Easy Miles

6 weeks until USAT Nationals & 15 weeks until Chicago Marathon

After Sunday’s race, nearly all of the running and riding miles last week were of the “easy” variety. Since my yardage in the pool has been so low lately, I did push the swims a bit. I figured I could handle a little more intensity on the swims and still get the recovery I needed.

Monday 

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

My abs were really sore where I had the cramp during the run the day before and I felt generally tired. This complete rest day was needed.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: Strength Routine + 50 min – 1:00 Easy Run + 2400 Swim
  • Actual: Strength + 7.2M @ 8:23 + 2300 Swim (Main set: 7×100 w/5″ RI, 7×100 VO2 Max w/30″ RI)

I did my strength workout and then headed out around 7 a.m. I felt really sluggish to start the run, but once I got going it turned out to be a really good shake-out from the weekend. Walter went for the first 4 miles and then I dropped him off since it was so hot and humid. I finished sweaty and happy.

I finally had the chance to go to the outdoor pool at Holstein Park! It is a 50 yd pool and wasn’t very crowded at all. I LOVE swimming in long course, outdoor pools. They have lap swimming in the mornings and 12-1 on weekdays, but I got there around 12:15 so I had to get out before finishing my cool down. No big deal…I was happy to finish the rest of the workout just in time!

hosltein

It is 8 lanes across, but they only had lane ropes in every other lane. Plenty of space for everyone though!

Wednesday

  • Plan: 1:00 Easy Run + 1:15 Easy Ride
  • Actual: 6.4M @ 8:16 + 20.2M Ride @ 16.1 mph + 0.8M @ 8:18 

Three cheers for a random cool, low humidity morning! I was running a little late to get back before my 8 a.m. meeting so Walter and I finished the first part of the run in about 53 min and I tacked on the remainder of the run after the bike to make it a (very) short brick. I rode at lunch hoping to beat the majority of the Lakefront Beach crowds and it was pretty successful. It was still a little crowded but nothing like last Friday’s debacle.

The last thing I wanted to do was run after the ride (hello…it was LUNCHTIME) but it was a quick {less than a} mile. It’s probably not a bad idea to get more of these short bricks in so my legs get used to transitioning to the run.

Thursday

  • Plan: Strength Routine + 1:00 Easy Run + 2500 Swim
  • Actual: Strength + 7.2M @ 8:21 + 2500 Swim (main set: 7×200, 2×50 sprint)

Walter threw up a few times Wednesday night so I ran solo. I hated not being able to take him since it was another cool day, but he needed to rest. I wanted to be out running by 6:20 so I could get back and to the pool before the morning lap swim was over. I felt a little sluggish for most of the run, but the swim in the bright morning sun and cool water felt really nice.

That afternoon we flew to Virginia to spend the long weekend weekend at The Greenbriar and the lake.

Friday

  • Plan: 1:30 Easy Ride
  • Actual: 20M @ 16.4 mph

First chance to get out on my new bike! I got a Felt Z6, similar to the bike that got stolen to keep in Virginia since we have been spending so much time there. The riding is relentlessly hilly, but having a road bike makes it much more manageable than my tri bike. I cut this ride a little short because I had to squeeze it in early before we left to go to The Greenbriar.

I spent the rest of the day with this view. Those two cuties are my little water baby nieces.

20140707-092011-33611110.jpg

Saturday

  • Plan: 1:30 Run w/Fast Finish + 2700 Swim
  • Actual: 11.1M @ 8:06 + 2200 Swim (main set: 1500 straight swim)

The hotel had trail maps for hiking that I thought would be my best option for running. Unfortunately after about 2.5 miles the hiking trails were not runnable at all. I hiked up a bit hoping it would flatten out, but eventually had to take a steep road back down. Once I came down, I found that the road circling the hotel was a nice rolling loop with minimal traffic and I was able to add on the rest of the miles with out an and back into town. It was in the low 50’s and I felt great for a majority of this run, but during the last 1/2 mile of the fast finish, I hit a wall. I didn’t eat or drink anything before or during the run and when I came to a hill going back into the hotel, my body was done. The fast finish miles were 7:42, 7:34, 7:45, but I had to stop and rest with 2:30 left in the 3rd mile before finishing.

My second dumb move was to shower quickly then head to the pool right away. Still without eating. The hotel has a beautiful 30 m indoor pool, but the water was WARM (like 80 degrees) and there was no way I could finish the whole swim. My head was hurting and I was starting to feel really blech. I finally called it when I got to 1500 for the straight swim and cooled down before FINALLY getting some food with Brad’s family.

Sunday

  • Plan: 45 min Easy Run + 2:15 Ride
  • Actual: 5.3M @ 8:27 avg. + 33M Ride @ 15.5 mph

I was definitely feeling my little 1/2 mile down the steep hill from Saturday at the beginning of this run. I started really slow, but eventually everything loosened up and I enjoyed another really cool morning and a brilliant sunrise.

After the run I ate quickly (lesson learned) then headed out on the bike. I was actually cold for the first half hour of the ride and feeling a little unmotivated. It was beautiful out, but the hills felt like they just wouldn’t quit and I was kind of over it. The last 10 miles was much better and I was able to finally manage some decent splits (relative to the <15 mph splits from the first 10 miles). I was definitely ready to be done and completely relax for the rest of the day.

photomountains

Pictures never do justice to how pretty the views are on this ride.

Totals

  • Swim: 7000 yds
  • Bike: 73 miles
  • Run: 38 miles
  • Time:11 hours 45 min.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, family, running, swimming, the lake, training, Travel, triathlon, walter, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easy Miles

  1. Sounds like a great week and a nice get-away over the weekend 🙂 Jumping in an outdoor pool for a swim first thing in the morning sounds really nice! And I can’t believe you did an 11 mile run and swim without eating!

  2. elizabeth says:

    i didn’t know yall went to the greenbriar!! I’ve heard it’s amazing! i would’ve passed out long into the run not eating. Can’t not eat if it’s more than 8 miles. and, you sound like Rich about the outdoor pool thing…he feels the same way and loved the one he used in asheville.

  3. Roland says:

    It’s hard to find your posts in google. I found it on 16 spot, you should build quality backlinks , it will
    help you to rank to google top 10. I know how to
    help you, just search in google – k2 seo tricks

  4. Juliet says:

    I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save
    you a lot of work, there is an online tool that
    creates high quality, google friendly articles in minutes, just search in google – laranitas free content
    source

  5. You will however want to also create custom content for
    the wedding couple’s formal attire. Lots of women whom opt for some
    sort of gothic concept as well assimilate the particular Celtic or perhaps
    medieval areas inside their service in addition to wedding party.

    The silk crepe de chine material moves beautifully while the button-lined back and small train create a fabulous finish.

  6. Zak says:

    Touche. Great arguments. Keep up the amazing work.

Tell me what you think!

