NYC Marathon Week 6: All of the running!

11 Weeks to go…

After nearly 3 full months of light running, then triathlon training, then more recovery, this felt like the first week where running was the focus again. And no surprise, that makes me very, very happy. It is a little ironic that it coincided with an absolutely crazy week of work, so I had to get a little bit creative with fitting runs in. But I am super happy to feel like I am back in marathon training full force.

Monday – Tempo Run: 6.65M, 7:46 min/mile

Finally was able to settle in to a routine with Monday tempo and was greeted with a nice cool-ish morning. Warmed up for 15 min., made a porta-potty pitstop (remember what I said about eating ALOT on Sunday?! yeaaah) then did 3 tempo miles: 7:12, 7:08, 7:05. They didn’t feel especially hard or easy, but they flew by and before I knew it, I hit my turnaround point, then shortly after it was time to cool down. Heck yeah…great start to my week!

Tuesday – 60 min Easy: 7.15M, 8:26 min/mile

Not much special about this run. I took Walter for 30 min, dropped him off and went out for 30 more. Had to make a porta-potty stop about 5 miles in for the second day in a row. That’s my body reminding me about my unhealthy decisions from the weekend. My watch was all over the place going to and from the Lake Front.

Wednesday – 60 min Easy: 1:04, ~7.75, ~8:20 min/mile

The only way this run was going to happen was if I woke up in the 3’s to do it before my 7 a.m. flight. Plans to run the miles with Erin and Declan made it MUCH more tolerable. And knowing an airplane nap was waiting for me on the other side didn’t hurt either. Another porta potty stop before meeting Erin & once again my watch was all over the place and showed I was running a 2:30 mile at one point. I ended up estimating the pace and distance because my Garmin was way over.

photo (64)

4 a.m. full moon through the trees

Thursday – Speed: 7×400: 1:02, 7.4M, 8:27 min/mile

For the second day in a row, squeezing this run in was tricky. My flight out of Kentucky was at 5:45 a.m. so there was no way to run beforehand. When I landed, I had to drive 2 1/2+ hours to Peoria for more work meetings, followed by dinner. Fortunately I had built in some time for flight delays and traffic before my meetings so I had just enough time to squeeze in the run once I arrived in Peoria. It was warm and humid, but it could have been WAY worse and my stomach was a little off but for the first time this week, I didn’t have to stop. Success! Repeats: 1:33, 1:34, 1:33, 1:32, 1:34, 1:32, 1:33. Not bad for consistency but I REALLY miss the track.

Friday – OFF

5:30 a.m. wake-up was unfortunately NOT for a run, but to drive back to Chicago for a full day of conference calls.

Took a long walk with the pups in the afternoon to shake out the legs from too much sitting over the previous few days.

Saturday – 2:00 Hilly: 15.5M, 8:11 min/mile

Three cheers for running buddies! Erin and I went down to Waterfall Glen to change up the scenery and incorporate some hills. It was a great morning of running and chatting with a new friend. Erin ran 20, so she did a few out and backs to tack on the miles and we cruised along pretty steadily for the fastest 15+ miles I have ever run in training. Looking forward to many more miles with Erin in the next few months!

photo (65)

I swear there is a deer in this picture {by the sign}. And we saw at least 3 more out on the trails! Yay nature (says the small town girl transplanted to the city)

Loooonng nap in the afternoon, then dinner and drinks with friends in the evening. Perfect Saturday.

Sunday – OFF

Killer day of rest. Didn’t get out of bed until almost noon then only to walk to get Chicago Bagel Authority with Brad. We followed that with a solid PR in Costco and grocery bills.

Totals: 44.5 miles 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NYC Marathon Week 6: All of the running!

  1. Hillary says:

    The entire time I was reading this, I was thinking, “HIGH FIVE TO KILLIN’ IT!” and then I got to the PR in food and I switched my enthusiasm to that. You fit things in like a Boss, for which you get 407% of my respect. 😉

  2. ErinAMG says:

    totally rockin’ week! the predawn runs are always a good time, as are the deer sightings at WFG 🙂 excited for more running with you! and I, like you, totally appreciate and value PRing at Costco and in groceries. all the miles! all the food! 🙂

  3. The way you manage to fit everything in is truly inspiring!!

    Now, the most important question is, did you get to Costco at an appropriate time to get samples??

    • Corey says:

      That is an important question! Yes, we did, but so did the rest of Chicago, so we were doing our best to fill our cart and get outta there!!

  4. Nice job, I’m always impressed how you manage to fit everything in even with the travel 🙂

  5. girl you are rocking the paces!!! No lie I’m feeling a little slow reading this 🙂 love that you have friends to get up and go so early with you!!

Tell me what you think!

