Boston Week 13: Peak Week

3 weeks (& 1 day) to go…

There were several HUGE workouts on the schedule for this week and I was both excited to tackle them and nervous about how they would go. Overall, I think the week went very, very well. I am feeling strong and more importantly, healthy after my biggest week in nearly a year!

Monday:

  • Run: Progressive Tempo: 1 & 2@7:30, 3 & 4@7:10-20, 5@sub-7:10: 9.5M, 7:45 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 1 + 1×15 Single Leg Squat + 1×25 Leg Raises Against the Wall (as warm-up)

It was cold again (upper 20’s), but the sun and low wind made it feel much warmer than that. I was dressed just right and the sun felt like it was giving me a nice warm hug. I felt fantastic on this run. I love progressive tempos and this is the third time I have done this particular workout. I am super happy that it has gotten better and better each time. I love, love, love how 2 miles at 7:30 feels like I am floating when it’s part of a tempo run. The rest of the miles felt nearly effortless, until about 400 m left and I felt like I was working on that last little bit: 7:29, 7:26, 7:14, 7:09, 7:04. 

Tuesday:

  • Run: 1:00 Easy: 7.15M, 8:24 avg.
  • Strength: Yoga

I woke up to a little under 1″ of snow, which is completely tolerable since any sun melts it away pretty quick. But along with the front came a ton of wind + cold. Mid-20’s and 20 mph winds meant fleece tights and wool base layer. I thought I was done with that. Although there were some annoying gusts, the wind in general turned out to not be as bad as I was expecting and my legs felt 10x better in the last few miles than they did at the beginning. Success! Because of the snow/salt Walter had to wear his boots, but he was able to do this whole run with me! He was getting a little tired in the last mile, so I will probably keep him to 6ish from now on.

Wednesday:

  • Workout: 45 min Easy or Cross: 5.5M, 8:23 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 1 + 1×15 Single Leg Squat + 1×25 Leg Raises Against the Wall (as warm-up)

Easy run with Walter in the sun. The legs felt good and happy to be running easy for the second day in a row.

Thursday:

  • Run: Speed w/9-10×800 @ 3:20-25: 9M, 8:46 avg.
  • Strength: None

I was intimated by this workout going into it. It didn’t help that the day before I was super tired (like could fall asleep standing up) and the weather was supposed to be rainy and really windy. Everything just seemed like it was working against me (dramatic much?). I picked up Jenny at an L stop on the way around 7:30 and we headed to the track. We were super lucky to miss the rain completely and although the wind felt like it could hold you in place at times, it was manageable since I was running in circles. I didn’t quite pull out of my somewhat negative state of mind until around the 4th repeat, when I realized that I was just fine. 800’s: 3:19, 3:19, 3:20, 3:20, 3:22, 3:19, 3:20, 3:21, 3:19, 3:18. I felt strong, steady and controlled the whole time and walked away with a runner’s high like no other.

photo 1 (14)

Photo credit to Jenny for this shot!

Friday:

I spun my legs really easy with no resistance, just enough to warm up before going through the strength routine. Not ideal to do strength before a long run again, but I only had one more week after this one until I cut it out for taper so I didn’t want to miss it.

Saturday:

  • Run: 2:30 – 2:45 Hilly + 45 min Cross: 20M, 8:20 avg.
  • Strength: None

Chanthana, Jenny and I went out to Morton Arb for the last time this training cycle to do our final 20 on hills. It was cold and windy, but finally there was no snow or ice to deal with! I felt pretty strong for the whole run until the last couple of miles. And even then, I wasn’t hurting bad, just ready to be done. I was happy to get the last mile in around 7:48ish. If that ends up being marathon pace…I will be MORE than okay with it. My legs were pretty shot after I was finished. Sometimes the hills out there don’t feel tough at all and sometimes they feel like they take a toll on my legs. At the end of peak week, this was definitely one of those times.

By the time we got back into the city, the family was waiting on me to eat and start the day so I had to skip cardio. I felt a little guilty at first, but Coach assured me that it was just gravy at this point. Plus I felt like I got an additional non-impact workout since we spent the next 2ish hours walking around downtown.

bean

Group selfie at the Bean.

Needless to say, when the day was over I was thrilled to be able to chill on the couch and watch Frozen with Zach and the pups.

photo 2 (15)

Sunday:

  • Workout: OFF
  • Strength: None

Got some much needed sleep in the morning. We walked around the zoo for a couple of hours which felt good to shake the legs out, but then it was unfortunately time to take Jason and Zach to the airport :(. Brad and I capped off the afternoon with a beer with Jenny and Manny followed by naps on the couch. By the time 9:00 came around, I was ready to get back in bed again!

Miles: 51

Treadmill runs: 0

Total Runs on the ‘mill this winter: 12

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, friends, running, Strength Training, training, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Boston Week 13: Peak Week

  1. Great week! You nailed those yasso 800s – he’d say you should be able to bust out a 3:20 marathon now! 🙂 no matter what nailing that workout is a big confidence booster!

  2. 3 cheers for successful Yasso’s!! I love the runner’s high from nailing that workout! You’re progressive tempo was awesome too…welcome to taper 🙂 so glad you had a great peak week and go some quality time with your fam. hugs.

  3. Peak week already, how did that happen?! So excited for you… you are ready for an awesome race. And look at all that strength work, too- great job!!

  4. elizabeth says:

    woohooo!! peak week done. 1. your form looks amazing in that pic. 2. YOU WATCHED A DISNEY MOVIE.

Tell me what you think!

