NYC Marathon Week 13: New Orleans + Chicago Fun

3 Weeks to go…

I can’t even express how great it was to be back to a (somewhat) full week of running. Was it the peak week that I envisioned when I started this cycle? No, definitely not. But I was able to incorporate some speed back into the schedule and get a long workout done Saturday with no pain. I don’t feel like I am ready to run a marathon, but I am certainly healthy enough to run one and that makes me very, very happy. I was in New Orleans for work all week so that wasn’t ideal, but it worked out okay.

Monday – 1 hr Easy: 7M, 8:35 min/mile

Ran before my flight on Monday afternoon. Everything felt a little creaky at the start since I had done my long run on Sunday the week before. Everything felt a little tight at the start, but loosened up eventually and it was a nice, easy run.

Tuesday – Tempo w/ 3M @ 7:10: 7.5M, 8:10 min/mile

I had to get up early in New Orleans and run this in the dark. I was a bit nervous about safety but tons of people (locals) assured me that I would be fine running along the riverfront at 6 a.m. I warmed up and felt really good, but I was a little unsure of where I was going, so eventually I jumped in behind two guys running by and told them I was going to follow them since they appeared to know the route. They happily allowed me to run alongside them and chatted with me for a bit. My instructions were to “ease into the tempo” and I did that naturally as I ran with my two new friends. I forgot to lap my watch after the warm up so the first tempo “mile” was really only a little over half of a mile. I ran with the guys back to the church where they work (one was the pastor) and then finished the tempo on my own. I guess I ended up with only a little over 2 1/2 fast miles total, but I was hurting by the end so I didn’t push it. 7:48, 7:23, 7:14. That was about enough for me and a bit disappointing based on where I was a few weeks ago. Coach assured me I was just “shaking off the rust”.

Wednesday – 1 hr Cross: 1:00 elliptical + light upper body strength

Hotel gym, felt good to sweat out the drinks from the previous night’s dinner and fun.  

Thursday – Speed w/6×800 @ 3:20: 7.5M, *28 min/mile

I slept in a little and didn’t get out to run these until it was really starting to warm-up. There is no shade or water fountains along the riverfront and I regretted not bringing water with me. I felt nice and loose on the warm up and the first 3-4 repeats felt good. My legs were tired from being on my feet ALL DAY on Wednesday but from a pace perspective, they were manageable. By the 6th repeat, it was hot and I was really thirsty. Instead of pushing it and killing myself, I took two walk breaks in the middle of the last repeat. Definitely not how I like to finish a workout, but I just didn’t feel like it was worth it to push through right now. Repeats: 3:19, 3:20, 3:20, 3:19, 3:20, 3:21<–not including breaks.

Friday – OFF

Got a stupid little amount of sleep since I had to get up at 4:45 for my flight home. Luckily I crashed on the two flights home for about 3 hours total. Ended my day with a lovely chat over coffee with Jenny after her PT session followed by moving into our master bedroom FOR THE FIRST TIME. We did some remodeling on our house after moving in and the bathroom was just finished. So despite being exhausted, I was happy to be moving stuff in and getting it all set up!

Saturday – 2:00 long run + 1hr bike: 15M, 8:18 min/mile + 16M bike

The run started slow and my legs didn’t finally wake up until mile 6ish. Once they did, I felt awesome. It was a beautiful (yet windy) day on the lakefront and I loved seeing all the Chicago Marathon runners out doing their shakeout runs and enjoying the views. I finished the run with 6 miles under 8:10 and the last 3 under 8:00. It was a good boost after the full week of workouts. After the run I quickly changed and was on the bike in less than 10 minutes. To avoid what happened last week on a crowded path, I rode north toward Evanston. I wasn’t even 15 minutes into the ride when I realized I had a flat tire. It took me about 15 minutes to get it changed and I was a huge greasy mess when I got done. I got the hour ride in but couldn’t go any longer because I was running late for a hair cut appointment. I definitely was not loving the bike that day.

Spent the rest of the day doing more moving and organizing in the house but capped it off with a really fun evening with my Granato Racing and Chicago running buddies.

photo 2

Sunday – 1:00 bike: 45 min trainer ride

Chicago Marathon spectating madness. We cheered all morning, making our way to miles 2, 9 and 16. It was a great morning of run love, getting me excited for the marathon environment but feeling totally nervous and unprepared about my race in only 3 short weeks.

photo (80)

Great Day for running buddy Erin!

After spectating and catching up with everyone at the finish, I went home to squeeze in my cross training before the #birdsandbros party hosted by Coach Kevin and Oiselle. It was a quick sweaty ride and I was glad to get it in, despite being a little late for the fun later.

The party was a blast. I love meeting twitter friends in person and putting real life people to blog and online personalities!

photo 1

Totals: 37 miles 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, injuries, running, training, Travel, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NYC Marathon Week 13: New Orleans + Chicago Fun

  1. I can’t believe how close we are getting!! So glad you are feeling better, and I hope you continue to heal!

  2. Beth says:

    I loved how you guys ended up running with two guys when you were in New Orleans! I had a couple of friends running Chicago this year – I love that race!! I’m soooo excited for your upcoming marathon – you are going to kill it!

  3. So glad you’re back on track! I’m hoping that spectating at NYC will get me pumped for my race a few weeks after… I need to find my confidence again!

  4. elizabeth says:

    doubling up on comments: THAT was the bike crash you were talking about?? I’m so behind. I’m a terrible friend. WTF is wrong with people. Reading these posts and then adding in how well you ran this weekend made me giggle- coach was right- you were just shaking of the dust or whatever he said. We never really talked about nola-hope you ate somewhere fabulous. 🙂 excited for NYC for you.

  5. ErinAMG says:

    Totally belated, but I was really happy to see your sunshiney face after CM! though that picture of me with you… I look all sorts of ridiculous… 😉 NYCM is goin to be a blast!

Tell me what you think!

