NYC Marathon Week 10: Broken

6 Weeks to go…

Definitely not the kind of recap that I would like to be posting at 6 weeks out. Training started slowly in the early weeks and just as I was gaining confidence and building to where I felt like I should be, things came crashing down.

Monday – Tempo 4 @ 7:10: 5.5M, 7:51 min/mile yoga

Ahh. The heartbreaking run.

Tuesday – 1:20 min Easy OFF

Long day of meetings at O’Hare, then a flight out of Midway that night. I really could have used some miles to start this crazy and stressful day.

Wednesday – Speed: 10×400 @ 5k pace OFF

All the wine…

IMG_2020

At Whitehall Lane – Tasting #2

IMG_1235

At Silver Oak – Tasting #3

Thursday – 1 hr Easy OFF

Drive from Napa to Carmel, then along Hwy 1. on the coast down to Big Sur.

IMG_8274

Lunch with a view

IMG_4846

Outtakes from a photo opp

Friday – OFF 30 min recumbent bike + 30 min elliptical

I started on the bike, just to warm up the calf and in case the elliptical bothered it at all. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I had zero pain on either.

Followed the solid sweat session up with more wine tastings at a wine walk with the bride & groom and family in Carmel.

Saturday – 2:10, w/last 2 Tempo 2:10 elliptical

Not ideal, but also better than nothing, right?

photo (73)

#Proof (?)

Followed by dancing at the beach at the wedding reception all afternoon…

photo (74)

that’s not me dancing though…I swear

Sunday – 40 min Easy, 4M, ~9:00 min/mile

The first 2 miles were great. The second 2 not so much. But at least I got to explore California on foot once before I left.

Totals: 9.5 miles (womp, womp)

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, injuries, running, training, Travel, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NYC Marathon Week 10: Broken

  1. glad you at least had a wonderful vacation

  2. elizabeth says:

    need that dress and glad you drank all the wine. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

