I am Ready.

Marathon training is nothing short of a mental and physical roller coaster. My friend, Laura, who I will share the course with on Sunday (albeit from several minutes behind), said it best here.

While I absolutely love the process of training for a marathon (so far more than I have ever loved any actual marathon itself), this training cycle was definitely not all cupcakes and rainbows.

Some days…

…I didn’t want to get out of my warm bed at 5 a.m. on a cold winter morning.

…My legs felt heavy. My body felt tired. I didn’t feel like I could run another mile.

…It was raining.

…I was traveling and jet lagged.

Some days it was just plain hard.

Some days…

…I felt like I could fly. The paces came easy and splits were right on target.

….I chatted away with a friend and the miles just disappeared.

…I couldn’t wait to get my shoes on and get out the door for a run.

Some days it was so very easy.

Some days…

…I woke up facing 20 solo miles and the prospect was daunting.

…I looked at my training plan and was terrified at what the next week would bring.

Some days it was overwhelming.

When things got hard and I was hurting and felt like I had nothing left, I would repeat to myself over and over, “This is what PR’s are made of.” I would remind myself that pushing harder right then, at that moment, when I felt like I couldn’t give any more, was going to get me to my goal.

Now I can only rely on all of those moments, and when I feel like giving in at mile 23, 24 or 25 remind myself to not let all of that work be for nothing. I need to get tough and remember why my goal is so important to me. 

I made it through 14 tough weeks of training and 2 mentally challenging and emotional weeks of taper.

And now…I am ready to race. 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Goals, Races, running, training, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I am Ready.

  1. Jodi says:

    Good luck!!! What is your goal? I am sure you will hit it. You are so prepared. 🙂

  2. Page says:

    You’ve got this! See ya there!

  3. Good luck Corey! I really enjoyed reading this–mental toughness for sure!

  4. Christina says:

    Many good wishes to you!!! I’m looking forward to your race recap and I know you’ve got a PR in you 🙂 Run hard and strong!

  5. Terzah says:

    That’s how I feel, too. This is our victory lap. Let’s do it! Good luck Sunday, Corey. Hope to see you there.

  6. Sarah OUaL says:

    You have so many strong runs and moments to look back on to get you to that finish line. You’ll do those 16 weeks justice on Sunday – can’t wait to see the big finale! 🙂

  7. So excited for you- best of luck!!!

  8. Pingback: Saturday quick links: race editions | Jillian Keeps Moving Forward

  9. evamadera says:

    So excited for you! You’re going to do great!

  10. dying to know how it went, maybe you posted on some other media but I missed it!

    • Corey says:

      It definitely wasn’t the race I trained for or wanted, but I finished and I was definitely proud of that since there were moments I didn’t think I would. Super busy work week…hopefully I’ll get the recap up tomorrow!

Tell me what you think!

