NYC Marathon Week 8: Rebound

9 Weeks to go…

After last Saturday’s craptastic long run, I felt like I needed to rebound with my workouts and my (cutback) long run this week to gain some confidence back. The onset of cooler temps was a huge help with that. Not that I can complain since the summer has been mild overall, but I surely wasn’t adjusted when those hot, humid days did come. I am freaking out a little bit about how prepared I will be on November 3rd. I trust my coach and know he is getting me ready, but because of the tri racing/tapering in the early weeks and starting with a low base, I am just not near as far along as I have been at this point in the past.

Monday – Tempo 3 @ 7:05 – 7:10: 8M, 7:53 min/mile

Man, I needed this redemption after Saturday’s long run. Thank goodness for cooler temps and a day off Sunday because I definitely got it. Tempo paces: 7:05, 7:03, 6:56. I LOVE being in my A5’s…they feel so fast and these tempo miles just fly by. They aren’t easy, but I love running *fast* (for me).

After the run, I spent the morning with my sis and bro in law and nieces who were in town visiting, then met up with good friends at the Field Museum in the afternoon. A PERFECT way to end the long weekend.

IMG_7454

Um, seriously…my friend is 5 1/2 months preggers! How stunning is she?!

Tuesday – 60 min Easy: 7.2M, 8:22 min/mile

OMG…the cool weather. It was in the 50’s for this run and it felt so awesome. I took Walter for 4.5 of it since he can go further in the cool weather, then finished up around the neighborhood. My body took about 2 miles to warm-up, then after that I kept having to remind myself to keep it in the “recovery” range.

Wednesday – 2×1 mile Speed @ 6:35 – 6:40 w/2 min walk rest + drillz: 7.25M, 8:10 min/mile + yoga

I originally planned to go back to the track, but Brad and I decided to go to yoga at 6, so I did these on the lakefront instead. I am loving the cooler temps and the path is essentially deserted at 4:xx so I it felt like I had the whole Fullerton –> Oak St. Beach section to myself. Repeats: 6:35, 6:35. How’s that for consistency, even in the dark when I can’t see my watch?! These were hard and felt like each of the 2 miles draaagged on forever. And dangit! I forgot to do my drillz.

Thursday – 60 min Easy: 7.3M, 8:19 min/mile + yoga

I can usually drag my ass out of bed at ridiculously early hours, but sometimes, I just can’t. And this was one of those days. When my alarm went off at 5 a.m., I looked at the weather and saw that it wouldn’t be that much warmer a few hours later and went back to sleep for another hour and a half. These are the days I am so thankful to work from home because I called into 3 meetings and then headed out to run a little after 10. I think Lauren is onto something when she says you run faster later in the day because my legs woke up and were much more ready to go than they usually are for these recovery runs at 0’dark-thirty.

After work I met Felicia (who I met at a Fleet Feet run earlier this summer) at yoga, followed by delicious Indian Food.

Friday – OFF

My one weekday to sleep in…aaaand I had a 6:30 meeting. Blargh. Took it easy, rested, fueled, hydrated for Saturday’s (semi) long run.

Saturday – 1:45 on hills: 13M, 8:10 min/mile

One of my best friends and running buddies, Char, is in town because her dad is in the hospital. The reason she is here sucks, but I am still really loving spending time with her while she is in town. Char and I drove down to Waterfall Glen early Saturday and met up with Erin for the long run. I did one loop with them, then a small out and back of another to finish off my mileage while they continued for 20+. The pace was pretty quick on the hilly route, but we just chatted and kinda sped right along. My legs did feel great though and I was wishing I had a little more mileage on a day when I felt like I could have gone much further.

Sunday – Yoga/Ride OFF/Race Spectating + Brunching + Napping

I got up super early and picked up Tim to spectate at the Chicago half. It was a humid day for a half and I was glad I wasn’t running. We lucked into a good spot right at mile 5 & mile 12. It was fun to see everyone leaving it all out there and definitely gave me the race itch.

photo (68)

Serious cow bellin’ on Lake Shore Drive

After the race, Tim, Chanthana and I had a nice boozy brunch with Granato Racing teammate Kirtana (and her lovely friends). Aaaaand then I napped for 3 hours. Love Sunday afternoons.

Totals: 43 miles 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, running, training, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NYC Marathon Week 8: Rebound

  1. Looks solid to me! Even your easy runs are speedy! Glad you had a better long run. The tough ones are not fun, especially because of the toll they take on your confidence. You’ll be ready!

    • Corey says:

      Good catch on the easy runs. After reviewing my previous training logs, my coach thought this was one place where I could make some improvements. I am doing my easy runs between 8:20-8:30. May seem quick and sometimes it takes a little effort to wake my legs up and “get there” but generally once I do, it is a pretty relaxed and *easy* effort for me. Thanks for the encouragement!!!

  2. Looks like you’re doing great to me! (in my expert opinion, haha!) Glad to hear that cooler temps have come back, crossing my fingers it keeps moving in that direction through October 13th!

  3. I’m totally falling apart this week, hardly doing any of my runs. Not sure what changed from just a few weeks ago, but I am hoping maybe the cut back will allow for a good 20 miler this weekend so I can get going again!

    • Corey says:

      Probably your body just telling you it needs a little break. You have been going super strong, so it won’t hurt you at all! Have a great 20-miler. I am attempting 18 for the first time!

  4. erin says:

    Super week! You are so speedy and will definitely be ready for NYC! I’m pretty pumped about the cooler temps that arrived today in MSP. Going for my first run post IM tonight… hopefully my legs cooperate! 🙂

Tell me what you think!

