Friday Fun V

We are now going on 10 weeks that I have been doing my every other Friday “Things I Love” posts. I am not sure how much you all like reading like the randomness that is the result, but I have found that making an effort to write this post forces me stop and think of all the things that make me happy during the week. A completely unexpected outcome for me but a good reminder to proverbially “stop and smell the roses”.

  1. This video. This was from the holidays and I forgot to share it. Ernie walking in his boots made the whole family laugh for days. (not sure why the video is displaying so big?) 
  2. Hills. Coach believes that for us flatlanders, the only way to truly prepare for a hilly marathon is to run 70-80% of long runs on hills (duh?). It isn’t easy to find hills near the city, but we do have a few options within 30-45 minutes drive. Last weekend, Jenny, CT and I headed west to Morton Arboretum for our long run. It was a ton of fun, all day affair that included “brunch” (at 3 p.m.) at IHOP.

    photo 2 (7)

    The view from inside the warm cafe in the Arboretum.

  3. Winter thaw. After the arctic vortex came and went, we had a legit thawing out in Chicago. After the crazy cold temps, highs in the upper 30’s truly felt balmy. The city did turn into somewhat of a muddy, slushy mess but it was nice not to be confined to the treadmill or have a freezing face from walking 2 blocks.

    photo 1 (6)

    Warmer temps = Ice breaking up.

  4.  Orange is the New Black. Last weekend Brad was out of town on a guys’ snowboarding trip so I indulged in many hours on the couch watching all 13 episodes of this somewhat disturbing, but certainly entertaining show. It was fabulous.
  5. 4 Years. Yesterday was our 4-year wedding anniversary. In some ways that amazing day in Costa Rica feels like just yesterday, _MG_1615but we have experienced so much in the last 4 years (including 2 moves, loss of family members, weddings, the birth of 3 nieces, trips, job changes, 5 marathons, 2 Half Ironmans, this list goes on) that it also feels like ages ago. I will save all of the nice {cheesy} things I want to say for him, but I will say that I look forward to many, many more years and adventures together. (And since we are talking about things that make me happy I won’t dwell on my 6 a.m. departure and 10 p.m. arrival home from Peoria yesterday…or that Walter’s dislike of me being gone all day led him to pee in a very inconvenient place).
  6. Long Weekends. Monday is a holiday for my company, making this a nice little long weekend. And since Brad and I are celebrating our anniversary by taking a short snowboarding trip to Keystone next weekend, it will be a short 3-day week sandwiched between two long weekends.
  7.  Work. Funny I just talked about how much I am excited about not working and now I am going to talk about how I am happy about working. I have mentioned several times lately that work has been slow since October. I don’t mind having plenty of extra time to run or go to yoga during the day (obviously), but I also feel pretty guilty about not having more to contribute. So I am happy that as of the second half of this week, things seem to be picking back up and I will also be adding a new project to my workload in February. I love when the days fly by because I am so busy.
  8. Flowers. This was a last minute addition as these just arrived this afternoon.

    photo (91)

    Anniversary Flowers

I hope everyone has a great weekend and that you all get an extra day off as well!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Ernie, Friday Fun, friends, life, Nieces and Nephews, running, the lake, training, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Friday Fun V

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Happy anniversary! Congrats! I too was loving the thaw this week. Although the past few days when the water changed to ice has made running a tad scary. Going to have to check out Morton!

    • Corey says:

      I know, right? The weather has been a bit Jeckel and Hyde lately making running either a muddy mess or a slippery scary adventure. At this point, I think we are stuck with that until spring?

      • sarahdudek80 says:

        As long as we don’t get -38 again I will try to deal with whatever comes along. New Years day was an funny one to run in all the piles of snow that no one bothered shoveling!

  2. Beth says:

    Happy Anniversary!!! OMG – I loved that video, I had to watch it a couple of times I was laughing so hard. That was a crazy pic of Chicago – you guys must have been in a deep freeze!!! Burrrr…

  3. That video of your pup is SO funny! Love it haha.
    My roomie got me hooked on Orange is the New Black in the Fall, and I blazed through it like you. Then I borrowed the book from a friend- and now I’m anxious for season 2!

  4. I know we will be celebrating 6 years in march and I can’t believe how much has happened!!! I really miss hills, seriously that sounds odd but it’s so true! I have just been doing a lot more inclines on the treadmill.

  5. erin says:

    Happy anniversary! So fun you got married in Costa Rica! One of my favorite places I’ve ever been (the bf and I were talking about getting hitched there, too!) 🙂 Cutest pup video ever!

  6. elizabeth says:

    The random posts are some of my favorite. You “learn” so much more about the blogger. 🙂 Olive needs Ernie’s boots!! And a big Happy Anniversary to yall! I hope to find exactly what yall have one day- a loving, trusting and well-balanced relationship. Love yall!

  7. What a beautiful wedding pic! Happy anniversary- a snowboarding trip sounds awesome. Beautiful flowers, too!

  8. MILF Runner says:

    Happy Anniversary! Hills make you stronger 🙂 #truth

  9. Pingback: Boston Week 3: Five! |

  10. so i’m way behind per usual, but HAPPIEST of anniversaries!! and seriously, ernie in those boots made me snort water. hope y’all have/had a great trip!

Tell me what you think!

