NYC Marathon Week 5: Recovery

12 Weeks to go…

Since Saturday’s race marked the end of triathlon racing season for me, I expected to jump full force into marathon training this week. I had visions of a 35+ mile week with a 13-mile long run, speed work, etc. But when my schedule showed up, it was heavy on the rest and light on the running. And while I was a bit disappointed to see so many rest and non-running days, I know that it is for the best. And that, my friends, is why I have a coach.

Monday – OFF

I took my 3rd complete rest day in less than a week. That is more rest days than I had taken in the last 7 weeks combined. ahem.

Tuesday – 45 min Easy run: 5.5M, 8:26 min/mile

My legs felt surprisingly fresh, but after only running once in the previous 5 days, I felt a bit clumsy and awkward. It was like I just couldn’t get my rhythm.

This was also the return of the dark early morning run. I had a 6:30 a.m. conference call, so I got up in the 4’s to get run before work. The bonus? An Erin sighting on the path!

Wednesday – 1 hr Easy Cross: 1:02 bike, 16.85 miles, 16.4 mph

I had zero motivation for cross training. I initially set my alarm to get up really early and beat the Lakefront traffic, but I snoozed for nearly two hours and finally hit the path in the last minutes that I had before my first meeting of the day. It ended up being a pretty good ride, but with tri season over and still no riding buddies, my biking motivation is minimal.

Thursday – OFF/Travel

4th rest day in 8 days. I am becoming a champ at NOT working out. I did take the boys for a 30 minute walk in the morning to get out and enjoy the nice cool weather.

Left in the evening to fly to Houston for a fun family weekend!

Friday – 1:20 run w/last 2 mi “pick-up”: 10M, 8:21 min/mile

One good thing about running at home is that my mom always joins me on her bike. Having the company usually makes the miles fly by. But running in Houston, in August, after an unseasonably cool Midwest summer was BRUTAL. This was a disappointing and confidence killing run, as it took everything I had to finish these 10 miles. There wasn’t really much “pick-up” left for the last two, but I managed an 8:13 and 8:05 mile to finish it off. (In reality, these were probably meant to be in the mid-7’s).

I updated my calendar that I feel like I am really behind at this point in marathon training as 10 miles shouldn’t be so hard 12 weeks out from a marathon. But Coach wasn’t hearing a word of it…he reassured me that I need to respect the heat/humidity and that I am just.fine. to reach my goals at NYC. Blergh.

Saturday – Optional Easy Workout: 4.85M, 8:18 min/mile

I wasn’t sure what my running options would be in Lake Charles, where we would be spending the weekend so Kevin made weekend workouts optional. After a late night of dancing, I slept in until 9, but was greeted with surprisingly lower humidity than the previous day and the heat wasn’t horrible either. I had to do several out and backs around the entrance/exit to the area where we stayed, but all in all, this was a surprisingly good run. It felt good to sweat out the beer and start a fun-filled (but not so healthy) day on a good note.

photo (63)

Dark & blurry pic with my cousins from the night before

Sunday – OFF/Travel

Slept in, traveled home, hard core napped on the plane, ate a lot of food. Three days off in a week has to be some kind of record for me.

Totals: 20.35 miles

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NYC Marathon Week 5: Recovery

  1. Declan says:

    yay for 4am running! Hope you join the club more often!
    Rest days are difficult after such a long intense cycle! Mentally dealing with it and being calm is as hard as any interval run!

  2. I live near Houston. The humidity makes running much tougher so I try not to be too hard on myself when it comes to my pace during the summer. Hope the rest of your marathon training goes well!

  3. Jodi says:

    I bet you will ROCK your workouts next week because your body will be so rested. You probably needed it. 🙂

  4. Terzah says:

    Corey, I’m catching up with your blog–congratulations on your tri. You did great! And don’t sweat the rest–you definitely needed it. Always listen to your coach–I learned that one the hard way in Eugene. You’re going to love NYC.

  5. Meredith says:

    Good lord I was happy to hear you struggled with running back home…I have been back at home from California and honestly thought something was wrong…runs are brutal and I am exhausted.every.single.time. Bleh!

  6. erin says:

    I’m down with 5a running, but anything in the four o’clock hour… yikes! 😉 Rest does a body good… your body will thank you, and you’ll be on your way to crushing your NYC Marathon goals!

  7. I am so excited for you that you get to run NYC! I know you’ll do great and that all these rest days will pay off as you get deeper into training.

  8. (2nd Attempt: #FollowFriday #Shoutouts Tomorrow: ‘Do You Want To Be Mentioned Along With Your Website?’ It’s called “Free Advertisement/Smart Individual Marketing”)

    To: Corey Parker #Triathlete
    From: Darin Armstrong #TeamLIVESTRONG

    Hello Corey,
    Just a quick email to ask if you would be interested in a ‘mutual’ following on twitter that will benefit you. (#FYI I do RT’s ‘ANYTIME’ for all #Triathletes #Cyclists #UltraRunners #Marathoners #FitnessProfessionals who follow me on Twitter and have something important they want mentioned for support…Over 41K folks at your access.) I am currently following you now and am awaiting for your follow-back…

    All the very best to you & your family for the rest of 2013 & beyond Corey. Look forward to hearing from you…

    (PS. Corey, should you follow back, I’ll be mentioning you in my #FollowFriday #Shoutouts this week…)

    Darin
    twitter.com/DarinArmstrong
    #TeamLIVESTRONG

Tell me what you think!

