Boston Week 9: Finding the Joy

7 weeks to go…

After not “running happy” for most of last week, I really wanted to get back to enjoying the training journey while also executing my runs. That came pretty easily when I started the week with two great runs. Being forced to the treadmill for speedwork Thursday wasn’t nearly as bad as I predicted and my long run was about as fantastic as 18+ miles in 20-something degrees can be.

Coach cut my run days back to 4 for the first time since week 2. I supplemented the running with cross training, but the idea is to off-set the longer runs and hard workouts coming up with slightly lower mileage to keep me healthy.

Monday:

  • Run: Tempo w/3M @ 7:10-20: 8M, 7:49 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 1 + 1×15 Single Leg Squat + 1×25 Leg Raises Against the Wall (as warm-up)

This was a day that I was very happy to be able to pick the warmest time of day to run. I went right at noon and the sun was shining bright, making 20* feel much, much warmer than that. And the run was exactly what I needed. I settled right into the tempo miles and just went with it: 7:08, 7:04, 6:59. I felt like I could have run at least one more at that pace and several more if I backed off to the actual goal range. Not only was I really happy to have strong, smooth tempo miles, but I also felt back to myself on this run, rather than counting the minutes until it was over.

I am starting to get in a good habit of doing some basic strength training as a warm-up before harder runs. It loosens my legs up and being a little sweaty also helps me get out the door on colder days.

Tuesday:

  • Run: 1:15 Easy: 9M, 8:24 avg.
  • Strength: Yoga

Brad and I decided to go to an 8:30 yoga class before work and I really like to run before yoga (rather than vice versa). Luckily the difference in temps between 7:00 and the rest of the day was only a few degrees, so I was able to get out early. It was 17* and sunny with low wind and a great way to start the day. It took a few miles to warm up and get loose, but after that, I felt comfortable and the miles ticked off quickly. I even helped some poor egotistical dude on the Lakefront get his surges in for the day…for 2+ miles, every time I tried to pass him, he sped up until he got tired. Then repeat. I am glad I could help. 🙂

Yoga was relatively low key and a perfect follow-up to the run.

Wednesday:

I planned to go to a morning spin class, but waking up to a sick pup derailed that idea. Once I got Ernie in good hands at the vet (and bawled my eyes out to the Dr. and her tech), I came home and tried to focus on work for the rest of the day. I finally went to the gym later for an evening spin class and some strength work. I pushed hard in the spin class for the first time in a while and it felt good to sweat out some of the stress from earlier. 

I found out after class that Ernie was doing MUCH better and even though he had to stay at the vet overnight, we didn’t have to transport him to a 24-hour ER. Thank heavens.

Thursday:

  • Run: Speed w/8-10×400 @ 5k pace (1:40-45): 7M, 8:05 avg.
  • Strength: Yoga

No signs of spring in sight. It was 5* with a -16 windchill in the morning and wasn’t getting much warmer, so I went to the gym to do my speed work on the ‘mill. I have never done speed on the treadmill so it took me halfway through the set to get used to the whole starting watch/turning speed up/checking distance thing. Repeats: 1:29 (short), 1:43, 1:39, 1:44, 1:43, 1:42, 1:40, 1:41, 1:41, 1:40. If I HAD to do speed on the treadmill, 400’s at 5k pace was a good time for it, since the workout was meant for “light turnover” (Coach’s words) and not an all out effort.

Followed the run with a perfectly sweaty yoga class.

Friday:

  • Workout: Spin or Swim: Swim 2400 yds. (50 min)
  • Strength: None

I actually got in a pool with goggles and swim cap for the first time since USAT Nationals last August. WHAT?! Surprisingly, despite the now permanent goggle rings around my eyes and faint stench of chlorine, I actually really enjoyed it! It felt natural and not clunky/awkward like I expected it to. It probably helps that I didn’t pay attention to time and just did my go-to pyramid of 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 400, 300, 200, 100 with 10-50 seconds in between. Since I have a tri in June, I am going to attempt one swim and one bike/spin on weeks where I only run 4 times.

photo (97)

Hello Old Friend. (From my Instagram)

Saturday:

  • Run: 2:30 Hilly: 18.25M, 8:14 avg.
  • Strength: None

The instructions were to go “nice and conservative” (but I didn’t see that until after the run…oops). I did try to focus on holding back in the first 10 miles. I wanted to keep the pace above 8:20 and then allow my legs to let go a little bit if they wanted to after that. I was somewhat successful, but with the rolling hills, there were some faster miles as I let effort determine the pace on the downhills. I felt strong all the way through and the last few miles were even sub-8. But my legs definitely felt like they ran the longest they had in a LONG time.

After getting back from the ‘burbs, I napped like a champ then recovered with friends & BEER at a local beer fest that night.

Sunday:

  • Workout: OFF
  • Strength: None

Sleep. Errands. Couch.

Miles: 42.4

Treadmill runs: 1

Total Runs on the ‘mill this winter: 12

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, friends, running, Strength Training, training, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boston Week 9: Finding the Joy

  1. ErinAMG says:

    awesome as usual. way to blaze your tempo early in the week (OMFG!!) and get your groove back. super stoked for you!! 🙂

  2. Terzah says:

    Corey, I’m loving the links you’re posting to your strength workouts–very helpful. Glad you got some mojo back this week! Boston, here you come….

Tell me what you think!

