The Best Day

I thought it was a really unfortunate and ironic coincidence last Monday when I got hurt on my run on the exact same day that I had the opportunity to submit my registration for my very first Boston Marathon. It definitely took away from my excitement that day.

But in an equally ironic, perfectly opposite coincidence, I got confirmation of acceptance into Boston on the day that I had my first successful run since straining my calf 10 days ago.

20130925-145122.jpg

This morning I ran 6.5 miles nearly pain free miles! I still have some slight dull tightness/pain in the calf but no more than 3/10 on the pain scale and it didn’t appear to get sharper or more noticeable as time went on. If I weren’t so conscious of “does it hurt???” every second I probably wouldn’t think much of it at all. But i spent the majority of the run checking in with myself and the pain (or lack of). The rest of the time, I just kept reminding myself how lucky I was to be running and being so thankful that I was back out there so soon after what I thought could have been a season ending injury.

Am I completely out of the woods? I’m not sure. Tomorrow could feel even better as it has day by day or I could be sore and set back in the healing process. We’ll see. I hope by following the PT’s strict instructions I am headed in the right direction.

And no matter what, I will be enjoying every second of the news I got today about Boston! (And looking for a place to stay!)

As Coach said to me last week: “Onward and Upward”.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in family, friends, Goals, injuries, Races, running, training, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Best Day

  1. Terzah says:

    Congrats, Corey! I’m very happy for you (both about Boston and the injury abating).

  2. Stephanie says:

    So excited for you!!!! Hope your calf is on the mend because I cannot wait to see you in NYC so soon!

  3. elizabeth says:

    yay to both the running painfree and boston!! so much to fill you in on…maybe I will come cheer yall on next year?!?!?!

  4. Meredith says:

    Great news Corey!!! Try to take it easy though ya hear???

  5. Beth says:

    Congratulations on getting into Boston!!! Glad you had a pain free run!

  6. Steph says:

    Congrats! That’s really exciting 🙂

  7. yay!! that’s so incredibly exciting! congrats on the payoff for all of the hard work you put in to get there!

  8. So awesome about Boston! I’m hoping to come and cheer- and maybe run the 5k!

  9. Stephanie says:

    Congrats on a pain free run and getting into Boston yay!

  10. congrats on boston!!! fingers crossed you are still feeling good

  11. Pingback: NYC Marathon Week 11: Healing |

  12. erin says:

    So awesome! A pain-free run and Boston… CONGRATS!!

Tell me what you think!

