USAT Nationals Week 6: Back At It

5 weeks to go…

After being on the road and having a low volume week the week before, my main priority this week was to hit my training hard and not miss any workouts. I was in Peoria Monday and Tuesday, but fortunately I had my bike with me and access to a pool so I was able to train like “normal”. It ended up being a really high volume week and I am feeling it: needing a ton of sleep and housing a killer appetite.

Monday – 1:37 Ride w/6×1:30 hill climbs, 26.7M, 16.5 mph + 2600 yd swim: w/u, 5×200 @ 3:00, 10×100 @ 1:30, c/d

I actually was able to find a “hill” to do some repeats near Brad’s parents house. It was nothing like what I used to do in South Carolina, but with a strong head wind and by staying in a heavy gear, I was able to simulate a solid climb for about 90 seconds. My heart rate was sky high and my legs were burning, so mission accomplished.

It was a major success for me that I was able to drag myself to the pool after work. After a hard ride that morning and a busy day at work, my motivation was really lacking. Once I got there, I (as always) was glad I went.

Tuesday – 7.65M run, 8:20 min/mile

Amazing country run! I was seeking hills since I never get them in the city and found a decent rolling route through the corn fields. I had to get up at 4:20 a.m. to get this done in time to get to the office before a 7 a.m. meeting, but it was so worth it for cool temps and a beautiful sunrise.

Wednesday – 2600 m Masters swim

It is definitely more motivating to go to Masters than to swim on my own, but I was still really tired and didn’t want to get out of bed. The first half of the workout was good but the last 600 m or so, my body just did not want to cooperate. It felt almost like a “bonk” on a run…which makes no sense because I ate a granola bar before I started just like I always do. I finally called it a day and cooled down.

Thursday – Brick: 1:20 Ride w/11×1 min sprint, 22.6M, 17.1 mph  + 2.5M Run, 8:09 min/mile

I woke up naturally a little before 7 a.m. (who am I?) and was happy to get out on the bike earlier than I thought. I hoped I would be the heat and the Lake Front Path crowds…I was wrong! The weather was perfect, but could never really get settled in because there were so many people out. Felt good running off of the bike.

Friday – ~2400 m Open Water Swim + ~35 min ride

I rode my bike to and from Ohio St. beach to swim in the lake for the first time! I saw so many people out there the day before and the wind was pretty calm so it was good swimming conditions. The water was cold, maybe 66*ish, so my sleeveless wetsuit was not quite enough, but I survived and it was great to have such easy access to OWS! Not exactly sure how far I went but based on my bike Garmin to the buoys and the time (40 min), I am guessing 2400 m or so.

photo (33)

Not from Friday, but I love this pic of Lake Michigan from Emily

Saturday – 2:30 Ride, 35.2M, 14.2 mph + 1.2M run, 8:00 min/mile

I met my Ragnar FLK buddy, Vishal, out in Glenview for a ride with new scenery and good company. It wasn’t the fastest ride, but the miles flew by as we talked about running, training, triathlon, injuries, etc. After we finished, we ran for about 10 min. to get the legs moving a bit. It was a solid day of training, followed by a good afternoon of day drinking and Cubs baseball.

cubsgame

 Sunday – 7.35M Run, 8:10 min/mile

Saturday afternoon I tweeted looking for some company and Erin responded that she was running Sunday morning too.  We met Annabelle and several others as they headed out for a hot, humid 16-miler. The group is fast and super friendly and it was fun chatting with everyone and finally being out on a run with buddies! The first half was quick (sub-8’s maybe?), but Erin and I backed off a bit on the way back. My legs were heavy from a long week of training and I am definitely not acclimated to the heat yet. I better suck it up and get used to it QUICK. I am definitely looking forward to more runs with this crew in the future…fast friends.

Totals

  • Swim = 7400 m
  • Bike = 92 miles
  • Run = 19 miles
  • Time = 10 hours, 50 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 6: Back At It

  1. Meredith says:

    Good week Corey…this summer has been brutal!

  2. Awesome workouts! And I’m glad you found a group to train with, too. The heat- I don’t know if we ever get acclimated!

  3. ErinAMG says:

    So awesome to finally meet you IRL and run with ya on Sunday… looking forward to doing that again 🙂

Tell me what you think!

