What Now?

Like most runners, I rarely finish a training cycle, without some idea of what the next “big thing” will be. The only way I have found to beat post-race depression is to jump right into something new…even if that “something new” is to run for fun, focus on cross-training or just try new workouts (I have had fun following Nicole do this!).

It just so happens that this time around I actually have a pretty solid race plan for the rest of this year.

So what’s next?

My main focus for the summer is, shockingly (at least to me), back on triathlons. Yeah, yeah, I know I said I was “semi-retired”, but when we moved to Chicago, I couldn’t resist the temptation to race USAT Nationals. I qualified last year and even though I had several friends from Greenville going, I had no plans to travel all the way to Milwaukee for a shorter race. But once I found out we were moving to Chicago and Milwaukee was a short 1 1/2 hour drive, how could I not? Plus my best girl, Char, is coming too! Can’t wait.

2013-05-31 18-18-46_Olympic Distance National Championship - usatriathlon

My swimming and biking base is pathetic, actually more like non-existent, so marathon recovery has been a good time to hit the pool and bike full out. It has been ugly and painful, but I know slowly I will start to feel strong in both again.

The other primary focus of the summer is preparing to begin fall marathon training, because…

I got into the NYC Marathon!!

NYC banner

I entered the lottery thinking I had basically no chance. After stalking my bank account all day on June 1st, when I saw a charge pending on my credit card, I was ecstatic. I toyed with the idea of this being a long training run and picking a more PR friendly course to race later in the year, but I have now decided to go all in at New York and see what I can do.

This will be the first year I have ever completed two marathon cycles in one year, and after racing two back-to-back this spring, the first part of prep is recovery. Once I get my body healed and ready, I will try to build my base back up so I can jump full-force into a 16-week training cycle in late July.

In the meantime, I do have a few races on the calendar. First,

hamburg

I am going to Hamburg for work later this month and it conveniently worked out that the Hamburg Half Marathon (and skating half marathon, WHAT?!) is happening the weekend between my two work weeks there. How could I not register? It is the perfect opportunity to experience my first international race. The weather is typically PERFECT this time of year and while I would love to race this thing since it is also a fast course, with the state of my body (hamstring) after Bayshore, I know that isn’t a good idea. This was confirmed after meeting with my potential new coach last night (more on that later). When I told him that I hypothetically may have registered for a 1/2 in 3 weeks, he basically said he would kill me if I was one of his runners. Wellll okaaay, guess that answers that question 🙂

Then a month later,

chicago logo

I signed up for this race when I found out we were moving to Chicago. I was excited to be able to run a big half and sleep in my own bed! It should be blazing hot and humid and definitely not ideal “racing” conditions. This also happens to fall during the first week of official marathon training, so I am guessing it will end up being a long run effort, rather than a race.

If I end up running both Hamburg and Chicago at something other than race pace, it will mark the first time I have ever run a race “for fun”. I have a hard time paying to run a race at anything less than all-out effort, but I am hoping I can still learn something from both of these experiences.

The only other race on the calendar:

HolidayMan tri logo

This is the weekend right after the RnR 1/2, but I strongly felt like I needed a tri “tune-up” before Milwaukee. It has been a long time since I raced a triathlon and besides the fact that I LOVE racing tri’s, I also like to get the feel for transitions and going to that pain place on the bike again. I would love to have found one more sprint, but nothing really worked out with the rest of my summer calendar.

So there you have it…my racing plan (as of now) for the rest of the year. According to “Coach”, I will likely race a 5k/10k at some point and maybe a 1/2 tune-up before NYC. I also have a relay on tap for October, but more on that later as well 🙂

Are you doing any of these races? What’s your big goal race this summer/fall?

Also would love to know how everyone else feels about using a marathon as a training run before a goal marathon?

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, Greenville, injuries, Moving, Races, running, swimming, training, Travel, triathlon, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to What Now?

  1. evamadera says:

    So excited for you about NYC!!!!
    I thought about entering this year but I just squeaked in to MCM and didn’t want to press my luck 😉
    Summer is such a hard time to find races; you’ve found some great ones!

  2. rchackman says:

    Staying busy this year!!

  3. Wow, what a busy and fun schedule! YAY for getting into New York! Enjoy! I’m seriously considering coming up to the city that weekend (my friends in the city will confirm that it’s pretty easy to get me there given a halfway decent excuse, and knowing a bunch of people who are running is an excellent excuse) – I used to LOVE that Sunday when I lived there, and that was before I was a runner – the atmosphere on 1st avenue in the 70s is unreal! So, perhaps I’ll be there cheering!

    • Corey says:

      I love NYC so much! I was planning to go last year to cheer and see my friends too! Obviously that plan didn’t work out, so I am excited that I get to go and RUN this year! Hope to see you there!

  4. Nina says:

    I am running the Hamburg Half, too! Well, it’s not a 100% sure, I signed up, but I am also running the Aarhus half next Sunday, and I am not sure if 2 weeks between two halfs are enough for me to recover. So maybe see you there 🙂

  5. Awesome news about NYC! I’m planning to go as a spectator, so I will be looking for you and cheering LOUDLY! 🙂

  6. fullrunner says:

    Sounds like your busy the rest of this year – I’m excited to see hear about each of the races 🙂 Also way belated congrats on qualifying for tri nationals! I’ve never done a tri but I love reading about them from people who do.
    My big goal race this year is my 2nd (eek!) marathon ever in October – the Baltimore Marathon. I’m terrified yet excited. Big goal = finish in a respectable time without blowing it =)

    • Corey says:

      Yay for training for your 2nd marathon!! I think that training for the second one is MUCH less intimidating than the first because it isn’t a new distance PR every single time you go out for a long run! You have some level of confidence just from knowing that you can complete the distances. GOOD LUCK!!

  7. Meredith K. says:

    You are busy!!…I will be doing lots of swimming!!! Doing Huntington Beach swim this weekend and then some more throughout June and July up and down the Pacific coast…begin marathon training in the fall for my first in February(Galveston) eeeks, good luck at Nationals!!

    • Corey says:

      whooooohoooo for marathon training!! Can’t wait to hear about it!! What training plan are you using?

      • Meredith K. says:

        Hal Higdon..It will be an 18 week program..I am so psyched you got into NYC marathon, will be so cool!!! I have my eyes set on the Brooklyn Bridge swim next summer…such a great city! Cheers

  8. Congrats on making it into the New York Marathon! Like you, I’m usually training for my next race, too. My next marathon is the St. George Marathon this fall.

  9. elizabeth says:

    um, so fun and so busy!! and i’m guessing that means no other races…. at least we have the relay!

  10. Love you summer/fall calendar and that you’re dabbling back into tris for a bit. I’m considering it…got back on the bike Monday for the first time since January. Ouch. Now for the pool…
    Have a great trip to Germany and enjoy the international race. Curious to see how this one is compared to the one in Sweden my run club just did.

    • Corey says:

      The timing couldn’t be better to get back into swimming and biking. I know I need to give my body a break from running right now and what better way to fill the time (and hopefully maintain some fitness) than tri training? I hate feeling like I am losing so much with my running, but my body just needs to recover right now. Where in Sweden???

  11. Pingback: DNS |

  12. Pingback: Eureka Lake Duathlon |

  13. Pingback: Chicago Rock n’ Roll 5k Recap |

Tell me what you think!

