USAT Nationals Week 7: Paducah, Marathon Training & Atlanta

4 weeks to go…

Yikes! As of this week, only one month to go! It seems like I JUST started training. This week was a lesson in balance, as I traveled to Paducah, Kentucky Monday afternoon until Wednesday morning, then flew to Atlanta for the weekend to spend time with Elizabeth. On top of that, this was the first week of NYC Marathon Training! I couldn’t be more excited to ramp up the run, but it is definitely a challenge to fit it all in.

Monday – 2600 m Masters Swim + 1:13 Ride w/26 min tempo, 20.4M, 16.8 mph

We did a ton of kicking at Masters and (gasp!) I even took my fins off and kicked “naked” for some of it. I really suck at kicking…which is probably because I always wear my fins. For the main set, I got in a good rhythm with a couple of girls in my lane and it was fun.

My legs were DEAD from last week’s workouts and all the kicking at Masters, but I needed to get a bike in before my flight. The sky was threatening from the beginning, but I made it through all but the last 20 minutes without rain. I had a super scary moment when I hit the wet, slick painted line on the path and barely escaped wiping out. I am still not sure how I managed to stay upright, but my heart was pounding the rest of the ride.

Tuesday – 5.6M, Tempo w/2 Miles @ 7:30, avg 8:01 min/mile

The best way to describe this run is SWEATY. After all those summers in South Carolina, I can’t believe I forgot how much hotter it is in the south! I found a great trail about a mile from my hotel and it was A-mazing to push myself on the run for the first time in almost 2 months. My legs felt heavy getting to tempo pace, but once I got there, I felt pretty good.

Wednesday – 45 min Easy Run, 5.4M, 8:21 min/mile + 1:15 Easy Ride, 19.2M, 15.5 mph

I flew out at 6 a.m. (4 a.m. wake-up call – blargh), which was only okay because I landed in Chicago by 7. I hopped the L from the airport to Brad’s work, grabbed his car and drove 5 min. to the Chippewa Forest Reserve to run on the Des Plaines River Trail. This trail is like a little slice of heaven in the ‘burbs. I didn’t want to turn around because it was so tempting to just keep heading deeper in the woods. My legs felt a bit heavy, but my heart was really happy.

photo (46)

Des Plaines River Trail

I made the mistake of riding at 5 p.m. on the Lake Front…on a beautiful summer day. Never again. I almost crashed 10 times. People were riding their bikes on the wrong side of the path not paying attention, stepping out or crossing into the path without looking and just general stupidity. Thankfully the plan was to ride nice and easy anyway, but even being clipped in to my pedals was scary with all the chaos.

Thursday – Brick: 1:30 Ride, 24.8M, 16.6 mph + 5M w/3×800, 8:00 min/mile

Doing my speedwork as the run portion of a brick is probably not ideal, but with the way the week played out, it was my only option without adding another run. The bike was great. It was a cool morning and I felt comfortable and relaxed. I always tend to run faster off the bike, so the warm-up was much faster than planned and while my legs were tired, I didn’t have a problem hitting the 800 paces: 3:25, 3:23, 3:17 (3:30 was the target). My glute and hammy felt a little tight again for the first time in a while…blargh.

Friday – 2800 m Masters Swim + 1:20 Ride, 22.3M, 16.6 mph

This was a good swim day. My body generally feels tired, but I am hitting pretty decent splits in the pool despite not feeling fresh.

I debated completely bagging this ride. I had a lot going on work-wise and was flying to Atlanta that evening. All day I went back and forth, then at 3:00, I had gotten several big work things accomplished and was actually looking forward to going out and spinning a bit. The path was a little crowded, but I beat the commuters so it was manageable.

Saturday – 10M, 8:18 min/mile 

I got in late Friday, then Elizabeth and I stayed up late talking and catching up. A late night plus being tired all week, I decided to sleep in until I woke up and just suffer through the heat. I finally woke up at 9:15 and was out the door a little before 10. I must be the luckiest runner ever because it was probably the only Saturday ever in July in Atlanta where it was overcast and mild, with a nice breeze. The hills hurt, but it was good have to opportunity to run some because I know I need that to make me stronger and to prepare me for NYC. Solid pace, overall, but a bit inconsistent.

 Sunday – Pilates

My first ever pilates class. Elizabeth and I took a private class with Laura and it was A-MAZING. Besides being hungover, I loved it and I think I am hooked. Good combo of stretching, core and strength. Definitely going to make this part of my weekly routine after Nationals.

Totals 

  • Swim = 5400 m
  • Bike = 87 miles
  • Run = 26 miles
  • Time = 11 hours, 50 min. –> what am I training for??!! This is like 1/2 Ironman style.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 7: Paducah, Marathon Training & Atlanta

  1. Wow, awesome job fitting all that training in with all the travel! You are such a champ at not letting your travel get in the way of your training!!! Can’t wait to follow the rest of your training for NYC!

  2. Megan says:

    Glad you made it out to those trails! 🙂 Wish I had time to run on them when I was in town.

  3. Happy first week of marathon training! I’m always amazed how you can overlap marathon training and triathlon training. Great week!

    • Corey says:

      I have never really fully tried to overlap them before. It worked okay at 26 miles for last week and with the race 3 weeks away, it should be okay…but it is not something that I will be trying to repeat again!

  4. elizabeth says:

    seriously the luckiest atl run ever. also so glad you enjoyed pilates. miss you already and decided yalls next move will be here. 🙂

  5. you are a serious training machine! so impressed with your dedication to fitting it all in. I’m happily funemployed and don’t manage training volumes like that! 🙂 was totally jealous of you and Elizabeth’s adventures this weekend. next time let me know and i’ll meet y’all somewhere!!

  6. Beth says:

    Wow, you are really putting in some training time! Great job on getting everything in while traveling so much.

Tell me what you think!

