Boston Week 7: Return of Strength

9 weeks to go…

I was really disappointed in the lack of strength training over the two previous weeks so I was determined to bring it back this week. Other than one day, it was a success! But my body was definitely feeling the lack of it from the previous weeks.

Monday:

I had to fly to Kentucky midday and needed to run early-ish. It was going to be -1* with -15* windchill in the morning so I texted Kevin Sunday night to ask his thoughts on switching the tempo to Tuesday so I could do it outside. He was fully supportive so I headed to the gym for an easy 7 miles while catching up on an old Hart of Dixie episode. It flew by and as the easy days should, the legs felt better after than before the run.

Since I was already at the gym, it was easy to head right over to the strength area and work my way through Jenny’s strength exercises. It turns out when you don’t do any strength work for 2 weeks, your muscles rebel when you do. I could already feel the soreness coming on midway so I cut out the last few exercises and stretched.

Tuesday:

  • Run: 1:00 min Easy Tempo Run w/3M @ 7:10-20: 7.6M, 7:56 avg.
  • Strength: Yoga

I only thought it would be warmer in Kentucky than it was in Chicago. I woke up Tuesday morning and it was 5*. After moving the tempo so I could do it outside, I figured I should probably just go for it. Plus I didn’t bring indoor running clothes. It surprisingly wasn’t that bad. My face was cold for the first mile or so but once I got warm (and out of the slight headwind), I was plenty warm. The path I normally run on was covered in snow and I didn’t think I could tempo on it so I ended up in a neighborhood with HILLZ. It made the tempo tough. I tried to run on effort, but I definitely felt like I was redlining a little at times. Tempo miles: 7:17, 7:22, 7:14. 

On time flights and a quick ride home from the airport meant evening yoga with Brad! I was a little out of whack and sore from Monday’s strength but it felt good, as always.

Wednesday:

  • Workout: 1:00 Cross or Easy Run: 7.2M, 8:19 avg.
  • Strength: Yoga

Given the option to run or ___, unless I have a little niggle or something bothering me, I will generally choose the run option. I had to take my car to the dealership (to replace a bracket) and ran home from there. My legs felt springy, despite the hilly tempo miles the day before. I had to constantly remind myself to pull back to keep it in easy range. Complete 180* from last week’s “easy” runs.

I didn’t do any strength during the day because Brad and I were planning to go to yoga. By the time he got home from work, we were both exhausted so we chilled out instead. In the future, I will do something quick during the day so I make sure I get it in.

Thursday:

  • Run: Speed w/6×800 @ 3:20 – 3:25: 7.65M, 8:16 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workoutx1 + 1×15 Single Leg Squat + 1×25 Leg Raises Against the Wall (as warm-up)Yoga

It was a winter weather miracle. I ran at 9 a.m. and it was already in the 20’s! During the warm-up, I felt a little “off” for some reason. I couldn’t place my finger on it, but I felt disconnected from my body or something. Once I got going on the drills and strides, I started to feel like myself again and was ready to work. The repeats felt great going with the wind, but against the wind, I had to work hard to hold the pace: 3:18, 3:23, 3:21, 3:23, 3:20, 3:22. Obviously from the splits, I was going South (against the wind) on the odd-numbered repeats.

Learning my lesson from Wednesday, I did some strength work as a warm-up before my run. This is a double bonus because it also makes my glutes and hips feel much less tight in the cold weather, especially for speedwork. I also made it to yoga in the afternoon. We did a ton of arm balances, which is exhausting but fun!

Friday:

  • Workout: Spin
  • Strength: Yoga

I woke up with the intention of going to the Friday morning spin class that I thought was at 8:30. After dilly dallying around for a while, at 7:57 I looked at the schedule to confirm the time and saw the class was at 8:00. I decided that giving my body a break from cardio wasn’t the worst thing in the world, especially since I was on the verge of my biggest mileage week in 5 months. I also strongly considered an afternoon yoga class but eventually decided that true rest was probably more productive.

Saturday:

  • Run: 2:00 Hilly w/Fast Finish: 15M, 8:03 avg.
  • Strength: None

Chanthana and I headed out to the ‘burbs for hills. We are starting to get a nice little Saturday morning routine established! I felt really strong and the road conditions were the best they have been yet. Add sun, low wind and fresh legs and the first 12 miles felt like a breeze. When I started in on my fast finish miles, the hills made it tough to hold the 7:30-7:40 goal pace. But per Coach’s instructions, I worked my way down steady so the last three were 7:45, 7:38, 7:16. That last mile was nearly all downhill so I was able to keep a steady effort and get a much faster pace. 

That afternoon Chanthana, Jenny and Tim came over for some post long run recovery. We watched the Millrose Games plus two movies, drank beer, listened to Brad and Tim play golf in the basement and had a great time hanging out. We also ordered take-out not once, but twice and snacked our way through the day. Can’t think of a much better way to spend the afternoon.

photo (94)

Jenny also dressed Ernie up like a little old lady 🙂

Sunday:

  • Workout: OFF
  • Strength: Yoga

Ahhhh…Sunday morning yoga…where you walk out feeling 100x better than you did when you walked in.

Miles: 44.5

Treadmill runs: 1

Total Runs on the ‘mill this winter: 10

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, friends, running, Strength Training, training, Treadmill, weekly recap, workout clothes, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Boston Week 7: Return of Strength

  1. Jenny says:

    Get it gurrrrrrl! Return of the grandma hips? I like it. I didn’t do the hip strength routine at all last week (whoops). I’ll get back to it this week if you will. I know I told you this the other day, but you’re seriously rocking your training. Boston better be ready 😉

  2. Awesome week of training… just 9 weeks? Wow, how is that possible?! I’ve been keeping up with strength training better these days than when I was marathon training…it’s so hard to do it all!

  3. elizabeth says:

    WHY CAN’T I BE AS DILIGENT with my strength??? I’m lucky to get in 4 days (this includes arms at flywheel). MUST get better. Kick ass week, btw.

    • Corey says:

      If you saw a picture of you running like I saw from NYC marathon, you would be diligent too. It was scary how bad my form was because of my weak hips.

Tell me what you think!

