NYC Marathon Week 7: Do Work.

10 Weeks to go…

This was a week of just putting my head down and getting the runs done. No travel. No crazy schedule to work around. Just doing the mileage. My legs were dead from last week and the big jump in long run distance. Having decent runs on dead legs the first part of the week was a good confidence boost, but I think it all caught up to me by Saturday and the long run was a bit of a bust.

Monday – Progression Tempo 7:25, 7:15, 7:05, 7:00: 7.44M, 7:47 avg + Yoga (!)

Woke up super early to run before a yoga date with Brad. I debated switching the tempo to Tuesday because my legs still felt fatigued from Saturday, so I headed out wearing my heavy shoes and carrying my A5’s so I could make the decision after warming up. It was pitch black so I knew I could stash the A5’s in a bush if I did a recovery run or same for the heavy shoes if I tempo’d. After an easy warm-up, I decided to go ahead and do the planned tempo. It was a good confidence boost to hit the tempo paces despite fatigued legs: 7:24, 7:15, 7:05, 7:01.

Tuesday – 60 min Easy: 7.1M, 8:27 min/mile

I got up at 6 a.m. to do this run, which is nearly a solid 2 hours later than I got up Monday, yet it was hard to peel myself out of bed. I think that 4-5 a.m. window must be a lighter part of my sleep cycle because it is never as hard to get up at that time?!

After dry needling Monday night, I thought my right leg would be really dead and sore. I was generally still fatigued from Saturday’s long run (still.) and Monday’s workout, but the hip/glute/leg felt pretty great. Oh, and that summer weather we haven’t had yet in Chicago, it’s here. I was a sweaty mess after this run.

Wednesday – 60 min Easy: 7.2M, 8:28 min/mile

Once again, getting up in the 4’s was pretty easy, despite getting home late-ish from celebrating Hillary‘s birthday with Jenny and Chanthana (<–seriously love hanging out with these girls. I laughed so hard so many times!) It was already over 80* at 5 a.m. and really foggy. I met Erin and Declan on the Lake Front and the time flew by as we talked away until it was time for me to turn back and head home. I really enjoy the early morning miles with these two and very happy to have found good matched running buddies!

Thursday – 6×800 Speed @ 3:20 w/2 min walk rest: 7.3M, 8:34 min/mile

Ah track love. 4:40 a.m. wake up and at the track by 5:15. After I warmed up for 20 minutes, I did some drillz, then started on the 800’s. I had dead legs all week, so I was a bit nervous about how the workout would go. It was hard. But when I reviewed the data after, I was very happy with the results: 3:13, 3:13, 3:14, 3:12, 3:12, 3:13.

Friday – OFF

Pouty face. Our morning yoga class/date was cancelled because of the holiday weekend.

Saturday – 2:15 long run: 2:06, 15 mi, 8:23 min/mile

I was SO looking forward to this run. After having Friday as a complete rest day (other than PT/strengthening stuff), I was itching to lace back up for my longest run yet in this cycle. PLUS Molly was in town and was going to join me for her first double digit run back from injury. What could go wrong? Riiiight.

I took Walter for 4 miles (and a CT sighting!) and came back to change (it poured for the first 2 miles) and get Molly. It was fun to run with Molly (and see Jenny!) but before we even hit our 5 mi turnaround point, I was already hurting. It was hot and humid and I felt like dirt. We stopped and filled our bottles just after the turnaround (Thank you, Fleet Feet!) and continued on. By the time we hit mile 12, I was suffering and couldn’t believe I still had 5 to go. Molly knew I was struggling and just kept talking to me to distract me (seriously, this girl just swoops in like my running angel every time!). When we hit the Fullerton exit from the path, we stopped to refill again and Molly agreed to go a little extra. At that point, I decided I would tough out the rest with her and then call it a day. It felt like a miracle that I made it to 15 miles, but I was really disappointed in myself for quitting when my target was 17, or at the very least 2:15, as prescribed.

So the never ending debate – knowing when to push or when to fold ’em? I was hard on myself, but Coach said I did exactly what he would have wanted in calling it. What would you have done?

photo (67)

The only pic we got, when I dropped her off at the hotel!

Sunday – Yoga

Yay for two times in one week! This class challenges me in ways that I can’t even describe and I love the way it makes me feel.

Spent the rest of the day walking around Michigan Ave with family, with the highlights being a trip to Garrett’s and Sprinkles and my first visit to the American Girl Store (that place is insane) with my nieces. Tourists in our own city!

Totals: 44 miles 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NYC Marathon Week 7: Do Work.

  1. Declan says:

    I’ve enjoyed you joining the – you ran how early? – run group! I hope you keep coming out!
    Keep up with the smart training! Your coach knows best.
    If I had that long run experience, I would walk around a different way home (off the busy path) so nobody could see me (because everyone obviously cares right???). I feel bad enough when I have to do the walk of shame to a rest room.

    Keep up the training!!

  2. Hillary says:

    I can’t believe you got up the morning after our pizza date to run! You’re a rockstar. Or a robot. Or a robot rockstar. I’m sorry about the crap-tastic long run — 😦 — but you killed your workouts this week! I’m glad the dry needling didn’t cause any lingering soreness [Note: I still shudder at the phrase “dry needling.”]

    • Corey says:

      OH, maybe I should have added that I came back from that run and took a nap for almost 2 hours before my first meeting?! haha…definitely forgot to share that! Working from home sometimes has its benefits 🙂

  3. fullrunner says:

    That’s an awesome tempo! I could never get progressive splits that close to what the plan calls for- pretty impressive.
    As for the long run dilemma – I struggle with that myself. On any type of run, is it worse to call it quits or slog through a failed workout? I never know. At least your coach thinks you made the right decision 🙂

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Okay. Finally just read like 5 of your posts (and have about 1,000 other blogs to catch up on). Seems like training is going really well. Told ya Sunday (or was that Saturday) that you were fine based on the shortened run. So glad you had fun with Molly! I know you will rock your race!! Miss you!

  5. Curious to hear your opinion on dry needling? I’ve been seeing a PT for some achilles and hip trouble and last night she suggested it, so I’ve got it tentatively scheduled for Monday, but it’s scaring the crap out of me to think of what it actually involves. Did it help? Was it super painful? Worth it??

    • Corey says:

      I have been meaning to do a post about dry needling, but that would require a little research and I am just too lazy for that 🙂

      Yes, it was painful. It took the discomfort that I have when running and multiplied it by about 10. But it only lasts for 10ish seconds max and then its over. There really was no lingering pain. There was some residual soreness the next day, but nothing different than what I have after an intense ART or Graston session. I definitely think it is worth it and I also definitely think it is helping. The treatment is the only thing from keeping the tightness from getting worse and keeping me healthy! Good luck! Let me know how it goes!

      • Haha, well, just the personal experience recap is helpful for me. I’ve been reading and researching and asking anyone who shows any spark of recognition when I mention it their thoughts. Just makes me cringe to think about it, but sounds like it will be worth it. Glad it’s helping you, hopefully it will ease the pain that starts to set in around mile 4-5 like clockwork lately ….

Tell me what you think!

