Chicago Bound

“You’re running the Chicago Marathon?”, you ask. Nope. I am not Chicago bound because I am running the marathon this October. In fact, despite debating it for a while, I didn’t even try to register or enter the lottery.

I am Chicago bound because…

WE ARE MOVING TO CHICAGO!!!

What you read next might be a rambling mess. Even though I have been writing this blog post in my head for weeks…no make that months now…this is so life changing that I am not sure where to start.

The details?

Brad got a new job in Chicago. It is a position that he has always aspired to in his career and with a company that he has a great deal of experience working with as one of his current clients. Needless to say, he is thrilled beyond belief for the opportunity and I couldn’t be more excited that I can fully support him chasing a career dream of his, while still staying on track with mine.

Yes, someone actually gave this guy a new job.

Yes, someone actually gave this guy a new job.

My company, specifically, my super supportive and amazing boss, is allowing me to work remotely in Chicago. We are doing some investigation into what remote offices we have there (yes, my company is so big that no one even knows where all the offices are!), but if there is not a convenient corporate office, then I will be working from home. I know there are advantages and disadvantages of working from home (and don’t think I haven’t been following the explosion of the discussion around this topic in the media lately), but right now all I can visualize is being in yoga pants with puppies on my lap all day 🙂

I mean seriously, who wouldn't want to look at these faces all day?!

I mean seriously, who wouldn’t want to look at these faces all day?!

There are a number of reasons that working remotely is acceptable for the position that I have right now, but a big reason is that I am spending a ton of time on the phone with people in Peoria, IL right now. My boss and I have agreed that I will make the 2.5 hour drive down there a few times a month to spend time with them in person. Since we have family there…I see it as a win/win for me getting to support Brad’s career, spend time with my in-laws and nieces and make it easy for my boss to justify why this is the right thing to do.

Brad will start his new position on April 22 (SO SOON!) but of course we are in the process of closing on a home in Chicago and selling our home here, so I am not sure when I will transition. I have a project that I will wrap up in the next 30 days that requires me to be in Greenville, so staying here will allow me to get the house stuff taken care of, throw a baby shower for this beautiful girl and maintain a little consistency with marathon training.

Speaking of training…no I still don’t know where I will be living when it is time to travel to Eugene for the marathon. I alluded to this in a recent post and so far I still have no clarity. Despite having a pretty strongly Type-A personality, I have relocated enough times to know that some things just have to be taken as they come and decisions can’t always be made in advance. I am just breathing, controlling what I can and trying to let everything else go. So far, so good! Or maybe it just hasn’t quite hit me yet?!

As excited as we are for the big change, the move is very, very bittersweet. We absolutely LOVE Greenville and will absolutely miss our life here. It is a beautiful, smallish town, with an outstanding outdoor community that is huge for running and cycling (for me) and golf (for Brad). We have AMAZING friends and neighbors here and it makes my heart ache just thinking about saying goodbye to them. Oh, and I won’t even get started on the weather. Ahhh, the weather.

char and i

I don’t even want to think about leaving this girl.

BUT we also have a great group of friends in Chicago…both from college and our time living in Illinois after college. We absolutely love the city, access to shopping, airports, great food, SPORTS (CUBS! BEARS!) and everything else that a big city provides. I know we will eventually get established and have a life we love there too, but it will take time.

photo (1)

View of Lake Michigan from downtown Chicago

I am sure there will be many more follow-ups to this post. Things will be crazy, but I hope to document it all…the excitement, frustrations, sadness, and all the other emotions that come with such a big life change. I want to be able to look back and re-live this journey…if nothing else for lessons learned for the next go-round!

So, who lives in Chicago? I will need running partners, cycling buddies and somewhere to swim that doesn’t require my entire paycheck for a membership. Also, who is running a race in the city and wants to stay with me?! We will have plenty of space in our new house!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Ernie, family, friends, Greenville, life, Nieces and Nephews, Races, running, the boys, training, Travel, triathlon, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Chicago Bound

  1. Abbey says:

    Oh my gosh congrats!!! How exciting! Good luck with all the craziness associated with moving and welcome {back} to the Midwest 🙂

  2. Stephanie says:

    Oh my gosh, so exciting! I’m not gonna lie, I saw your tweet and thought your post was going to say you were pregnant!!! Since, you know, our whole HTC van is pregnant 🙂

    This is a huge change and it gives me a fantastic reason to come and visit Chicago, since I’ve never been 🙂 Congrats to Brad and it’s really awesome that you can still keep your job. Things will be excellent for you guys there, I just know it.

    • Corey says:

      Haha! I thought for sure that everyone would know I am not pregnant since my life revolves around Eugene training right now!! And YES!! Please come visit!

