Boston Week 14: Backing Down

2 weeks to go…

This week definitely was not a full-on taper, but toward the end of the week, with a light speed workout and a MUCH shorter long run, I could definitely feel the effects of less work on my body. That didn’t necessarily result in feeling like I could fly or run forever, as per typical taper runs go, but I definitely felt less fatigued.

Monday:

  • Run: Tempo w/3-4M @ 7:10 – 20: 8.5M, 7:55 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 1 + 1×15 Single Leg Squat + 1×25 Leg Raises Against the Wall (as warm-up)

Monday was the warmest day we have had since last October. Unfortunately, along with the warmer temps also came some crazy wind. I knew it was supposed to be worse as the day went on so I got up early to run before it got too bad. I was out by 7 a.m. but I didn’t beat the wind. It felt like a WALL when I was running into it. Tempo miles: 7:22, 7:31, 7:09, 7:06. Of course it felt better when I turned around about 1.75 into the tempo, but I had worked so hard going south that it took my legs a little while to recover and be able to use the wind to run faster at the same effort. My stomach also felt a little nauseous toward the end. I think maybe I should have eaten something small before heading out.

Tuesday:

  • Run: 1:00 Easy: 7.2M, 8:22 avg.
  • Strength: Yoga

It was another crazy windy day. This time with temps in the low 40’s and real feel in the low 30’s. I was dreading going out all morning because I could hear the wind rattling the windows so loudly. Walter and I finally ran at lunch time when it was 41* and 23 mph winds. Surprisingly though, it wasn’t bad at all. The wind felt like it was swirling, so I was never really running straight into it and with the sun peeping out, it was comfortable. Of course running at easy pace vs. tempo effort makes a big difference, but my legs felt fresh and springy on the run.

Yoga was focused on power and strength and I was a sweaty mess. I didn’t feel strong and my balance was off, but I have found that those off days happen in yoga just like in running.

Wednesday:

  • Workout: 45 min Easy: 5.55M, 8:19 avg.
  • Strength: Yoga

Cool but sunny day (gloves and ear warmers for the 2nd day in a row). Walter came with me and it was a lovely run. I felt like I could have gone forever.

Yoga was a little slower moving than the night before, but not necessarily easier. We held a number of poses for a long time and my obliques, upper back and hips felt it the next day.

Thursday:

  • Run: Speed w/6-7×400 @ 1:40 – 45: 6.5M, 7:55 avg.
  • Strength: None

Flashbacks to last Thursday. It was another rainy and windy track day. Fortunately Jenny and I both had pretty open work schedules and were able to plan the run around the forecast. We finally headed to the track at lunch time, got warmed up in the park and started our respective workouts. 400’s: 1:38, 1:38, 1:42, 1:39, 1:39, 1:39, 1:36. I was a little faster than I intended but tried to keep it smooth and steady. These felt really comfortable, like cruise intervals. Meanwhile, Jenny absolutely smoked her 10×800’s…nothing like nailing your last key workout before taper!

Friday:

It’s kind of nice to go into a dark, empty spin room and pick any bike you want. I blast my music, catch up on Twitter and blog reading and just spin nice and easy. The effort is just enough to break a sweat and warm up my body but not enough to fatigue my legs. After the spin I went upstairs and went through the full strength routine for one last time before Boston!

Saturday:

  • Run: 1:30 Flat: 11M, 8:09 avg.
  • Strength: Runner’s World Workout x 1 + 1×15 Single Leg Squat + 1×25 Leg Raises Against the Wall (as warm-up)

It was a bright and sunny Saturday morning and the wind that we experienced all week finally let up somewhat. The first few miles felt fantastic, but the further I got into the run, the more blah I felt. This always happens to me during taper “long” runs and I should expect it (and I do), but it generally allows doubts to creep in my head and take over. In the last mile of the run, all I could think is that if I felt that crappy at mile 10 at Boston, I would be screwed. Thankfully Coach, Jenny and Chanthana reminded me that this is all part of the process and that I will be JUST FINE on race day.

Brad and I spent the rest of the afternoon soaking in the sun at the Cubs game. No W for the boys in blue but it was still a really fun day!

photo 1 (15)

Sunday:

  • Workout: OFF
  • Strength: None

Brunch with Jenny, Chanthana and Manny followed by a pedicure with Chanthana, a nap then a nice walk with Brad and the dogs. My favorite way to spend a Sunday!

Miles: 38.8

Treadmill runs: 0

Total Runs on the ‘mill this winter: 12

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, friends, running, Strength Training, training, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Boston Week 14: Backing Down

  1. Oh man, the taper mental game is the worst! But seriously, you are so well prepared for Boston! Don’t let the dead leg feeling get the best of you. It’s perfectly normal!

    • Corey says:

      Thank you so much for this! Despite knowing it, it definitely helps to hear from other people who often go through the same thing. And to be reminded that it’s normal!!

  2. Oh the love/hate relationship with taper…don’t let it mess with your head though. You’re MORE than ready to rock Boston!! Literally every time I run a marathon, I feel like I can barely run the 4 mile easy runs during race week then I’m fine come race morning! I know Walter is loving all the runs he’s getting to participate in these days. I don’t envy the wind for y’all but I was wishing for some of the cooler temps this morning during my tempo. The humidity has arrived. Oh well, makes us stronger, right? 😉

  3. Boston is about to be your b….

  4. elizabeth says:

    taper madness already…trust your training and yourself!! I love that you have found such a great group to run with. I need a Jenny.

    • Corey says:

      It is super inspiring to be around someone so fast!! I do miss having someone around my pace to run with though! This is why I need to live closer to YOU so we could run together!

Tell me what you think!

