Boston Week 4: On the Road

13 weeks to go…

I knew going in that this would be a crazy week. Fortunately it started with a holiday, but that was followed by a thwarted overnight business trip and ended with a long weekend in Keystone. It was still a pretty good week overall, but just not the “traditional” week of training.

Monday:

  • Run: Broken Tempo: 1.5M @ 7:10 + 4 x 20 – 30 sec hill sprints + 1.5M @ 7:10: 7.9M, 8:07 avg.
  • Strength: Leg raises against the wall (as warm-up) + Yoga

Since I first saw this workout in my calendar, I was simultaneously dreading it and sort of looking forward to it. I ended up loving this run! I felt super strong on the tempo miles, even after the hill sprints (which I did at Cricket Hill). Tempo paces: 7:05, 7:02 (0.5), 6:54, 7:00 (0.5). 

I came home from the run, cooled down, changed and headed to yoga. During class, I not-so-gracefully fell out of a headstand barrel roll style…right into another girl in class. It kind of hurt and I felt really, really bad. As I apologized profusely, the girl was as sweet as could be and said she had done it plenty of times. Derp.

Tuesday:

It snowed overnight and was 5* with -15* windchill so I was back on the treadmill for the first time in over a week. There isn’t much to say about this run. I watched Monday night’s Bachelor (guilty pleasure!) on my iPad, which helped with the boredom. My hammy was a little tight, despite being inside the warm gym, but felt better toward the end.

As always, being in the gym makes it super easy to follow the workout with strength. This was once again a solid lower body session…grandma hips!

Wednesday:

  • Workout: 40 min Easy: 5M, 8:30 avg.
  • Strength: Upper Body Strength 1.5 sets of bicep curls. womp.

One might think that flying to Virginia would result in a chance to escape the snow and bitter temps. One also might think if you plan to fly to Norfolk and the flight departs for Norfolk, that is where you would end up. Our pilot tried to land twice and got within 50 yards of landing, but with no visibility, a slick runway and instability due to wind, we had to pull back up both times. It was easily the scariest flight experience I have ever had. We diverted to Greensboro, which really threw off my work situation since I couldn’t get to Norfolk until early afternoon. I also got to the hotel in Greensboro around 1:30 a.m. and had a hard time winding down. I finally fell asleep sometime after 2:00 which made my 7 a.m. alarm a little rough. I ran easy on the treadmill and started my upper body workout when I was pulled away to get updated on everything work-wise that I was missing.

Thursday:

  • Run: Speed: 8×400 @ 1:35: 6.5M, 8:41 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 1 + Leg raises against the wall x 25 + Yoga

It was -1* with a windchill of -20ish when I started this run. In hindsight, I probably should have done this inside, but with 2 treadmill runs already this week and knowing Coach’s preference for outdoor speedwork, I decided to brave the temps. I warmed up and actually felt okay at the beginning, but speeding up on the 400’s, then walking the rest intervals, plus getting sweaty made me really cold as time went on. I tried to focus on effort and not worry about the pace, since my body was frozen. Repeats: 1:34, 1:36, 1:34, 1:38, 1:33, 1:35, 1:34, 1:37. When I got home and looked at the data, I was pleasantly surprised by the paces not being THAT far off. It’s pretty easy to tell that the even numbered ones were going north and against the wind, since they were all over my 1:35 target. Needless to say, I will take the run inside in that weather in the future. 

Friday:

  • Workout: Snowboarding!
  • Strength: None

We had an awesome day on the slopes. We did 14 runs with nearly 23,000 vertical feet by the end of the day. (The data nerd in me loves the EpicMix stats you can get online at the end of the day).

keystone epicmix

keystone

Saturday:

  • Run: 45 min – 1:00 Easy + Snowboarding: 6M, 8:53 avg
  • Strength: None

Wow. Running at altitude is no joke. This run was a complete slog. My legs felt heavy and I had to stop a couple of times, just to get my breathing under control.

As you can see above we didn’t have quite as big of a day snowboarding as the day before…partly because we got separated from each other with no cell service and spent an hour trying to find each other! You think it is hard to find someone in a crowded race? Try on a crowded mountain! We still got 12 runs in, but they were shorter than the day before.

Sunday:

  • Workout: OFF
  • Strength: None

We got massages Sunday morning before heading home. Heaven.

Miles: 31

Treadmill runs: 2 (should have been 3!)

Total Runs on the ‘mill this winter: 5

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, family, friends, parties, running, snowboarding, training, weekly recap, workout clothes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Boston Week 4: On the Road

  1. Beth says:

    Looks like you had a great week of workouts! I cannot believe you ran outside with those temps. 🙂 Snowboarding seems like one awesome thing to do. Have a great weekend!

  2. Your training is so solid! I’ve been heading to the treadmill much more than I want to be… if it’s in the 20s or 30s I’ll venture outside, but we’ve had weeks with many days in the teens of below…ick, this crazy winter!

  3. Holy cow that was dedication to run those 400s outside! I’ve been on the treadmill 4 days a week since November :p
    I love your snow pants, they are so cute! That’s also a cute photo of you & your hubby 🙂

  4. ewwww icky flight! I hate when that happens…but hey your week finished out with some awesome views!!

  5. Meredith says:

    Ohhhh I know what you mean, altitude can really get you when running!!! Good luck on this training cycle.
    Meredith

  6. Pingback: Boston Week 5: Travel Blitz |

  7. elizabeth says:

    yall are the cutest. i can only imagine you falling into the girl at yoga. HA! hoping for warm weather your way soon so you can hit the streets.

Tell me what you think!

