USAT Nationals Week 11: Race Week

RACE WEEK

It was a bit up and down this week. My legs felt far too tired early in the week to be racing my goal triathlon on Saturday. I made some adjustments to the workouts, took a complete day of rest Thursday and had a super light day Friday and by the time Saturday came around, I felt fresh and rested.

Monday – 50 min Easy Run, 5.5M, 8:54 min/mile

Emily and Sarah came into town Sunday night for a Chicago layover in the #sweatygoeswest cross-country road trip. It was a fun little reunion + beers + miles.

photo (54)

When my 6:20 alarm went off, I knew my planned tempo miles weren’t happening. After Saturday and Sunday’s workouts it was probably a good decision anyway, but the bonus was all the miles with Emily along the lake front. Chatting with a friend always >> killing yourself on a tempo on dead legs.

photo (55)

Tuesday – 6.25M Run w/2M Tempo, 8:00 min/mile

I woke feeling rested and ready to run, but my legs had a mind of their own this morning. They were tired and fatigued. I made it through the tempo miles with good paces (7:10, 7:08), but I was counting down the minutes until I was finished.

As a result of the tired legs, I scrapped the planned bike ride. Recovery wins.

Wednesday – 4M Easy Run, 8:39+ 1:15 Easy Ride, 20M, 16.2 mph

Big fat fail on following Coach’s instructions. After I updated the notes from Tuesday’s workout, he changed the calendar to make today complete rest so I could refresh. I didn’t see that until AFTER I did my run and bike. And he was right…I needed rest. I cut my 45 min easy run 10 min short because my legs just felt dead.

I am glad that I got out for an easy ride to test the new saddle though. It was seriously love at first ride. I am 1000 times more comfortable and am actually sitting where I should be on the bike. But that also means I need another quick fit adjustment, so I am glad I figured that out before the weekend. And my legs actually felt pretty decent on the bike.

Thursday – OFF

Took Coach’s advice one day late. Scrapped the planned swim, slept in and just rested.

Friday – Test Swim: 500 m + Shakeout Ride: 15 min, 3.5 miles

They had the swim area open for a test swim, so we got in and did about 500 m. Nothing too crazy, but enough to get a feel for the water temps and to understand how the course was laid out.

We also did a short little shakeout ride from our lunch spot over to the bike drop area. I normally would like to do a short little pick-up in here to get the legs going, but we were on semi-crowded bike paths so we just loosened up and made sure our bikes were ready to roll.

Saturday – USAT Nationals: 2:21:30 (race report coming soon!)

Sunday – OFF

Totals

  • Swim = 2000 m
  • Bike = 48.3 miles
  • Run = 22 miles
  • Time = 6 hours, 15 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, friends, Goals, running, swimming, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to USAT Nationals Week 11: Race Week

  1. I so need to come visit you! Hopefully my travel gets a little less crazy in 2014 and I can make it happen. can’t wait for the full report!

Tell me what you think!

