Boston Week 3: Five!

14 weeks to go…

I was finally back to 5 days of running this week for the first time since before I got hurt in September! That is a great feeling. The not so great thing this week was blowing off strength training a few times. Life & laziness got in the way, so I need to make a more focused effort, even as training continues to ramp up. Overall it was the best week I have had yet!

Monday:

  • Run: Tempo w/2 mi @ 7:10 – 7:20: 7.5M, 8:01 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 2 + 2×15 Single Leg Squat (as warm-up)

This was kind of a crazy morning. Our friend Andy was in town and Brad was leaving for a day trip to Milwaukee so I made breakfast and we all chatted until they both left. When Andy got outside he realized his car was stuck in the snow/ice that melted over the weekend. As I was going outside to help him get it out, I noticed that the carpet guys who came by that morning tracked dog shit all through the house. We literally chiseled his car out and I cleaned up the crap before I could sit down to work. #life

After finally getting some work done in the morning, I did my warm-up and headed out around lunchtime. I was way over dressed for the run and definitely didn’t need and ear warmer and gloves. The meltdown also meant the lakefront was a muddy, wet mess. I ended up covered in mud all the way up to my watch! Tempo miles felt good: 7:05, 6:57 but my legs felt dead on the cool down I was glad to be done.

Tuesday:

  • Run: 1 hr Easy: 7.2M, 8:22 avg.
  • Strength: Hunger Games Legs None. Womp.

A little run commute home from the car dealership. My legs felt light and running felt easy. Why this happens on random days, I don’t know? I had to pull back to keep it in easy range throughout the run. I can only hope this is how my legs show up for key workouts the rest of the cycle…and of course on race day.

I planned to get my strength workout in later in the day, but I got lazy and it never happened.

Wednesday:

  • Workout: 30 min Easy: 3.6M, ~8:30 avg.
  • Strength: Yoga

Run commute to pick up my car. Thankfully the wind switched directions from Tuesday and was once again at my back for my point-to-point run. Wind from the North means Lake Michigan gets angry.

photo 1 (7)

Waves coming up and over the wall where people can normally run/walk.

Don’t let the sunny day fool you, it was much colder than it was the last two gloomy days before this one.

Brad and I went to the 7:30 p.m. yoga class again and it was a perfect sweaty hour on the mat.

Thursday:

  • Run: Speed: 4-5 x 800 @ 3:25: 6.6M, 8:15 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 2 + 2×15 Single Leg Squat (as warm-up) None

This is one of those days that it would have been much easier to just blow off the workout and chalk it up to “no time”. But Boston (!!). I found out late Wednesday afternoon that I needed to be in Peoria by 10 a.m. on Thursday. To avoid hitting traffic and making myself late, I left my house at 6:15. In the summer I would have run before I left but dark + ice + speedwork = potential disaster. I worked all day in Peoria and when I left the office at 5:30, I decided it was best to get the run in before driving home. I went to a local high school track and ran in the mostly darkness. It was actually cathartic and felt good to move after being idle all day. Repeats: 3:21, 3:23, 3:22, 3:21, 3:20. The pace actually felt pretty comfortable and I was surprised at how my body responded. The downside? Getting in a car for 3 hours with only a little stretching in the cold after speedwork was a BAD idea. My right leg/hip/butt was really, really angry about this.

Friday:

  • Workout: 50 Min Easy Trainer Ride
  • Strength: Yoga

I woke up and my right side was still pretty angry after the whole speed work + car ride situation. I did tons of foam rolling and lacrosse ball sitting and finally after an easy spin on the training plus more rolling, it started to loosen up. Yoga probably would have felt amazing but the whole work thing plus dinner plans prevented that from happening. In the end it might not have been a bad thing to give it a little break before Saturday’s long run.

Saturday:

  • Run: 1:45 flat w/Optional 1M tempo: 13M, 8:09 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 2 + 2×15 Single Leg Squat + 2×20 Leg Raises Against the Wall (as warm-up)

Maybe eating at an Argentinian Steakhouse the night before my long run wasn’t ideal?! My stomach was a little iffy for the first few miles, but thankfully it settled down and I didn’t have to make a pit stop. Since my right side had been tight in the few days before, I did some extra warm-up/strength stuff before heading out. I am glad I did because it made getting out the door easier (I was sweating from my layers!) and my hamstring and glute felt good on the run. I felt good enough to attempt the 1M tempo in mile 12 and even though I to fight for it, especially when I turned back into the wind, it was 7:09. The last cool-down mile felt like a slog after that. 

Sunday:

  • Workout: OFF
  • Strength: None Yoga

Normally I would take Sunday completely off, but I was craving yoga since I only went once earlier in the week. Brad and I went to a 10 a.m. class and it felt AMAZING. Exactly what my body needed.

Miles: 37.9

Treadmill runs: 0 (whoo!)

Total Runs on the ‘mill this winter: 3

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, family, friends, running, training, walter, weekly recap, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Boston Week 3: Five!

  1. ErinAMG says:

    ‘but Boston.’ say no more. 🙂 another great week!

  2. Jenny says:

    Dude! Crazy solid week! I think at this point, it goes without saying that brunch happened post-long run. Because… #duh!

  3. You are on track for a very good training cycle!

    Thanks for the comment on my blog about your experience with injury and cross training – it really gave me a boost! I appreciate it! I feel so strong from the cross training so I don’t see why it wouldn’t translate!

  4. elizabeth says:

    OMG. Your hip, post run=welcome to my life. Damn the driving for work! I need to now get my ass off the couch and on the foam roller. Starting back at yoga…asap!

  5. Beth says:

    Great job on training this week! I loved the pic of Lake Michigan, I have never seen it like that before. Enjoy the next round of the arctic blast weather. 🙂

  6. errr your monday sounds well…interesting, but beyond that awesome week of training. I love reading your recaps because it does make me want to push myself!

  7. Thinking about the drive after your speed work made my hips ache in sympathy. I’ve hopped in the car to drive to Birmingham directly after a hard run before and ohhhhhh, the discomfort. Glad you were able to work it out!

    • Corey says:

      I am glad I am not the only one who has this problem!!! When I stay on top of rolling and stuff, it is fine, but as soon as I let it tighten up…OUCH.

  8. You are one tough chick! That kind of cold would send me crying back into bed. I’m a SoCal wuss. :-/

Tell me what you think!

