Marathon Training Brain?

We have all heard of “pregnancy brain” and “mom brain” right? You know, that state where the mind fail us and just doesn’t operate as it should? I have never been pregnant and I am also not a mom, but I have witnessed my pregnant and (especially new) mom friends completely space out on things and they always blame it on pregnancy or mom brain.

This morning, on the 2nd day of my biggest peak week of training, I have had 2 complete brain farts and the only logical conclusion is that I have marathon training brain. (Either that or I am going completely batshit crazy.)

Note: I am sure that in actual cases of pregnancy/mom brain there are hormones involved or something, but just go with me here…

Last weekend when I was looking at my training plan, I saw 3 x 2000 m on the schedule for today’s speed workout. I even had an entire conversation with Char about the workout and the possibility of doing it together. As I was calculating the amount of speed and total distance that would make up the workout, I calculated each 2000 as 1.5 miles or 6 laps around the track.

(Recycled from last summer)

(Recycled from last summer)

I went to the track this morning and completed my first repeat. 10:25. Hmm…that seems really slow, I thought, I remember doing these in 8:something last fall. But I ignored it and moved on to the next. I was on the last lap of my 2nd repeat before I realized that 2000 m is actually 1.25 miles and only 5 laps around the track. Um, duh?

After my run, I got ready and headed off to work. When I arrived in the parking lot, I dug through my purse looking everywhere for my work badge. I dumped out all of the contents, SWEARING that I put it back in there after work yesterday. I had no luck finding the badge, so I went to the security shack and got a temp badge. I clipped it on my pants and went on my merry way into the office. I sat at my desk working for the next 3 or so hours, then got up to go to the bathroom (um, dehydrated much?). As I walked into the bathroom, I looked down and saw this:

photo (8)

I swear this is NO exaggeration. Not only did I not remember that I slipped my badge on my pants on the drive, after I “lost it”, I proceeded to put on the temp badge right below the real one and never even noticed. 

So like I said, I am attributing any and all dumb moves in the next week to marathon training brain. Then after that? Well, taper brain, of course. Not at all related to being blonde, and a little bit ditzy 🙂

At the rate I am going, I just hope I make it to Eugene in 26 days! 🙂 Happy Tuesday!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in friends, Goals, life, running, training. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Marathon Training Brain?

  1. Jodi says:

    As a sufferer of mom and pregnancy brain, I’m about 99% sure that it’s caused by exhaustion and being pulled in a million different directions. I’m also about 99% sure you fit both those with all you have going on, so marathon training brain sounds about right. Along with packing up and moving brain. 🙂

  2. Terzah says:

    Yep, it’s marathon brain alright! It’s all good–you won’t miss your plane.

  3. ha ha! Marathon brain, pregnancy brain! I think they’re both valid!!

  4. Mom says:

    You have got so much going on in your life and brain, it is easy to have these brain farts.

  5. Heck yes, your brain is tired from calculating how awesomely fast you are running 🙂 can’t do everything!

  6. Haha, the badges are too funny! It happens to all of us… glad you can laugh at yourself. 🙂

  7. mollyberries says:

    Oh my gosh this cracks me up! I totally have marathon brain, I keep really screwing up how long workouts will take me total time wise and have been late to work because if it a few times! Thank god I work from home! Running brain is for real, my first week of high school cross country practice I was so out of it that 1) when I went to the bathroom I pulled down my pants but not my skivvies and sat on the toilet and peed through a pair of underwear. 2) later that same day I was so hungry and wanted something fast so i decided to make easy mac but forgot to put water in the bowl before I started the microwave – resulting in a giant, black, charred hunk of noodles and it smelled SO bad. 3) I forgot to open the garage door later in the day before pulling my car out and almost backed my car through the door. I can’t wait to see what this week brings me! 🙂

  8. Beth says:

    That is so funny! I think we have all been there a time or two. Hope you enjoy your taper!

  9. Lauren says:

    Haha! Marathon brain is real. Especially when combined with the stress of moving. As long as you make it on your flight to Eugene, I think it’ll all be okay 🙂

  10. I’m behind in reading as usual, but this post made me laugh! I do crap like this ALL the time…case in point, running 9.5 miles when you only needed 9 because you miscal’d you mental mileage math. Do NOT ask me to do any form of math while running. Oh, and on the badges, I am forever losing my glasses…they are usually on my face. Um, yeah, maybe I need a new Rx?
    I’ll text you when I’m leaving JAX so you’ll be sure to make the flight to PDX. 🙂 Can’t wait!!

Tell me what you think!

