:

rostock2

Somehow the beach and the snow seems like a really odd combination?!

Running…

You already know how my first hard run in Hamburg went, but fortunately, I had a successful 11-miler in Rostock on Wednesday and a fantastic 18-mile long run back in Hamburg on Friday morning before going to Birmingham for the weekend.

My colleague (who has run a marathon) joined me for the run Wednesday. At first I was a little hesitant because I wasn’t sure how our paces would match up, but when our lovely well-lit beach path turned into a creepy, dark trail path in the woods, I was thankful to have male company. He ended up telling me to run ahead and just to yell really loud if I needed anything. I felt comfortable enough knowing he was behind me to venture into the dark by myself. There was no danger of getting lost, as the trail ran right alongside the ocean the whole way.

The run ended up being fantastic. I skipped the planned tempo miles and just ran by feel (my watch was dead, so I used the Run Keeper app on my phone for distance). I think I had a smile on my face the whole run and finished feeling on top of the world. It wasn’t fast, but it was running for the love of running.

I would love to go back and give that path another go when it was light out. It seemed like it went on forever and I am daydreaming of a point-to-point long run there. Unfortunately, it was still too dark when I finished to get a picture.

Food…

Thank goodness I am marathon training, because we ate non-stop last week! I think it’s the only time since I started increasing mileage that I haven’t felt constantly hungry…there just wasn’t enough time in between meals to get there! We had tons of fish, which is a local staple in Northern Germany, (so fresh!), but we also went to a team-building/cooking event where we had entrecote and I had ox (which is essentially steak) one night. The bread, cheese, potatoes (hello, it IS Germany) and desserts were plentiful as well. I love eating great food, but I also can’t wait to get home and eat something from my own kitchen later this week.

Some pics from our team building event where we were given instructions by the chef and then sent off on our own to prepare dinner. It turned out really amazing and the chef was shocked at how well we worked together. I think it really helps that each of us have spent some time in the kitchen and are a bunch of foodies. There wasn’t a single thing that any person had an aversion to. It seems that is pretty rare these days.

Hard at work preparing dinner…

DSCN0508

Yes, we made that!!

DSCN0539

I love the diversity of my team. From left to right we have a Brazilian, Chinese, German, 2 Americans (me & my boss) and a British.

And finally…enjoying our hard work:

DSCN0538

Sorry if the meat talk grosses my non-meat eaters friends out! 

That about sums up the extent of my week. My last run here will be a 12-miler tomorrow morning and since my favorite running path is now clear (so efficient here!), I will attempt some tempo miles in the middle. Looking for a little speed redemption after not doing any last week!

Have a great week!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Food, friends, Goals, life, running, Travel, weekend fun, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Crazy

  1. We did a cooking team building event once and it was so much fun!! Although my favorite so far was the improv comedy training- I have hilarious co-workers! Glad you’re enjoying the trip and have gotten some good runs in. 🙂

  2. elizabeth says:

    that looks like so much fun!! you know i love to cook 🙂 glad the runs got better.

Tell me what you think!

