An Update on the Move

Just in case anyone was wondering (and for myself to look back on later), I wanted to give a quick update on The Move. I capitalize it like an important event, because over the last month all things move-related have taken over my life. It’s the first thing I think of when I wake up in the morning and I typically fall asleep at night planning what unpacking I will accomplish the next day. The subject dominates my conversations with Brad, our families, friends, coworkers, etc. Partly because everyone is curious and asks (or is just being polite?) and partly because it is constantly on the forefront of our minds.

The status…

We closed on the house the Wednesday before Eugene (April 23) and when our “stuff” arrived the next day, it went directly into the basement. Why? Because on Friday of that week, they started sanding down and refinishing all of the hardwood floors in the house. Great idea to do it right away, but it really hinders the whole move-in process!

So while I was (sort of) running and playing in Eug, and working from Peoria the following week, Brad lived like this in the basement

photo (31)

It was classy. Check out that HUGE TV.

The Sunday after Eugene, once the floors were finished and dry, I brought the dogs up to Chicago and Brad and I moved most of the boxes up from the basement to their respective rooms…Climbing stairs with heavy boxes…Yeah. That sucked.

photo (32)

But at least the floors look great!

Brad was traveling the following week so I was left to fend for myself with a mess of a house and two crazy, cooped up dogs.

That week, I became the ring master of the circus that was painters finishing the stairs, deckers finishing decks, Geek Squad installing electrical, contractors quoting remodel work and the list goes on. And the dogs? Well, lets just say that we quickly became *those* neighbors with the annoying barking dogs. My small town boys were NOT comfortable with the noise/people/sounds that come along with living in the city, and they made sure the whole neighborhood knew it.

But finally on Tuesday of that week, when a second round of furniture came, I “convinced” the movers, (ahem, paid them) to move the other furniture up from the basement. That was HUGE because then I was able to sleep and work from a *real* bedroom!

Once Brad arrived home later in the week, we were able to get the furniture moved around and set up in bedrooms and start really unpacking. At the end of every day, I was EXHAUSTED from working/unpacking all day, but every box emptied and every closet organized was a huge sense of accomplishment and the house really started feeling like home.

We still haven’t done anything with our master bedroom because we are looking to remodel the master bath and some new furniture we ordered hasn’t come in yet. And the basement still looks like a war zone because that is where all electronics and “odds and ends” are going until there is a proper place for them.

But everyday, it gets better and better and we even went to dinner with a friend on Saturday evening, (gasp!), finally enjoying the city for a (brief) evening.

There is still a ton of work to do, and I am in Peoria for work again this week, which just makes me feel guilty. But we at least got paint colors picked out before I left and that will make a HUGE difference in the look of everything starting Friday!!

I have done some running in the city too. We live close to the Lakefront so Walter and I have already enjoyed a number of sunrises over the lake (the sun comes up so much earlier here!).

photo (33)

Photo cred: Fellow Chicago Runner Emily

It’s beautiful and I feel so lucky to be so close to a great running path, but the only route decision being North? or South? will surely get old eventually. I may have to explore some other route options. Suggestions? I am also learning what it’s like to run in WIND for the first time. I am told “I ain’t seen nuthin’ yet”, but from what I have experienced already, it makes me wish for the hills of Greenville any day!

I think that pretty much sums everything up! I have told Brad multiple times over the last few weeks that we are “never moving again” because the process is so painful. But once we get settled, this month or so of craziness will become a little blip on the radar that is our time in Chicago. I am definitely looking forward to that…I certainly won’t miss the days of fretting over buying door handles (it’s surprisingly complicated!) or waiting in silly lines at the DMV.

Happy running! And when you walk in your home tonight, look around and be thankful that there aren’t boxes everywhere. I am jealous!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Ernie, family, friends, life, Moving, running, the boys, training, walter, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Update on the Move

  1. Steph says:

    It makes me tired to just read about it! Also, that staircase is gorgeous. I need one!

  2. fullrunner says:

    I’m with you on the thought of never moving again – I’ve moved every year since college and it’s exhausting (not to mention expensive)! And I agree with Steph above -that staircase looks lovely 🙂

    Good luck getting used to the wind (yikes) – just remember how much stronger it will make you!

  3. i am actually here working from home and not everything is unpacked, so I understand the guilt!!! And yes I’m leaving again this weekend too..oh well it all gets done eventually

  4. elizabeth says:

    OOOEEMMGEEEE I can’t wait to come and visit 🙂

  5. That staircase is beautiful!! Good luck finishing, hopefully you won’t have one small box that remains unpacked for 2.5 years the way we did after our last move, but somehow it’ll all happen eventually!

  6. I love Chicago – it brings back so many great running memories, it’s where I really fell in love with running just to run and not to stay in shape for sports and it’s where I did my first half 🙂 I love the lakefront, but, yes, it is windy!

    That staircase is ah-mazing! Your house must be gorgeous! Moving is a huge job and a lot of stress, but it fades quickly and they you get to reap the rewards 🙂

Tell me what you think!

