Friday Fun VII

Woah. I am going to have do some research on my roman numerals if I keep this tradition going 🙂

  1. Birthday. Today is my birthday! I guess I am getting old, because I didn’t have any desire for a big get together. Brad and I celebrated quietly last night with an awesome dinner at Fish Bar, my favorite restaurant in our neighborhood. He was supposed to go out of town for work this weekend, which was a bummer, but fortunately his trip got cancelled so we are going to dinner with friends tonight and to a beer fest with Jenny and Manny tomorrow. Should be a great weekend!
  2. Boston Accommodations. Of course this one showed up on my not so happy Friday post a few weeks back. I finally did some research and found a few good options that will work. I was hoping to have it completely booked by today, but I am still emailing with owners to finalize. I am hopeful that this will end up working out just fine.
  3. 18 Miles. Tomorrow is my first 2:30 run of this cycle. This should equate to about 18 miles and I am heading to ‘burbs so I can do it on hills. I know many people training for Boston have already had multiple 20+ mile runs, but I don’t feel behind at all with my training. My mileage is at a solid place and I have incorporated several variations (hills, speed) into my long runs. After NYC training, I am not convinced that a ton of 20+ mile runs are necessary for me to run a strong race. But I do love the deliciously exhausted feeling of finishing really long runs that put big deposits in the training bank. 
  4.  For the Love of it. Last week was kind of a “meh” week for running. On paper, it looked decent, but between Thursday’s rain fiasco, Saturday’s bleh long run and Tuesday’s windy tempo, I was feeling less than excited about training. I may have also been experiencing a little winter blues since we had a taste of spring only to dip back into the throes of winter again. But this Monday’s tempo run was EXACTLY what I needed. The sun was shining, the pavement was dry and even the wind cooperated. After my warm-up I tried to ease into my tempo miles, but my legs easily settled in at a pace faster than planned so I went with it. I finished 3 tempo miles feeling like I could have kept going. A little confidence-boosting, feel good run is exactly what my heart needed to get back at it for 7 more weeks. I truly love running and training for marathons so I was happy that last week didn’t cause me to fall down a slippery slope of burn out.
  5.  House of Cards. I know, I know. I’m about 12 months late on this one. But since Season 2 just came out, there was a ton of buzz and I jumped on the bandwagon. I started Season 1 last week and am already 8 episodes into Season 2. That’s 20+ episodes in a week, folks. It took me a little patience in season 1 to get hooked, but now I can’t stop! 
  6. Roll Recovery. I was first introduced to this at Eugene when Mason brought his over for everyone in our house to use. Then Jenny got one for Christmas and has been nice enough to bring it with her to share after long runs and at recovery gatherings. After Brad saw how much I liked using it (think “hurts so good”), he suggested to his parents that it would make a great birthday present. So now I have one of my own and I have used it everyday since it arrived.
  7. My baby. Yes, we have two dogs and I love them both dearly. Walter is my running buddy and an awesome pup, but Ernie has always been my baby. Since he was a puppy, he has always gravitated more toward me than Brad, following me around the house and cuddling with me at night. So when my little sidekick got sick earlier this week, I was devastated. I cried my eyes out at the vet when I took him in and sobbed all the way home on the phone with Brad. It was scary because he went from throwing up once to critically sick within less than 2 hours while I waited for his appointment. BUT thankfully we have a wonderful vet and now he is all better and got to come home last night.

    photo (96)

    I missed the #nuunlife contest deadline, but he is so darn cute with his bald leg.

  8. New Stitch! I was a little delayed in posting about my last Stitch Fix and it was a short month, so I already have a new one to share! I loved everything in my fix this month and and am keeping it all (bonus discount!). I tried things on using the “casual” styling recommendations from my Stitch Fix stylist (they give both casual and dressier recommendations), which was fun and also helpful to see how I would wear it. I can’t wait for spring so that I can actually wear some of this!
    photo 1 (10)

    Striped skirt. KEEP.

    photo 2 (11)

    Gray cardigan. Debated on this one, but ultimately kept.

    photo 5 (4)

    Red Studded Top. Keep!

    stitch fix

    Green flowy top. Both casual and dressy look. LOVE!

    photo (95)

    I love this little gold elephant necklace. Completely different than anything I have.

    I hope everyone has a great weekend!! Happy Friday!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Ernie, Food, Friday Fun, friends, life, Races, running, the boys, training, Travel, walter, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Friday Fun VII

  1. Mom says:

    Love all the outfits you got this time. Not sure which is my favorite but I kinda think the cardigan. I also like the red and green tops. Guess that gets about all of them. They did good!

