Friday Reality

I have sort of come to love my {every other} Friday “favorite things” posts. It is fun to jot down notes or start a draft over a two week period and then look back and see all the things that made me smile. But this week, as I sat down and tried to really think about all the things I am loving right now, my thoughts were clouded. I kept coming back to a few not-so-great things that have happened over the last few weeks. So in the interest of being real, I thought I would share what’s on my mind, rather than puppies and unicorns.

Let me preface this…In this post, I am going to complain about some true #firstworldproblems. I have a very blessed life. There are many, many things that I have to be thankful for and I recognize that, but in the interest of being a whiny, entitled blogger, I am going to bitch for a minute. Forgive me.

  1. Boston Accommodations. In September when I found out that I was accepted in the Boston Marathon, the first thing I did was start researching a place to stay. With my parents also joining Brad and I in Boston, I wanted to find an apartment big enough for everyone. Not only does Boston fall on Easter weekend, but Marathon Monday is also my dad’s birthday and it will be a very special weekend. After a number of emails on VRBO listings, I found the perfect place. It was a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom condo on Commonwealth, blocks from the finish line and close to everything. It was adorable, reasonably priced and didn’t require a 7-night minimum. I was ecstatic. I put down the deposit and while the thought “too good to be true” entered my mind a few times, I hadn’t thought a great deal about it since. Last Wednesday evening, when my flight landed in Chicago, an email from VRBO told me that my deposit had been refunded and my reservation was cancelled. Long story short, the last 3 renters in the unit have caused damage to the condo. The owner is fed up and has decided to cancel all weekend/short-term rentals and enter a long-term lease. Despite a heartfelt letter to the owner, they were not willing to make an exception for my family and I. So now, we have no place to stay for Boston Marathon weekend. (See #3 for why I haven’t had a chance to do more research and resolve the issue.)
  2. Weather. I won’t go into great detail here. Many of you are also all living through the same suckfest of a winter and can sympathize. I am sure training for a marathon in the heart of the winter is never easy, but this year, {my first winter in Chicago}, has been absolutely brutal. I know it will make me tougher, I know I will get the training in, but geez, can we get a break already?
  3. Travel. The last 2 weeks have been absolutely insane. And it isn’t even close to over yet. Of course, some of the trips are personal trips, so you can argue I am bringing the stress on myself, but I definitely wasn’t aware of how things would transpire when I booked the short weekends away. In a 2.5 week period, I will only sleep in my own bed 4 times. I tried to illustrate it for you…travelDo I even need to point out that last Sunday I got home from Colorado at 11 p.m. and left for Milwaukee on Monday at 8:15 a.m.? How about this coming Monday when I arrive home from Greenville at 8:30 a.m. and leave that same night for Halifax at 6:30. Oh yeah, and I am also training for a marathon. Needless to say, it has been exhausting.

I didn’t write this post for sympathy. You all have your own (probably much more legit) problems that you are facing. I just didn’t think it was fair to be all sunshine and rainbows, when in reality, these are the things that my mind seems to land on most often this week. So stay tuned, I will be back in 2 weeks with all of the good things again 🙂

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Friday Fun, life, running, training, Travel, Weather, work travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Reality

  1. Holy ravel sched Corey! WOW! I hope Boston works out for you and your family!

  2. erin says:

    That’s an insane schedule! Yikes! SO ready for a break from this subzero weather crap… ugh. Spring and summer better be extra awesome 🙂 Good luck with Boston… I hope you’re able to find something – and that your travel schedule settles down!

  3. oye vey. I remember when I was traveling a ton and it’s way harder than people realize especially for work, you have a lot to get done which makes for long days. Hope it slows down and warms up!!

  4. Pingback: Boston Week 5: Travel Blitz |

  5. elizabeth says:

    LOVE honesty and not candy canes and gumdrops. xoxo

  6. Pingback: Friday Fun VI |

  7. Pingback: Friday Fun VII |

Tell me what you think!

