NYC Marathon Week 15: Taper Time

1 Week to go…

Holy moly! I can’t believe it is so close. This week we dove head first into taper and it appears to be working. I want to run mooooore.

Monday – OFF

Two rest days in a row after Bourbon Chase. I wanted to run so bad, but it ended up working out well that I didn’t have anything on the schedule. Brad and I were up at 4:30 to drop off the dogs and catch flights (to two different destinations). Despite being in a middle seat (darn last minute booking), I took full advantage of the 4 hour flight to San Francisco and slept for a solid 3.5 hours. After my meetings a colleague and I skipped the obligatory hotel email session and did the touristy thing around San Fran.

san fran

The HILLS! The Golden Gate is somewhere under that fog. And Alcatraz, as seen from the Embarcadero.

Tuesday – 45 min Easy: 5.5M, 8:22 min/mile

I was actually only in San Francisco for something like 23 hours. The airport sits right on the bay and since my hotel was near the airport, there was a running path right outside the door. It was dark and foggy, but there were plenty of runners and walkers out so I felt safe. I couldn’t see my watch much so I was happy to see that the “easy” pace was in the low range of where it should be. My legs felt fresh and ready to go after sitting in a car and on an airplane 2 days in a row.

Wednesday – 45 min Easy: 5.6M, 8:24 min/mile

I woke up with every intention of doing this run before my first meeting, but I checked the weather and at 32 degrees, my bed sounded much more appealing. I actually don’t mind cold running weather, in fact, I prefer it, but it kind of snuck up on me and I just don’t know if I am ready yet. Plus, this was mid-January weather in Greenville, not October. After multiple delays in trying to get out to run, including waiting for the Habitat for Humanity people to come pick up appliances we are donating (and then witnessing the shit show that occurred while they were trying to load them), I finally hit the path around 1:30. I decided to put my Garmin on the time screen so that I would only see pace when I hit the mile splits. I am planning to do this at NYC and want to start locking in on my pace. It wasn’t as successful as I hoped, as my splits were anywhere from 8:10 to 8:40 and I felt like I was running an even pace. But I felt pretty good overall. I am at that point where it takes a solid 5 miles to warm up at an easy pace, so just when I started feeling good, the run was over. hmmph…taper.

Thursday – Speed w/ 3×1000 @ 4:06: 6.6M, 8:00 min/mile

A 7 a.m. teleconference meant the 2nd day in a row of a midday run. My only instructions for this workout (outside of the prescribed pace and distance) was to NOT KILL THIS WORKOUT. It was meant to keep me sharp, not fatigued. I went out to the track around lunchtime and since it was light out, I was able to warm up on the paved trails in the nearby park. It’s a perfect setup, but the surrounding neighborhoods aren’t great so I wouldn’t venture in the park in the dark. It was chilly and windy and took a bit to warm-up. The repeats: 4:04, 4:12, 4:07. A tad inconsistent but I was trying to go on feel and keep it relaxed, as instructed. Generally overall I felt good, especially in the warm-up and cool down miles, where a solid pace seems to come easily lately.

Friday – OFF

Slept until 8, had a productive work day and started reading and re-reading NYC course prep articles.

Saturday – 1:20 Easy w/1M @ GMP: 10M, 8:18 min/mile

The colder temps make sleeping in a little bit on Saturday mornings nice. I started a little before 9 and tested out the new team singlet with arm warmers. Aaaaand I was by far the least dressed person on the lakefront path. It wasn’t because everyone else was overdressed. I was a bit cold the whole time and was ready to get done and get warm. Definitely should have worn gloves – temps were where they should be Sunday but the wind was cold. Noted.

I didn’t feel bad, but I also didn’t feel great…typical taper run. You think “it’s only 10 miles!” and that you will finish feeling like you could run 16.2 more like it ain’t no thang. I don’t know about you, but that’s never how these runs go for me. I was a bit more consistent with my splits than earlier in the week, despite not knowing pace until the end of every mile. My “test” mile by effort at MGP was 7:55, which is right on the high end of where I would be happy to be Sunday.

The rest of the day (and weekend) was spent laying tile in our basement.

Sunday – OFF

More basement tiling. Not my idea of Sunday Funday. But we finished and saved a ton of money by doing it ourselves.

photo (84)

Totals: 29 miles 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, injuries, running, training, Travel, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NYC Marathon Week 15: Taper Time

  1. Are you going to make it to the meet up? I really want to see you!!! If I don’t good luck this weekend, you’ve put in the work for an amazing race.

    • Corey says:

      Hey!! Sorry for the late reply! I am going to a close friend’s house to meet her fiancé for the first time and have brunch but I think that’s going to be a little later (noonish) so I definitely am planning to come by, even if it’s just for coffee/tea and to say hi!!

  2. Jenny says:

    Hey girl heyyyy! Ok, first. I’m pretty sure I’ve stayed at that same hotel in San Fran for work—and that path is awesome. I ran at 5 am there last fall and was happy I didn’t roll my ankle while doing sprints on the sections that aren’t paved. 🙂 Second, ahhh! Race day is almost here! I just signed up to track you.

  3. evamadera says:

    I’m so glad that training is going well for you! I absolutely love running in San Francisco and am a bit addicted to the San Francisco Marathon (both the halves and the full). You’ve got this race in the bag!

  4. ErinAMG says:

    so happy to hear that things are looking (feeling?) up for you. you’re gonna have an excellent NYCM experience!! xo

Tell me what you think!