  3. Terzah says:

    I thought you meant the Chicago Marathon for sure (I am running it)! But this is great news, too. Congrats to both of you–I know you’ll find your groove with new workout friends, especially since you already know people there.

  4. Congrats!!!! That is amazing! I lived there for 2 years and it’s one of my favorite cities – so jealous 🙂 And I’ll be running the marathon, so maybe I’ll get to meet you then!

  5. Steph says:

    Congrats!! I am oh so jealous because I want to move back to the Midwest so bad! All of my friends are in Chicago

  6. Emily says:

    Wooo!! I moved to Chicago in June and love it!!! Welcome!

  7. Jodi says:

    Wow, Corey!! Very exciting! Congrats to Brad on the new job. And you will LOVE working from home. Simon was apprehensive about it when he got his old job that was 100% work from home, but he loved it and was super sad to give it up when he got his new (better) job. Now he gets to work from home one day a week and he looks forward to it every week. You should talk to Steph and some of the other ISU girls who are from Chicago and surrounding areas. I am DYING to go to an ISU homecoming one of these years.

  8. So excited for y’all! You know I completely understand the bittersweet-ness of moving–if you ever need to vent, even when you feel like it’s an irrational thing to vent about, don’t hesitate to call. Trust me, I’ve shed many tears over the silliest things in the last few months! Glad to hear you have extra space because I guarantee Batch and I will be coming to visit! His family is from the Chicago area so it holds a special place in our hearts…and the Cubs…ah, Wrigley…good luck with all the logistics. Can’t wait to celebrate the move and hopefully some shiny new PRs in Eugene!!

  9. Lauren says:

    Wow!! Congratulations to you and Brad! I am so excited for you both! Packing up and moving your lives to a new state can be really tough, but it’s also an incredible adventure. Our move to Vermont hasn’t been without its problems (no matter how much you love a place, there’s always an adjustment period), but overall it has been really exciting to start a new life here. It sounds like Chicago is going to be a great place for you both. I’m happy that everything fell into place. Hope everything works smoothly in terms of the timing and Eugene travel…but regardless, you seem to have an awesome attitude about it all.

    Excited to follow along on your adventure! Have a great time in NYC this weekend!

  10. WOW, fantastic news!! Congrats to Brad, and yay for moving closer to family!! If I ever do the Chicago marathon, I’ll be looking you up. 🙂 Hope everything goes smoothly.
    Good luck with your plans for the half this weekend, too. I usually taper a bit in marathon training if I’m going to race it… maybe take the first few miles to gauge how you’re feeling and go from there? Either way, NYC for the weekend will be fun!

  11. Beth says:

    OMG – Congratulations!!! I absolutely LOVE Chicago, my husband and I come up at least once a year to visit and see my sister. Everytime we leave we debate for a couple of weeks about packing up and moving up to the windy city.

    I hope your move and everything goes smoothly! Oh and if you need to find some good local beer – check out Half Acre Brewing Co on N. Lincoln Ave – my little sister works there….so good!

    • Corey says:

      Awe, thanks! We have always said we wanted to live there “someday”, just wasn’t expecting it to be so soon!! Thanks for the rec. I will have to look but I don’t think it’s far from our new place!! Let me know if you need a running buddy next time you visit!

  12. mer says:

    What part of Chicago are you moving? eeeeks flashbacks to college…winter!!! Great change, wonderful city. good luck in this new phase of life!

  13. evamadera says:

    Congratulations! This is huge news! Greenville will miss you for sure but your next steps sound so exciting!

  14. elizabeth says:

    yayayayayayayay! and now i have a place to stay in one of my favorite cities 🙂 i’m so happy for Brad and excited for you. It will be a challenge,but one i know you are up for too. Can’t wait to hear about yalls house and where you are living??!! phone date soon. xo

  15. How exciting! Leaving good friends and a settled life can certainly be hard, but sounds like you have such an amazing adventure ahead – and clearly meant to be since everything has fallen together so well. Best of luck to y’all, can’t wait to read about the adventure 🙂

  16. Pingback: (Un)steady State |

  17. Wow!!! This is so exciting! I go to Chicago at least once a year, so we will totally have to plan a run 🙂

  18. aw sad! but exciting!! that’s so great that your boss/company is being so flexible – i can’t imagine going to them with that news/request.

  19. Pingback: An Update on the Move |

  20. i was going to try and come run the 13.1 chicago on June 8 but it was becoming crazy with finding a way to get to the race. 😦 I am going to come run something though so I KNOW we’ll get to meet up!! Let me know where abouts in chicago you are

    • Corey says:

      Finding a way to get to the race while you are already here? Or you mean traveling here? You are so welcome to come as stay with me anytime for a race!! We live in the Lincoln Park/Lakeview area, just a little north of downtown. Can’t wait to catch up with you here!!

  21. Pingback: Track Love |

Tell me what you think!

