USAT Nationals Week 3: Building

8 weeks to go…

This was technically a cut-back week, which seems strange since I have only had one “real” training week. I am jumping into the 16 week plan at week 5 and just rolling with it. My fitness isn’t quite there to even realize that the volume is cut back since my body only feels the number of workouts in the week, not that they are shorter in duration.

Monday – 2400 m Masters Swim + 3.25M Easy Run, ~9:30

I am definitely getting stronger in the pool. Finally. I still feel my form falling apart on longer distances (~400m), but I am starting to see 100 m splits that don’t make me want to curl in a ball and quit.

I headed back to the Fleet Feet fun run and this time was lucky enough to meet Twitter pal, Hillary. We ran a nice, easy 3-miles and chatted away. It was fun and I am definitely looking forward to more miles with her!

Tuesday – 1:19 Ride with 5 x 3:00 intervals, 22.4M, 16.8 mph

Despite not having great riding routes or buddies, I am actually really loving being on the bike lately. Maybe it’s just the ability to still get out on the lake despite the absence of running miles, but I have been looking forward to hopping in the saddle and getting out there. This was a good ride and I felt strong on the intervals.

Wednesday – 2500 m Masters Swim + Yoga Spirt of the Marathon II

I’m back! The best swim yet, with 6x100m @ 1:30 – 1:35. It wasn’t easy and I was dying on the last 2, but those are intervals that I can live with. This gives me hope that my swim will be where it should on some upcoming races!

Of course, like many of you run-loving people out there, I also went to see Spirit of the Marathon II Wednesday night. In the midst of what was supposed to be some kind of crazy super storm, I trekked to downtown and met up with Jenny, Hillary, Chanthana, Tim, Manny and Coach to see the movie. The storm was a big (media-hyped) dud and I was happy that they let me tag along as this is a really fun (and fast) group of runners!

Thursday – 1:03 Ride w/7 x 1:00 speed intervals; 17.5M, 16.6 mph

I DID NOT want to get out of bed for this ride. Not sure why as it was over an hour later than I have been getting up in the morning. Once I got out there it was WINDY like no other and there were times when I seriously felt like I was pedaling in place. Thankfully the tail-wind was no joke and I was able to bring up the average a bit.

Friday – Brick: 1:30 Ride, 25M, 16.9 mph + 30 min Run, 3.65M, 8:14 min/mile

It was a SUPER windy day so I did a couple of out and backs on the path to avoid having to ride into the wind for extended periods. I felt really good running off of the bike. I didn’t feel like I was pushing the pace at all, yet the pace was still “fast” compared to the rest of my recent runs.

Massage!

Saturday – OFF

I can’t remember the last time I had a day off when I was this tired at the end of the day! We walked a ton around Shedd Aquarium and chasing after our nieces all day. It was a ton of fun but I was exhausted.

Sunday – 1 hour Easy Run, 6.66M, 9:01 min/mile

The pace was easy but this was the first time in a long time that I felt no tightness on my right side for the first 30 minutes of a run. Toward the end, my glute felt a bit tight, but this is a huge improvement. Maybe it was the massage? Or the general lack of running?

Totals

  • Swim = 4900 m
  • Bike = 65 miles
  • Run = 13.5 miles
  • Time = 7 hours, 35 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, running, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 3: Building

  1. Hillary says:

    So glad you could join for miles and smiles (gag, that was bad). Looking forward to more runs this summer!!

  2. Jenny says:

    I second what Hillary said. Also, disappointed that your “hey Jennnyyyyyyy” was carried away with the wind the next morning. Next time! (You’ll have to shout though because I’m notorious for listening to loud music when I run). Hope Jude massaged your muscles like they’ve never been massaged before!

Tell me what you think!

