Taper Survival Kit

It’s here! I have completed my final week of peak training (56 miles!) and now have officially entered my first week of taper. I will cut back 20% this week, another 25% the next week and then will  have a few easy/shake-out runs during race week.

I don’t think I have ever really mastered the art (science?) of taper. I believe I was close at Beach 2 Battleship, but even then I never had that “caged animal” feeling. I have felt rested, recovered and ready to race, but never bursting with energy to where I couldn’t sit still because I needed to get out and just run.

Part of that is because, as a low mileage runner (35 mpw) in the past, there just isn’t much ‘cutting back’ to be done before there really isn’t that much running going on at all. And in triathlons, with 3 sports to fit in, the volume is reduced but I was still doing lots of workouts, so while my body may have been recovering, I didn’t get the same psychological effect.

I have experienced phantom “taper crazies” merely because getting closer to race day sparks anxious/excited/nervous feelings, but I have never felt that incredible exhaustion of peak training turn to exploding energy of taper.

And I WANT IT.

I want to go into Eugene feeling like I pushed my body as hard as I could, then tapered to restore it, to give it everything it needs so it can give me what I WANT on race day. I want to be bouncing off the walls with energy during race week, ready to leave it all out on the course.

How will I do it different this time? Well first, my training cycle was different, which I think plays a big part. I peaked in the mid 50’s, which is 20 mpw more than ever before. So my body definitely has those aches and pains that come along with running a lot of miles (for me). But I also am planning to use several tools to get me through taper healthy, both mentally and physically.

My taper survival kit:

    1. Sleep. Several of you reminded me how important this is in my recent post. I think it is something that I have sort of taken for granted during training because I have been so tired that I naturally end up in bed before 10 most nights. But as the volume and intensity of my workouts is reduced, I am going to have to be very diligent about still getting to bed early and getting plenty of sleep.
    2. Nuun All Day. Thanks Ali for reminding me to drink some sort of Emergen-C type drink to make sure that I don’t get sick! I will definitely be throwing a Nuun All Day tab in my water bottle every morning from here on out to give me a solid dose of sickness preventing vitamins.nuun_ad_tubes
    3. Yoga. My love affair with yoga is still going strong. I have practiced yoga throughout this training cycle and will continue during taper. My core (while still incredibly weak) is probably the strongest its ever been and I truly think yoga has helped keep me healthy and strong. I think yoga will also be helpful to keep me centered, focused and calm as the race gets closer. (Who am I?)

      yoga collage

      Walter likes yoga too.

    4. Bengay Zero Degrees. The nice people from Bengay sent me this product after Hood to Coast and asked me what I thought. I was fortunate to not have to use it this fall, but I have been using it religiously the last month or so. I have mentioned before (over and over?) that my right glute/hamstring are tight and a bit worrisome at times, so I have been doing everything I can to keep it runnable (new word?). I know the reduced mileage and rest will help, but this stuff is great. You keep it in your freezer and then apply it directly on your skin. It’s cold and hot all at the same time and soothes my muscles like nothing else I have ever used. I swear by it.Bengay_Zero_FOIL_PAC2AD0DB_new
    5. Food. Ahhh food. I don’t talk much about what I eat or my weight here, but let’s go ahead and do that now. I have lost about 8-9 lbs. during this training cycle. About 3 of those lbs., I put on after B2B from just a sheer change in activity level (and no change in eating habits). I haven’t been “dieting”. But I have been using My Fitness Pal to track what I have been eating. What I have learned is that I need a lot of calories to fuel myself during marathon training, but not NEAR as many as what I had been eating before. In the past, I definitely adopted the “I ran xx miles, I can eat as many Red Vines/Cookies/Gummy Bears I want” rule. Using the app has kept me accountable to not overdoing it, mostly with sugar. Don’t get me wrong, I still have been consuming my fair share of sugar, but at least now I stop at 8 Red Vines, instead of 1/2 of the family-sized bag 🙂 I am going to give myself another week with my beloved sugar, but after that I am planning to try to cut out most processed sugars (+ alcohol) in the 2 weeks leading up to the race. This might be challenging, but I want to do everything I can to get my body ready. Also I will be moving/living with in-laws for the week prior, so we’ll see if I follow though :).
    6. Foam Roller. Not much I need to say about this. I love/hate this thing, but I have been using it quite a bit lately and plan to continue to use it until I toe the line in Eugene.2013-04-05 11-48-53_The GRID Foam Roller
    7. Wise words. We all know that once we get to taper, “The hay is in the barn.” and that we should “Trust the training.” But that doesn’t stop me from questioning, worrying, wondering and over-analyzing in the days leading up to the race. I am going to be reminding myself of all the work I put in and also looking for reassurances like this to get me through taper: photo (9)

photo (12)

So let the taper begin!

What other tools are in your taper survival kit? Any other “wise words” you can share?

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Food, Goals, Hood to Coast, injuries, life, Moving, Races, running, training, triathlon, walter. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Taper Survival Kit

  1. Terzah says:

    My coach has told me specifically to take Emergen-C every other day….so I’m on that train too. (I’ve been sick a lot this cycle, which is a big part, he believes, of why it hasn’t gone better for me.) And the sleep advice is very important. I’m really going to push that. It’s hard with my night-owl husband, but it has to be a priority–probably helps more than Emergen-C with avoiding illness. I hope you get that caged animal feeling this time (I hope I do too, but I think your chances in this race overall are better than mine and I’m excited for you).

  2. I’m impressed at Walter sitting adorably next to you while you’re doing yoga – my dogs for whatever reason CANNOT resist a yoga mat, and while it’s super cute that they want to join, it’s not so good for the actual yoga practice. He looks so sweet!

    Good luck walking the taper crazy line!!

    • Corey says:

      Haha! Mostly he lays there pretty good but yesterday he did lay on the front of the mat yesterday when i was in child’s pose. I just had to nudge him a little when I sat back up. 🙂

  3. Lauren says:

    Something that I remind myself during the taper that doesn’t exactly sound all touchy-feely/motivational but helps calm my nerves is: You’ve done the work. There’s no amount of miles you can run this week that will boost your training. But you CAN hurt your training.” This just reminds me to take it easy when I’m supposed to and trust the taper process. Sounds like you have a great plan for the next couple of weeks. I hope you find that “caged animal” feeling!

  4. gosh I can just FEEL your excitement and enthusiasm and I am SO EXCITED for you…sorry for all the shouting 🙂 I think taper is such a weird time because we have extra time to think!

  5. You had an amazing cycle! I can’t wait to see how this all plays out for you. The fall was the first time I ever peaked in the 50s as well, and it made such a difference in those final 6 miles. Best of luck!!

  6. Megan says:

    You are going to kill this marathon! I can’t wait to hear all about it.

  7. 56 miles – that’s awesome! I love your comparison of tapering when your running more miles per week than when you used to run fewer. Makes total sense to me. I am so excited for you and think you have a perfect strategy lined up – good luck!

  8. elizabeth says:

    woman, you’ve got it all planned perfectly! add a massage a few days before you leave. that is my only suggestion. 🙂

  9. Dynamo radios work form a hand crank generator creating low direct current, low voltage.
    Then decide if you want to trust your life to it when things are grim.

    Make sure the clothing can withstand the weather elements.

  10. Pingback: Thoughts on Recovery |

Tell me what you think!

