NYC Marathon Week 14: Chasing the Bourbon

2 Weeks to go…

This was an interesting week. In a normal training cycle, I would be tapering, but of course since I basically had 2.5 weeks of cut back during peak training, Coach thought that we should train through it a bit more than usual. It felt really good to run “fast” again now that the rust is kind of shaken out. And ending the week relaying with great running friends just can’t be beat!

Monday – Tempo Run w/3-4 mi @ 7:10-7:25: 9M, 7:48 min/mile

After Sunday’s party (and all day funday), this run was definitely not happening early in the morning. I slept in and got out to run at lunch. It was a lovely day for a run and I was happy to get my legs going. After my warmup miles and some drills, I started in on the tempo miles. It was weird because I was hitting the paces I wanted to hit, but I didn’t feel smooth and fast like I felt like I should at those paces. Without the watch telling me what the pace was, I would have guessed I was 30+ seconds off. The good news was that I didn’t really start to feel like the pace was difficult until mile 3.5. With only 800 m left, I just told myself to push through, but that last 1/2 mile was tough: 7:15, 7:11, 7:06, 7:06. 

Tuesday – 1:00 Easy: 7M, 8:34 min/mile

I am not sure where my early morning motivation went, but it’s definitely gone. I turned off my alarm and slept until I had to get up for an 8 a.m. meeting. After the meeting I did some emails and finally headed out for the run around 9:30 (bonus of working from home). It was a weird run. I got a bad side cramp around mile 1.5 that lasted around a mile and half. I had Walter with me so his quick bathroom stop helped, but I just had to really focus on controlling my breathing and breathe it out. I felt better for the middle miles, but it came back again around 5.5 for almost another mile. Not really sure what caused it, but my body just may be trying to tell me to ease up a little. Best part about this run? Walter ran 6 miles and still had energy at the end! This ties the furthest he has ever gone.

Wednesday – 1:00 Cross: 1:00 bike trainer

With kind of a crazy day of meetings and house stuff, I didn’t finally get this workout in until around 6 p.m. My legs felt like they needed a break, so I was glad to have a cross day instead of an easy run, and I knew that spinning them out would help more than doing nothing. I took it really easy and watched this week’s episode of Black List (um, so good!) and afterward all the weird aches from earlier in the day felt much, much better.

Thursday – Speed w/ 2×1 mi @ sub-6:45: 6M, 8:15 min/mile

There are so many reasons I thought this run might be a disaster. It was pouring rain, my stomach had been iffy the night before, my legs felt fatigued the day before and I hadn’t really pushed hard in a speed workout in a LONG time. Once I got out the door, I remembered that running in the rain is kind of fun! I warmed up for 15 min, did some drillz, then jumped into the miles. My instructions were to ease into them and try to negative split. On both of them I probably took it a little TOO easy on the first 800 and had some time to make up on the back end. Splits were 6:43 & 6:41 with the second 800’s being ~7 seconds faster than the first. The second half of both HURT, bad and I had a brief “I might throw up” moment after the second one. Man, I missed that kind of workout 🙂

Friday & Saturday – Bourbon Chase18M, 7:38 avg. pace

Dedicated post will come. This one may take a while…no words to describe how much fun!

photo (3)

The Start.

Sunday – OFF

Totals: 40 miles 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, injuries, Races, running, training, Travel, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NYC Marathon Week 14: Chasing the Bourbon

  1. Good training week if you ask me!

  2. awesome week!! an 18m race that sounds fun!!

  3. Steph says:

    I bet that was fun! My running group is talking about doing that next year 🙂

  4. Wow! Speedy 18 miles! I’m excited for you… hoping to catch a glimpse of you as a spectator at NYC!

    • Corey says:

      That was broken out over 3 runs in a relay! I am working on the recap, but it is taking a while 🙂 I hope to see you in NYC. Let me know where to look for you!

  5. elizabeth says:

    chasing the bourbon…. ready to do it all again this weekend 😦

Tell me what you think!

