USAT Nationals Week 8: Managing Volume & Chicago RnR 5k

3 weeks till race week…

If you saw my comment on the totals at the end of last week’s training log, you know that I had a bit of a realization. Last weeks’ training (for an Olympic Distance race) put me at the same volume that I trained for my last 1/2 Ironman. Overkill much? The workouts are structured a bit differently, but I still think I may be overdoing it. And now that I am marathon training…its definitely too much. I know can push through for 2 more bigger weeks, but I did cut out/back some of the tri workouts this week to manage things a bit better.

Monday – Tempo/Fartlek: 6.27M w/4×3 min surges, 8:10 min/mile

I woke up early after the Luke Bryan concert and ran on The Beltline. Once again, I was blessed with semi-cool Atlanta weather. The surges were meant to be based on “effort only” somewhere between 10k and 1/2 marathon pace. Because The Beltline goes toward downtown at a slight incline, they were a bit inconsistent: 7:29 (uphill), 7:13 (downhill), 6:54 (downhill), 7:17 (uphill)

Tuesday – 1:24 Ride, 24.2M Ride w/30 min tempo effort, 17.2 mph

I think this is the most warm and humid morning I can remember so far this summer. I was happy to be hopping on my bike and not going for a run. The path is SO much nicer in the mornings and I got a good solid (near-death-experience free) ride. I tried to maintain a “race effort” (20+ mph) on the tempo and it went pretty well. My legs didn’t feel nearly as heavy as they have on the bike recently.

As part of my effort to manage training better, I cut out the swim that would have also happened on this day.

Wednesday – 2700 m Masters Swim + 3.57M Easy Run, 8:24 min/mile

This is probably the strongest I have felt in the pool yet this year. I was pretty tired on the last 2×100’s of the main set, but I am truly feeling like my old self in the pool now.

After my swim, I took Brad to the train, then took my car to get the new bike rack installed (!!). It was the perfect distance to drop off the car and do my 30 min. easy run to get home. Despite only being 9 a.m., it was HOT. My legs felt pretty good, but I was baking in the sun. Chicago summer has officially arrived.

Thursday – 5M Speed w/5×400 + 1:20 Steady State Ride, 22.2M, 16.9 mph

After Wednesday’s hot run, I was determined to get both of these workouts in before 8 a.m. I hit the path half asleep at 5:40ish for 400 repeats. I REALLY, really miss my quiet, mornings alone on the Greenville High School track. I can focus on splits and manage my pace better there. I just don’t feel as controlled in my speed work when it’s not on an oval. I don’t have a convenient track here, but I am going to have to work this out somehow. Repeats: 1:33, 1:34, 1:35, 1:34, 1:31.

Putting on a sports bra and bike shorts when you are sweaty feels like squeezing into clothes that are 2 sizes too small. I was still pouring sweat when I headed back out on the bike, but the breeze from the movement felt good. I felt stronger on the bike than I have all summer. I was able to lock-in to a steady pace, without feeling like I was grinding or working too hard.

Friday – 1:40 Bike, 28.4M, 17 mph + 30 min Bike, 8M, 16.5 mph + ~2600 OWS

My long bike did not start out well. My cadence detector wasn’t working and in general, I just felt off. After riding to the end of the trail to the south, I made a bargain with myself and headed home. I could cut this part of the ride short, as long as I regrouped after breakfast and working for a while to head back out to ride to the beach to swim. So a few hours later, at lunch I rode over to the beach, swam and then rode back home. The second round went much better and I was happy with the time I put in that day

Saturday – Planned: 20 min Easy Run w/5×100 m strides, Actual: 1.5ish miles

After sleeping in, then going to the Recovery Room, I kind of ditched this work out in lieu of shoe shopping and not dying in the heat. I did run from the L to my appointment that morning (1/2 mile) and then from Fleet Feet to Road Runner sports (1 mile), so I got a shake-out in, but not really the way it should have been.

 Sunday – Chicago RnR 5k + Bike Test Rides

Totals 

  • Swim = 5300 m
  • Bike = 83 miles
  • Run = 21 miles
  • Time = 9 hours, 40 min. (still a big week, but much more reasonable volume)

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 8: Managing Volume & Chicago RnR 5k

  1. Congrats on an awesome week and way to go in recognizing if you are over-doing it! It’s so easy to get caught up in a numbers game and get competitive with your own numbers, but it’s so important to listen to your body!

  2. Oh and I totally agree on not doing speed work on a track – it’s just not the same!

  3. Wow another great week!! I think there is always a little playing with our training to see how much volume leads to progress and how much leads to overkill

Tell me what you think!

