Building

4 weeks until USAT Nationals & 13 weeks until Chicago Marathon

I knew with overlapping training cycles, that there would be weeks where the volumes of both were building. I knew it would be tough, but hoped that my body would respond well. This was definitely one of those weeks, but I felt really good all the way through. I had some solid workouts in all three areas and finished the week tired, but feeling strong.

Monday 

  • Plan: Tempo Run w/3M @ 7:05 – 7:15 + 1:15 Steady State Ride
  • Actual: 7.9M @ 7:51 avg. + 20M @ 16.9 mph

I got up early with the intention of doing both the run and ride before my 9 a.m. meeting. My legs felt dead to start the tempo, but after a mile or so they woke up and felt great. During the tempo miles I felt like I was pushing, but when I asked my body for a little more, it was there: 7:14, 7:06, 7:01. 

I will pretend that I was really smart and didn’t leave for my ride after eating breakfast because I knew that the sky was going to open up and dump on us. In reality, I just didn’t feel like riding right away and I was already showered and laying back in bed when it started pouring. I ended up riding after my lunch time teleconference and apparently the showers in the morning scared all the people away because the path was eerily empty for a beautiful sunny afternoon. Riding “steady state” on the Lakefront is tricky because all of the hazards (i.e. ignorant people) but I tried to give as much effort as I am comfortable with and still feel safe.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: Strength Routine + 1:00 Easy Run +2500 Swim
  • Actual: Strength + 7.1M @ 8:28 avg. + 2700 Swim (main set: 7×100 w/5″ RI, 8×100 VO2 Max w/1′ RI)

Woah, fall in July?! It was 57 when I left for the run at 7:30 a.m. No complaints here! Walter went with me for the first 5.5 then I dropped him off and finished up.

I worked the rest of the day then headed to the pool around 3:30. The sky was threatening rain all day so I had decided that going indoors was the best option. Was hoping for a little more pool magic like Sunday but this swim felt blah and hard.

Wednesday

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Sleeping until 8 a.m. was glorious and this complete rest day felt long overdue.

Thursday

  • Plan: Speed Workout: 2-3x1M @ 6:40 (or below) w/ 1:45 – 2:00 rest, & focus on negative split + 2700 Swim 1:20 Ride w/28′ Tempo
  • Actual: 8M @ 7:51 + 23M Ride @ 18.6 mph

This was by far the best mile repeat workout I have ever done. I warmed up and cooled down in the park behind the track (I love this option!) and made a pitstop in the grossest porta potty I have ever experienced. That part aside, it was a perfect day: cool with low humidity and I felt really, really good. Repeats: 6:34, 6:34, 6:32, all with the second 800 4-8 seconds faster than the first.

track2

Mandatory track picture. I love this place.

I was originally planning to do this ride on Friday, but since I had to be in Peoria for a meeting Friday morning, I took my bike with me and rode Thursday evening. I try to take advantage of any chance to ride on country roads instead of the Lakefront Path. I cut out the tempo since I did a workout in the morning. I am reminded how much I truly love to ride when I am outside of the city.

corn

Corn fields & country roads make for a good riding backdrop.

Friday

  • Plan: 45 min – 1:00 Easy Run + 1:20 Ride w/28′ Tempo 2700 Swim
  • Actual: 7.25M @ 8:19 avg. + 2450 Swim (main set: 5×300, 4×50 sprint)

Man, it was tough to get out of bed for this one. I had to get up at 5:15 to get the run done and be at my 8 a.m. meeting on time and despite 7 hours of sleep, it was rough. Once I finally dragged myself outside, it was so very worth it. Nice cool morning and my legs came alive right away.

I had meetings all morning, then lunch with the in-laws before heading back to Chicago. The drive took WAY longer than it should have because of traffic in in the city. Once I got home, I briefly considered skipping the swim since the last thing I really wanted to do was get back in the car and drive somewhere. But it was a beautiful day and I knew the outdoor swim would feel good after sitting in the car for 4 hours. It ended up being a great swim, but I had to cut it slightly short because the pool was closing.

Saturday

  • Plan: Strength Routine + 2:00 Run 
  • Actual: 15M @ 8:12 avg.

I got up a little before 6 when Brad left to go to his golf tournament. I skipped strength because I knew it would be getting hotter by the minute and I just wanted to get started. Took Walter for 4, then finished up the rest. I focused on better pacing since I ran out of gas in the end last week. First 5: nothing faster than 8:20, Next 5: nothing faster than 8:10 and last 5: 7:50-8:10. It worked and I felt strong at the end.

bath

All the drinks for my ice bath: Nuun, Protein Shake, Hot Apple Cider

Sunday

  • Plan: 2:30 Ride + 2800 Open Water Swim 
  • Actual: 44.4M @ 17.7 mph + 2900 OWS @ 1:27/100 yd

I took Brad to the train at 5:15 for an early flight so I left to ride as soon as I got back. I love going that early on Sunday mornings because I beat traffic on the city roads and the whole ride is more peaceful. Every time I ride north on Sundays I am reminded how much I truly love being on my bike. The time flew by and my legs felt really good.

photo 1 (20)

The view from my saddle.

After the ride, I ate and changed then went down to Ohio Street Beach to swim. I usually bike there, but decided to drive since I had just ridden nearly 45 miles. I wasn’t sure what the parking situation would be (it’s $25 flat rate at Navy Pier) but I was able to park on the street for $4/hr and it was a short 3 min. walk over to the beach. I felt like a sloppy mess on the swim and when boats would come in and out I was bobbing around like crazy, but my average was surprisingly good (only 1 sec/100 yd slower than my race pace at Nationals last year). I’ll take it.

photo 2 (23)

Ohio Street Beach

Totals

  • Swim: 8100 yds
  • Bike: 87 miles
  • Run: 45 miles
  • Time: 13 hours 20 min. (<– maybe a little overkill for Olympic Distance training…)

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, family, running, swimming, the lake, training, Travel, triathlon, walter, weekly recap. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Building

  1. Solid week and impressive 1 mile repeat times!!

  2. Sounds like a great week, especially the mile repeats! I’m always so impressed with how you fit in the biking and swimming on top of the running AND while traveling!

  3. elizabeth says:

    love the goals you set for your long run. I think I need to do something like that. Seems like you are really making the time to change up the places of your workouts and it’s paying off

  4. Pingback: Starting Slow & Finishing Strong |

Tell me what you think!

