Halfway

Last week was week 8 of Eugene Marathon training. Completing week 8 of a 16-week plan means that I am now HALFWAY through this training cycle.

8weeks

This excites me and scares me at the same time because I can’t wait to race Eugene but I also don’t feel ready quite yet.

Breathe.

I haven’t blogged near as much during this training cycle as I did when training for big races before. I am not exactly sure why, especially since this is the most challenging marathon training cycle I have ever had. But really, I just feel like I am kind of putting my head down and getting it done. And there really isn’t too much to say…I got up early, I ran, it was hard, but I nailed my splits (or didn’t) and then repeat.

I love marathon training and this cycle has been no exception. In fact, increasing my mileage has been a new challenge that I have whole-heartedly enjoyed. Seeing workouts and training weeks that scare me a little every week is what keeps me going. It’s what I day dream about at work all day and what I think about when I fall asleep at night.

So where am I at and what have I learned in the last 8 weeks?

  1. Increasing mileage isn’t as big of a deal as I thought it would be. Since I did it slowly, it never felt overwhelming and the longer mid-week runs are just sort of part of the routine now.
  2. My body feels pretty good. I am at the point where I think every little twinge is a season ending injury but so far, nothing major has come up. I did get a much needed massage last week to work out tightness in my right glute and hamstring, but it feels like it did the trick. (*crosses fingers*)
  3. I am starting to feel stronger and more confident. Speed workout and tempo paces that were brutally impossible 6 weeks ago are starting to become manageable. Not easy, but just hard enough that I can hit the splits and feel strong and not like I will collapse any second.
  4. I am paranoid of germs. The last thing I want right now is to get sick so I am washing my hands like crazy and hate touching things in public places like airports.
  5.  I don’t yet have butterflies about the race. When I think about race day, it is still far enough away that I don’t get that nervous, excited flutter in my tummy. When I picture race day, all that comes to mind right now is “What will I wear?” which of course I can’t answer because I have no idea what the weather will be.
  6. I have a *little* anxiety about not having travel plans for Eugene yet. Many of my housemates for the weekend have already booked flights and rental cars and have their travel sorted. I will do my best not to be vague here (since I hate that) but I just need some more time to figure out the details.
  7. My appetite is crazy! I tried something different during this training cycle and I am tracking my calorie burn and intake with My Fitness Pal. This has been helpful because I tend to overdo it with sugar when I am training, but I can see with the app that I DO need a lot of calories to fuel but I also am more accountable with sugar intake. And without even trying, I have lost about 5 lbs. I actually think it was 5 lbs that I could stand to lose since I had gained some after 70.3 training last fall.
  8. I have talked about this a few times now, but the treadmill has been a really good training tool for me. It works out really well to do a recovery run on the treadmill then head straight downstairs to my 6 a.m. yoga class on Mondays and Fridays. It ensures that I keep recovery runs easy and don’t push myself more than I should and just makes sense sometimes.
  9. Speaking of yoga, I am obsessed. There was a time last week when I went to a yoga class 4 out of 5 days. I love how I feel after and I truly believe that it has been part of me staying healthy over the last 8 weeks.
  10. I love running. Now more than ever. I had one day where I felt burnt out, but looking back now I think I probably had a little Monday blues more than anything. At almost 9 weeks into training, I am not yet “ready to get it over with”. But we’ll see…

Here’s hoping to 7 more weeks of a healthy body and tough mind!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in friends, Goals, Greenville, injuries, Races, running, training. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Halfway

  1. Terzah says:

    Sounds like it’s going great! I’m not quite at butterflies stage yet…but I will say it feels too soon! Just gotta keep putting in the work. I have a half in a week and a half, so that will be a good gauge of where I really am.

    • Corey says:

      I am doing a half next weekend too! Not sure what to expect or whether to do it as part of my long run…need to make some decisions!

  2. I’m with you on the yoga! Never thought I’d love it as much as I’ve grown to, and I’m convinced it’s keeping me strong and injury free (knocking on wood as I type that ….) good luck in the second half!

  3. runningfancy says:

    Good luck and thanks for the inspiration!

  4. lschwecherl says:

    Halfways feels good, right?! I am so excited for you/can’t wait to share the experience of Eugene with ya! My appetite is also up the wazoo. And, I’m jealous of how much yoga you’re fitting in (:

    • Corey says:

      Unfortunately after that awesome week of yoga…the last 2 have had only 1 class 😦 I never thought I would love it as much as I do!

  5. leahbfrazier says:

    Good Luck on your next few weeks! Thanks for the encouragement to train well!

  6. Congrats on a fantastic first half of training! You’re using Advanced Marathoning right? That’s what I’m using for SF and am loving it so far, 4 weeks in and things are starting to get crazy! Keep up the great work! I know Eugene will bring great stuff!

  7. Pingback: Chicago Bound |

  8. elizabeth says:

    this makes me smile 🙂 so happy it’s going well.

Tell me what you think!

