USAT Nationals Tracking & Goals

Last year when I received the email that I qualified for USAT Nationals, I was honored, but I eventually deleted it without too much thought.

photo (58)

When it was announced that the venue was changed from Burlington, VT to Milwaukee, WI, a few of my friends from Greenville said that they were going because they had ties to the Milwaukee area (or had a solid chance of qualifying for Worlds), but I didn’t really consider it.

But when we found out we were moving to Chicago, I immediately registered and decided it would be a good short-ish race to keep me cross-training and doing the triathlon “thing” in a summer where I might have only run.

2013-05-31 18-18-46_Olympic Distance National Championship - usatriathlon

Because I didn’t go in with the intention of placing high in my age group, I never really thought much about what my goals for the race would be. Qualifying for Worlds would be a (waaaay) long shot and that I really just want to see how I compare against the best of the best in my age group. It will be an exciting and competitive environment and I am kind of excited to see how I stack up.

Of course I have realistic and stretch time goals in my head and it would be great to race as fast (or faster) than I did at Lake Logan last year, when I was deep in 1/2 Ironman Training, but in reality, I am probably not as fit as I was then, especially on the bike. But I am mostly just excited to race.  I love racing tri’s and to be able to race with my best friend makes it even better.

run finish lake logan

Sprinting to the finish TOGETHER at Lake Logan

And if we can somehow manage an exact same time finish like we did last time we raced together, now THAT would be amazing.

I won’t bore anyone with the actual time goals, because you probably don’t really care. I would love to PR (sub 2:20), but most importantly I want to have a great race and feel really good about my effort. And drink lots of beer in Milwaukee with my friends.

If you are interested in tracking me, they haven’t emailed or posted tracking details, but I know they had it last year. Here is the link to the Nationals Website:

http://www.usatriathlon.org/events/usat/2013/08/olympic-national-championship.aspx

My wave doesn’t start until 9:50 a.m. Saturday morning, so no tracking will display until after I finished the swim and get into transition.

We are on our way to Milwaukee right now and I couldn’t be more excited for the weekend to finally begin!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, friends, Goals, Greenville, Moving, Races, running, swimming, training, Travel, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to USAT Nationals Tracking & Goals

  1. Steph says:

    Good luck and have fun!!!

  2. evamadera says:

    So excited for you Corey!

  3. Thinking of you this weekend… can’t wait to hear all about it!!

Tell me what you think!

