The Other Things

Last weekend, Molly and I spent a lot of time talking about about “the other things”. You know, all of those things besides running that, as runners, we can do to make us healthier, stronger and faster. I am not necessarily referring to cross-training, per say (although that is one component), but everything else. You know…

yoga, pilates, core work, strength training, swimming, biking/spinning, barre, TRX, plyometrics, the list goes on…

And then there are the maintenance things: PT, massage, chiropractic adjustments, acupuncture…

Lately I have found it all SO overwhelming. What should I be doing? How often should I be doing it? WHEN should I be doing it? And what makes it even more overwhelming is the fact that there are dozens, if not hundreds, of different kinds of strength and core workouts. Too many different types and combinations to even count.

Ultimately I know that it is personal for everyone. Each of us has to learn what works for us individually and develop a plan based on that. BUT that doesn’t mean that every time I hear/read about someone doing the Nike Training Club workouts or going to a chiropractor regularly that I don’t ask myself, “Should I be doing that?”

Right now I am running 5 days a week and have recently gotten back into a routine of doing yoga 2-3 days a week. I also have some PT-type strength exercises that I *should* be doing at least 5 days a week. But what else should I be doing?

Adding these other elements to my training isn’t a matter of having enough time in the day. For me, its more about just getting into a routine and just doing them. When I was triathlon training, throwing down a 10-12 hour training week was a regular thing, so obviously now that I am *just* running, there is still plenty of time to add the “extra” things in…but what should I prioritize? And making it a habit is just yet another factor.

This may all sound a little schizo, but that is a little bit how my mind feels about this stuff right now. I want to get faster. I want to stay healthy. And I want to feel strong. But I don’t think I have discovered the right formula for the whole package yet. If someone just told me what to do (kind of like my training plans in the past or my coach now), you can be sure I would find a way to do it. But something about the sheer number of options, has me sitting here too overwhelmed to stray outside of my current routine.

So tell me. What do you do? How did you decide what works best? Do you constantly try new things or have you dialed in what works and stick with that? Who wants to be my accountability partner to make sure we are doing all of the “other things”?

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Goals, running, training. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Other Things

  1. Declan says:

    For me it is more a time and energy thing. I always “intend” on doing more core and hip work in the evenings, but resting still trumps it. Currently, PT forces me to do it and knowing I’m paying to get worked on makes me feel more accountable to keep up with it. Plus, mentally thinking if I don’t do it now, my injury will get worse rather than better keeps me on track for the time being!

    I have a set of things I like to do, but I would love to have the time to just do yoga instead.

  2. Megan says:

    I have been trying to weight train 2x a week, but even that is ambitious for me. I have a set of exercises written down that I always do, but will often add things to list as I see fit. I’m like you, I intend on doing core/strength but usually other things trump it so my consistency is lacking. Trying to get back on the train!

  3. Meredith says:

    I just realized I REALLY need to weight train this year…this YEAR lol Do you ever actually do this regularly? I just started training for a February marathon so now probably isn’t the best time to start but maybe I will get around to it in the Spring…I am spending all my other time meditating now and doing yoga….

  4. this is so true. i am struggling to make time (well, make myself…) roll out regularly (/ever). some of it i think “depends on the person” – ie: not everyone needs PT-type exercises but definitely good for those who have had a history of an injury or known weakness. i do a lot of PT-type stuff for my back but of course not everyone needs that. personally, all i do is go to the chiro regularly (once a week). i need to be better at post-workout stretching and rolling, and i wouldn’t mind getting back in my massage habit (once a month). the weight training is a guarantee since i’ve become a crossfit lover. CF isn’t for everyone and that’s fine too. the NTC app is a good alternative to a gym membership – getting you to do squats/pushups/etc – and i think those workouts are pretty short?

  5. elizabeth says:

    you know I will be your accountability! the 100% healthy me was getting a massage once a month, chiro 1-2 month, pilates 2-4 times a week, running 4-5 days a week and squeezing in flywheel class 1-2 times week. Who knows what I will be able to do once I get back to this place.

  6. Pingback: Thoughts on Recovery |

Tell me what you think!

