NYC Marathon Week 16: Race Week!

0 Weeks to go…IT’S HERE!

It seems a little silly to post this now that the race report is done and training is over, but figured I would go ahead and finish up the training recaps, and especially since there are lovely pictures in here from how I spent the first few days in NYC!

Monday – 1:00 Easy: 7.15M, 8:24 min/mile

Lunch run after a morning of meetings. And another test of putting my watch on the time screen only. The first couple of miles were all over the place, then I settled in and found a good rhythm right in the 8:18 – 8:24 range. I was completely OVER the wind by the time I was done with this run and wondering how I am going to make it through winter training. (PDR for Walter today = 6.3 miles!)

Tuesday – “Speed” w/1M @ MGP, 2×800 @ 10k pace, 4×400 @ 10k pace: 7.7M, 8:10 min/mile

Theme of my training these days = sleeping in. Fortunately I didn’t have any morning meetings so I headed out around 8:30. The wind was worse than the day before and my ALL CAPS “DO NOT KILL THIS WORKOUT” instructions from coach were in the back of my head as I did the 1M and first 800 right into the wind. I definitely didn’t feel like I was *holding back* on those like he said I should. Once I headed back North and the wind was at my back, it felt much more like I hoped. 1M: 7:48, 800’s: 3:27, 3:26, 400’s: 1:44, 1:41, 1:44, 1:43. It was a little tough to get locked into a pace, especially on the 400’s where I felt like I started too slow, picked it up and then had to back off to not go to fast.

Wednesday – 20 – 25 min Easy: 3M, 8:31 min/mile

Mid morning run. Lucky me that the shortest run I have had in ?? and it was the first day that it wasn’t super windy! I wanted to keep goinggggg!!

Thursday – 20 – 25 min Easy: 3M, 8:18 min/mile

Brad and I had breakfast before he left for a work trip (overnight to Des Moines and then landing and leaving again to NYC Friday!). I started taking my carb loading seriously, so the Belgium waffle I had was sitting heavy in my stomach by the time I went to run a few hours later. Because I am really cool, I got a little Halloween-y for my run.

photo 2 (3)

There was no one else even out on the Lake Front because it was raining, but Walter wore his rain coat, so he was cool too.

photo 1 (1)

He is clearly thrilled to be wearing it too.

Thursday evening I flew to NYC and was a bit delayed and STARVING when I landed so it was after midnight before my head finally hit the pillow.

Friday – OFF

I spent Thursday night with this lovely girl so when I got up Friday, we chatted, I worked for a while and then I headed from Astoria over to the expo and met up with Coach for a quick race strategy session over lunch.

photo 2

Andrea & I…actually taken post-race.

After lunch I expo’d w/Erin & Lynton.

photo 5

Then I had dinner filled with tons of chatting all things running and blogging with Steph, Beth, Abby with a surprise visit by Allison.

nyc girls

Stolen from Steph’s blog

Saturday – 20 min Shakeout w/5×30 sec strides: 3M, 8:18 avg.

I had trouble falling asleep Friday night so I slept in well past 9, then went out for my shakeout. I ran from my hotel over to the West Side Highway, did the striders there and ran back to the hotel. It was MUCH warmer than I expected, but I felt good. Fresh, springy and ready to run.

Sunday – NYC Marathon: 3:33:37

Totals: 50 miles 

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, injuries, running, training, Travel, triathlon, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NYC Marathon Week 16: Race Week!

  1. I still get chills reading about the NYCM! What an amazing event, seriously!

  2. Hillary says:

    1) You *are* cool for that Halloween outfit; but 2) Walter is the coolest for his.

  3. That picture of Walter is the cutest thing EVER

  4. elizabeth says:

    omg. walter. seeing him all dressed up is adding to my “want” list of getting a dog. and love your socks 🙂

Tell me what you think!

