Boston Week 12: Cutback

4 weeks (& 1 day) to go…

I was definitely feeling the cumulative build up of training toward the end of the previous week. This cutback week was exactly what I needed to get some pep back in my legs for one final peak week before taper. I had some good workouts and my legs were feeling much more fresh by the end of the week.

Monday:

  • Run: OFF
  • Strength: None

Last day in NYC. We slept in, got coffee at Rock Center with Chanthana and Jocelyn then spent the morning hanging out there and chatting about the weekend. Jenny and I flew home in the afternoon. I was exhausted and my body was happy for the rest.

Tuesday:

  • Run: Tempo w/3M @ 7:10 – 7:20: 8M, 7:51 avg.
  • Strength:  Runner’s World Workout x 1 + 1×15 Single Leg Squat + 1×25 Leg Raises Against the Wall (as warm-up)

It was SUPER windy, but sunny and (kinda) warm. I wore shorts and felt underdressed when I was running against the wind, but perfect when it was behind me. The splits (at even effort) show the affect of a straight headwind in the first 1.5 miles vs. tailwind in the second half: 7:17, 7:09, 6:56. I felt like I could have run forever at a 7:00 pace with the wind at my back. It was a nice little confidence boost after a tough last couple of runs.

Wednesday:

  • Workout: 1:00 Easy: 7.17M, 8:26 avg.
  • Strength: Yoga

It was raining, but high 40’s so I threw on a hat and headed out. The rain didn’t bother me much and I was feeling better by the end of the run than at the beginning (mission accomplished). Lately, I find that more and more on these easy runs, I spend the majority of the time thinking about how grateful I am to be healthy and able to run.

Yoga was a nice gentle flow with some intense, but short core work. Exactly what I needed.

Thursday:

  • Run: Speed w/7-10×400 @ 1:40-45: 7M, 8:04
  • Strength: None

I REALLY wanted to go to the track AND run in shorts. I stalked the hour-by-hour forecast all morning waiting for it to warm-up and finally went to the track around 1:30.  I ran a couple of miles in the park nearby then did drills and strides on the track. It was super sunny, the birds were chirping and the track looked like it was begging for some attention after being covered in snow all winter. I ditched the Garmin and wore just my lap watch and was able to lock into a good pace (well, after the first repeat): 1:34, 1:41, 1:40, 1:39, 1:39, 1:40, 1:39, 1:38, 1:39, 1:37.  The goal pace is just a little slower than 5k pace, which isn’t super challenging for 400’s but it is a great “light turnover” workout to get the legs going and the confidence boosted.

track

Reunited.

Friday:

I might have taken this as a complete rest day, but I didn’t want to skip a week of my hip and glute strength. I figured if I was going to be at the gym anyway, I may as well spin easy.

Saturday:

  • Run: 1:50 – 2:00 flat: 15M, 8:09 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 1 + 1×15 Single Leg Squat + 1×25 Leg Raises Against the Wall (as warm-up)

It was back to cold and windy after some nice days earlier in the week. After I warmed up with strength stuff, Walter ran the first 6 with me and we got a side five from Jenny on the path. I went north (against the wind) after I dropped Walter off and was feeling pretty strong. My pace was faster during this segment and most of the way back, but toward the end I started to feel the effects of no water or fuel for the 15 miles. My legs still felt strong, but I started to get hungry (which never happens) and feel a little blech, which is a good sign for me that my body needed water and/or fuel.

Sunday:

  • Workout: OFF
  • Strength: Yoga

Slept in, went to brunch with friends, took a nap, then FINALLY hit an afternoon yoga class. The class was more crowded than usual which made the room really warm. I was dripping sweat for almost the whole class and it felt really, really good. Perfect way to end the week.

Miles: 37.2

Treadmill runs: 0

Total Runs on the ‘mill this winter: 12

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, friends, running, Strength Training, training, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Boston Week 12: Cutback

  1. Wow, I can’t imagine 15 miles with no fuel or water- have you been doing that on all of your long runs?
    Great week btw!

    • Corey says:

      For anything 2 hours or less, I usually play it by how I feel. I normally bring Gu and give myself the option of water somewhere along the way, but this week, I just forgot! I think if I eat a decent sized breakfast and drink a lot of water before I go, I am okay, but I only had a granola bar, yogurt and a few sips of water so that definitely wasn’t enough.

  2. Cheers to cutback weeks and to unknown twinsie long runs!! One month to go…so excited for you! 🙂 We need a get together soon…maybe B and I will come up for a random Cubs weekend…

  3. elizabeth says:

    back to back commenting: you are being so smart in your training and listening to your body..especially with last week. Was there any work travel that could’ve worn you out too? Can’t believe Boston is so close!!

Tell me what you think!

