To Race or Not to Race?

This weekend is finally the New York City 1/2 Marathon! You might remember that this trip is my NYC re-do from the cancelled trip back in November. Needless to say, I am BEYOND excited for a long weekend in one of my favorite cities and staying with one of my favorite people. In fact, I am not sure if I am more excited about the weekend fun or actually running the race?!

7881921234_8e5e6474b2

Fact: I love racing. I love the nerves, the anticipation of a hard effort, the possibility of running faster than I have before, the feeling of crossing the finish line, post-race brunch. All of it. And since I haven’t truly raced since December in Kiawah (excluding Ragnar in January), you would think I would be chomping at the bit to race this 1/2 marathon.

nyc half

When I registered it was supposed to be my sub-1:40:00 race. I knew I would be 9 weeks into Eugene training and hoped I would be feeling really strong and fast. But I also knew that I would be in peak marathon training and that it was a possibility that my legs may not be fresh and ready to chase down a PR.

And all of that is true. I am feeling strong and am pretty consistently hitting hard paces on the track and in tempo runs. In fact, I have even had more than a few workouts where I have run 5-6 miles at what would be my half marathon goal pace and haven’t felt too terribly fatigued.

BUT (of course there is always a “but”) I am not sure if racing this weekend is the smartest move. The race on Sunday, along with a warm-up and cool-down, will put me around 52 miles for the week. Is it smart to race during a high mileage (for me) week? My right glute and hammy have been a little tight. So far it’s nothing that stretching, yoga and massage haven’t been able to keep under control, but will pushing a 1/2 marathon aggravate it? I have another high intensity, high mileage week on the schedule for next week. Will pushing the race force me to take it easy on those miles and interfere with my marathon training?

Those are all the questions I am asking myself right now. The logical thing is to run the half marathon as a marathon pace effort or even just as easy miles as part of a long run, but of course “logical” and “running decisions” aren’t always synonymous.  Plus, technically my schedule called for a tune-up race this week…albeit not longer than 15k…so maybe it is a good idea to race and assess my fitness level?!

Back-and-forth. So many considerations. (Also #firstworldproblems). To be honest, this will most likely be a “game time” decision. In fact, it might even be a decision that I make at mile 3 or 4 of the race, depending on how my legs feel after a few 7:30ish miles.

Either way, I know it is going to be an awesome weekend! I can’t wait to see my HTC teammate Steph at the race, and hopefully Laura and Susan too! I also can’t wait to meet Meggie and some of my other Twitter/blog friends!

Who else is running the 1/2 this weekend? Anyone have any advice on racing during peak marathon training? I would love to hear other points that I may have missed!!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in friends, Goals, Hood to Coast, injuries, Races, running, training, Travel, weekend fun. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to To Race or Not to Race?

  1. This is a tough call!! Here is what I think…..
    Since it is an amazing race, and no doubt you will be all motivated once you get there, I would race….It is too cool of an experience not to race 🙂 And as for 52 mile week..that is ok. Just be sure to cut back on your mileage next week and dont run too hard.

    Cant wait to see how you do!!!!
    Ali

  2. I’m running too! Being mid-marathon training you are right, the sensible thing would be to run around MGP. However, when I have a bib on, all decision making skills go out the window. I am going to race too! Why not lol.

  3. Terzah says:

    Hi Corey–FWIW, I have a half this weekend too, and my coach wants me to race it. If I go as fast as he wants me to go, I will set a PR. I have all the same doubts about the wisdom of this that you do, but I also know he knows what he’s doing and he knows when Eugene is. He is tapering me for it (just a little taper–starts today), while it sounds like you won’t be tapered at all. I agree with the comment above–I think it will OK to race it if you really commit to some easy running next week. Will be interested to hear what you decide!

    • Corey says:

      Actually I am glad you shared this with me. This helps me alot, knowing that your coach has set the same schedule for you! Also that, yes, most likely I will probably have to take it easy next week.

  4. Jodi says:

    Go with your gut on race morning. See how you feel with the week of training basically behind you. Either way, you will rock it! Good luck!

  5. Have a blast this weekend!!

  6. evamadera says:

    I totally get the dilemma! Last weekend’s half was similar (though not the same because I’m just starting marathon training) I didn’t decide what I was going to to until I was already running!
    I hope you do really well! NYC sounds like so much fun!

  7. elizabeth says:

    Do it. you’re ready for it and i know you want it. 🙂

  8. Pingback: NYC 1/2 Marathon |

Tell me what you think!