  2. Happy Birthday!
    Thank goodness your dog is ok! It’s such a terrible feeling when your pet is ill and all you can do is trust in and wait on the vet to do their thing.
    Love, love, love all your fixes. The green top and skirt look fantastic together.
    Enjoy your long run tomorrow 🙂

  3. erin says:

    Hope you had a wonderful birthday, Corey! And, so glad to hear your pup is ok! Have a GREAT long run today! Love that elephant necklace 🙂

  4. I LOVE all the items in your Stitch Fix! You should be getting a little referral credit soon- I finally ordered my first “fix”- will post when it arrives next week. I’m so glad Ernie is doing better. It’s so hard to have your baby be sick!! Glad you had a fun birthday weekend…we need to get together soon. I miss you!!

  5. elizabeth says:

    I read this the week you posted but on my phone- LOVE the clothes you got this time…I really think I should just do it. So glad E is okay. Started season 1, episode 1 yesterday on the elliptical of HofC!

  6. Hi there superb website! Does running a blog similar
    to this require a massive amount work? I have very little knowledge of
    computer programming but I was hoping to start my own blog in the
    near future. Anyways, should you have any recommendations
    or tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off
    topic but I just wanted to ask. Thank you!

  7. Micki says:

    With havin soo much content do you evrr run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My blog has a lot oof completely unique content I’ve either
    created myself or outsouced but it looks like a
    lot of it is popping it up all over the web without myy
    agreement. Do you know any techniqus too help protect against
    content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  8. Hello, every time i used to check webpage posts here in the early hours
    in the break of day, for the reason that i love
    to gain knowledge of more and more.

  9. Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and tested to see if it
    can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube
    sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.

    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  10. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to checking out your web
    page again.

  11. Another distinctive feature of the Jet – Box 8180 computers
    was that the CF card and the HD worked independently.
    This will lead to an increase in productivity because the employees will always be using the latest tools and information available.
    Believe it or not, the Windows Home Server may actually be smaller than your other computers, even your
    laptops.

  12. Brittny says:

    Thank you for any other wonderful article. The place else may anybody get that type of information in such an ideal approach
    of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the search
    for such info.

  13. Lincoln says:

    Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room
    mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  14. Lakeisha says:

    Very good blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a
    paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused ..
    Any suggestions? Cheers!

  15. I have learn several excellent stuff here. Defknitely worth bookmarking for revisiting.

    I wonder how a lot attempt you place too create the sort of wonderful informative site.

  16. I’m curious to find out what blog system you happen to be using?
    I’m experiencing some small security issues with my latest website and I’d
    like to find something more risk-free. Do you
    have any suggestions?

  17. Esperanza says:

    Once these are put on the arm, the patch initiates its work of releasing the nutrients and transferring them into
    the bloodstream with the capillaries. It appears that the company was awaiting the most opportune time for it to gain the biggest
    amount of media exposure possible to shine a spotlight on the products.
    As carnivores, mountain lions prey on deer, elk, moose along with beaver,
    grouse, birds, rabbits and rodents and occasional animals and livestock.

  18. Mervin says:

    Hello Dear, are you in fact visiting this website on a regular basis, if so after that you will definitely take nice experience.

  19. nikki nova says:

    Hi! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me
    of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this.
    I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he
    will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  20. Dominga says:

    It’s remarkable designed for me to have a website, which is useful in support
    of my knowledge. thanks admin

  21. When I was still studying for my novice in polytechnic, I
    had somewhat financial problem and so I told myself that
    whether there is often a way that I could
    make money. You also need to consider the market repute or perhaps the brand name of the clothing you will procure.
    Its lightweight (approximately 6 MB) makes it easy for users to setup and update.

  22. Thanks for sharing such a nice thought, piece of writing is nice, thats why i have read it fully

  23. elmazad says:

    Hello tthere I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks foor
    a marvelous post aand a all round exciting blog (I
    also love the theme/design), Idon’t have time to browse it all att the minute
    but I have saved itt and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great dral
    more, Please do keep up the great job.

  24. It’s amazing to go to see this website and reading the
    vviews of all friends on the topic of this paragraph, while I am
    also eager of gettingg knowledge.

  25. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords
    but I’m not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share.
    Thank you!

  26. Fantastic blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..
    Any suggestions? Thanks!

  27. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.

    I am quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  28. twitxr.com says:

    I like the valuable info you supply on your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and test again right here frequently.

    I am reasonably sure I’ll be told many new stuff
    proper here! Best of luck for the next!

Tell me what you think!

