USAT Nationals Week 10: Making it Work

1 week till race week…

I didn’t anticipate that I would be posting yet another weekly recap and still no race report for the Holiday Man Triathlon. It is in the works, but life has been a bit crazy lately and I haven’t had a chance to finish it.

According to the plan, this was supposed to be my “peak” week…much closer to the race than in marathon or even 1/2 Ironman training. I definitely had my biggest week yet, but my schedule was hectic so it was all about fitting workouts in when I could.

Monday – 3000 m Swim

I finally hit the 3000 mark!

I was also supposed to ride at some point, but I had to drive to Peoria in the afternoon to be there for work the next day. I thought I could potentially ride when I got there, but playing with my nieces won out over the ride.

Tuesday – 60 min Easy Run: 7.2M, 8: 20 min/mile + 9M bike, 17.8 mph

I woke up to rain but threw on a hat and headed out for an easy run with Walter. We did about 30 minutes before I dropped him off and finished up on my own.

I had to be at work by 8:30, but wanted to squeeze in at least 30 minutes on the bike to try to make up some time from Monday’s ride. It was still raining a bit, but I tried to hammer as hard as I could (on tired running legs) to make the most of the short time in the saddle.

Wednesday – 60 min Easy Run: 7.1M, 8:24 + 9.3M bike, 17.9 mph

It wasn’t particularly hot, but super muggy and humid. Walter went with me again for the first 30 minutes and it was nice to have the company. My legs felt absolutely dead so I tried not to worry too much about pace and just run by feel. I kept waiting for my legs to wake up but they never really did.

Despite dead legs on the run, I felt great once I got on the bike. I felt smooth and fast. I was able to squeeze in another 30 minutes on the bike before having to rush to get ready for work.

Thursday – 7.3M Run, w/3M Tempo, 7:47 min/mile + 9.1M Bike, 17.8 mph

Despite Wednesday’s slog of a run, my legs felt fresh on Thursday. The cooler temps probably helped, but I also warmed up in the heavy Ghosts, then switched the A5’s and felt like I could fly in them. My tempo miles were faster than planned, but I just ran on feel: 7:05, 7:04, 6:59.

photo (53)

I swear I didn’t plan to perfectly match my A5’s for this run. Had to take this shot to document it though.

Once again after the run, I was able to squeak out the final 30 min to complete the 1:30 ride from Monday. Not ideal, but definitely better than not getting the miles in at all.

Friday – 1:30 Trainer Ride

I woke up early Friday looking forward to heading north on a new riding route that someone recommended at last weekend’s tri, but it was pouring rain with thunder and lighting. I went back to sleep for a little while, then eventually dragged myself out of bed and procrastinated as long as possible before finally getting on the trainer in my basement. It pretty much sucked the whole time and I was counting down the last 10 minutes until I could get off. The ride was originally supposed to be 1:45, but I had enough after 1:30.

The worst part is that, despite the forecast saying it was going to rain ALL DAY, it was sunny for the majority of the rest of the day. Hmph.

photo (2)

Saturday – 11M Run, 8:16 min/mile

Hills! I went to Waterfall Glen, a forest preserve south of the city, with Chanthana and Kevin (Coach). I wasn’t sure what to expect from the hills that I have heard so much about, but it was definitely a rolling route, with one legit mile climb. It felt good to give the legs some variation again, but I was definitely ready to be done after 11 miles. (A somewhat pathetic “long run” 3+ weeks into NYC training).

Sunday – 35M Ride, 17.2 mph + 11M Ride + 1300 m OWS

After Friday’s bust of a ride, I was excited to get up north to ride in Evanston and check out some new scenery. It was a great place to ride: easy to access, low traffic, lots of cyclists. My days of riding only the lake front are probably over. FINALLY a good route. Also, I came to the conclusion that the saddle on this bike just isn’t going to work. I tried to give it a chance over the last 2 weeks, but I was pretty uncomfortable by mile 12 and had to keep sitting up out of aero.

After the ride, I went home to change and eat a snack before rolling back out to pick up my friends, Phil and Alexandra, so we could ride over to the lake front to swim. They are in town on their way to Milwaukee for Nationals and staying down close to the city. We navigated the stoplights and traffic and made our way to the beach. Once we got there, the wind was blowing from the North/East, so the lake was ROUGH. We got tossed around alot and I didn’t quite make it a mile before I finally gave in and called it a day. I rode with Phil and Alex part of the way back then headed home.

Totals

  • Swim = 4300 m
  • Bike = 99 miles (so close!)
  • Run = 33 miles
  • Time = 11 hours, 55 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 10: Making it Work

  1. oh those temperatures, jjjjjeeeealous πŸ™‚ great week again girl!

  2. Meredith says:

    Woohoo good luck in Wisconsin! Glad you found some new biking areas

  3. Hillary says:

    I still have to get out to WG with the Granato racers — one of these days! Killer week despite life’s attempts to thwart your workouts. πŸ™‚

  4. This is a big week! Way to go getting it all done πŸ™‚

  5. chanthana says:

    That’s not a pathetic long run! You have plenty of time and are in good running shape. You’ll do those 2:30 runs real soon. Have trust πŸ™‚ Looking forward to tracking you this weekend!

Tell me what you think!

