Boston Week 5: Travel Blitz

11 weeks to go…

If I thought the previous week of travel was crazy, this week was insane. Strength training was lacking, but on weeks like this, I am really just proud of myself for getting the miles in.

Monday:

  • Run: 1:45 Long Run Tempo Run w/3M @ 7:10: 6M, 7:47 avg.
  • Strength: None

I was originally supposed to do my long run from the weekend on Monday, but double digit negative temps (with windchill) pushed me indoors. Since my gym also delayed opening until 7 a.m. {also because of the cold} and I had to leave at 8:15 for Milwaukee, Coach and I decided it was best to scrap the long run altogether. I was able to squeeze in a tempo on the ‘mill with a short warm up and cool down, and a VERY quick shower at the gym. Tempo miles, as always, felt harder than they should: 7:09, 7:06, 7:04, but I was entertained by Sean and Catherine’s wedding, which helped a little.

Tuesday:

  • Run: 50 min Easy: 6M, 8:28 avg.
  • Strength: yoga

Treadmill at the hotel gym in Milwaukee. Luckily I got there early because there was a line for the ‘mills by 6:15 a.m. I was bored out of my mind with nothing to watch or listen to on this run.

It was a welcome surprise to get home from the trip in time to make it to a much needed yoga class with Brad in the evening.

Wednesday:

  • Workout: 1:00 Easy: 7.2M, 8:22 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 2 + Single Leg Squats 2×15 + Leg raises against the wall x 25 none

This was one of those days when I would have been able to run outside if I went later in the day. Unfortunately, at 7 a.m. when I had to run, it was still in the single digits with negative windchills. Despite being on the treadmill, the run actually went by really fast. I had to skip strength work because I ran out of time before I had to get on the road for my 3 hour drive to Peoria.

Thursday:

  • Run: OFF
  • Strength: None

Glorious sleep. But sitting in meetings all day is not nearly as bearable without a good sweat to start the day.

Friday:

  • Workout: 20 min Shake-out w/5x100m Strides: 2.8M, 8:09 avg. (including strides)
  • Strength: Yoga RWWx1, 1×15 Single Leg Squats, 1×25 Leg raises against the wall

It felt good to get outside for the first time all week to get my shake-out done. I had hoped to get an early yoga class in but decided to skip it in hopes of fresher legs for Saturday. I did do one round of my normal warm-up routine before I ran. It helps with my glute and hamstring tightness when it’s cold.

Saturday:

Sunday:

  • Workout: OFF
  • Strength: None

Sitting on the deck in nearly 70 degree weather is just good for the soul.

Miles: 37

Treadmill runs: 3

Total Runs on the ‘mill this winter: 8

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, friends, Greenville, Races, running, Strength Training, training, Travel, Weather, weekend fun, weekly recap, work travel, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

