USAT Nationals Week 4: Hamburg

7 weeks to go…

I like to think that I am pretty good at figuring out a way to train, even when I am traveling. This week was no exception, until Sunday. Prior to that I was so proud of getting my workouts in despite the craziness that the week brought. I wasn’t able to borrow a bike this time like I did last year, but luckily my hotel has a decent gym so the stationary bike would do.

Monday – 2800 m Masters Swim + 2:30 ride, 43.2M, 17.3 mph

If all else failed with planned workouts in Hamburg I wanted to get one good swim in plus my long ride for the week before I left. Fortunately a later evening flight + flexibility of working from home allowed me to do that. But wow…it was HOT on the ride. I managed to miss a few spots on my shoulders and back with sunscreen and I was reminded every time I moved in my seat on the 8 hour flight.

Tuesday – OFF

Traveled over night and landed midday in Hamburg. Good time for a rest day after a big day on Monday anyway.

Wednesday – ~60 min Run, 6.9M, 8:39 min/mile + 2600 m Swim

Hamburg remains one of my favorite places to run. I was smiling the whole time I ran around the Alster Lake. It wasn’t fast and there was nothing particularly special about it, but it was a beautiful morning and I just really loved being out there.

I was originally hoping to get in a swim as well, but the pool doesn’t open to the public until 9 a.m. and I was at the office till after 7:30 p.m. so obvi a no go.

Thursday – 1:25 Stationary bike w/7×5 min “hills”, 20M, 15.6 mph

Of course a stationary bike isn’t ideal, but certainly better than nothing or a recumbent bike. I was feeling sluggish and it was hard to wake up, but it was humid as hell in the gym and got a solid sweat in and my legs burning before a long day of meetings.

Friday – Brick: 1:10 Ride w/9×1 min sprint, ~19M, ~16.5 mph + 30 min Run, 3.55M, 8:21 min/mile

Despite even less sleep than the night before, this was really a solid workout. My butt was sore from riding such an awkward seat 2 days in a row, so I was more than happy to get off and run when the 1:10 was up. I have felt really, really good running off of the bike lately.

Saturday – ~2000 m Open Water Swim

My coworker, Maxine, and I met up at Stadtpark at the swimming pond. It is about 100 m across and a great place to practice open water swimming. Not very deep, clean water, lifeguards, etc. but you still get to practice sighting and being in a wetsuit as if it were truly open water.

photo (38)

I wish we had something like this at home! Especially since it also sits in the middle of a beautiful park that has miles and miles of hard packed running trails and a beautiful track.

photo (39) Sunday – Hamburg Half Marathon, 1hr Run + 2600 m Swim OFF

 

I was so sick, but still held on to this little glimmer of hope that I could run later in the day. Things improved throughout the day, but not at the pace I wanted and eventually I gave into the idea that it would be a complete rest day.

Totals

  • Swim = 4800 m
  • Bike = 82 miles
  • Run = 11 miles
  • Time = 8 hours, 10 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, running, training, triathlon, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 4: Hamburg

  1. Nina says:

    I haven’t swam at the Stadtpark swimming pond yet, but I planned to do the Stadtpark Triathlon that is happening every year. However, it was already sold out when I went to their homepage. Next year… 🙂

  2. Megan says:

    I’m impressed that you can get in your workouts while traveling. I’m horrible at it.

    • Corey says:

      True, but remember I am mostly sitting on my butt in a meeting room all day! You are standing up in a booth or driving all over the place! Definitely a different atmosphere.

  3. I wish I had a place to swim like that too! I could use more open water practice if I’m ever going to get myself to a tri again. 🙂 Great job with the week of workouts while traveling!

  4. elizabeth says:

    love your dedication while traveling. this year has been an eye opener for me and i don’t know how i will find the balance when I am running again. i will just come read your posts for inspiration!

Tell me what you think!

