USAT Nationals: Big Scary Goals

If I am really honest about the one thing I want from this race, it is to PR and more specifically, to break 2:20. If that were to (by some miracle) land me a spot in the top 25 so that I can participate in the roll-down for a slot to Worlds, then that would just be icing on the cake.

usat nationals logo

Last year I went into this race knowing I had a condensed 10 week training cycle so I just I wanted to see what Nationals was all about and have some fun. I thought it would be cool to race in a competitive environment and see how I compared to the top Age Groupers in the country. This year, that all still holds true, but my 30th place finish last year left me really hungry for more.

U

Pain face crossing the finish line last year.

I know I cannot control who shows up or how fast the women around me race and all I can do is focus on myself. So when I show up to race Saturday, I am going to give everything I have to put together a swim, bike and run performance that I can be really, really proud of.

How does it break down?

Swim

Last year I swam a 23:36 (1:26/100 yd). I felt sloppy and out of control the whole time. This year, while I haven’t had as much open water time, I have spent a great deal more time in the pool and have racked up more yardage overall. I want to focus on being calm and staying in control since that has been an issue in my last 2 races. I am hoping that will also translate into a faster time. I will be disappointed if I am not sub-23:00 and would really like to see a time around 22:30 (ish) which is 1:23/100 yd.

T1

Normally I wouldn’t address transitions, but last year my T1 was horrendous (3:00) and was among the absolute slowest in my AG. My bike had been knocked on the ground which made it hard to find and all my shit was scattered everywhere. I think I can cut almost 1:00 off of that time, which is HUGE, considering it is basically a free minute.

Bike

This is probably the biggest wildcard. The bike is were I could potentially gain the most time, but also where I am really most unsure of my fitness. I was stoked with my 21.7 mph avg from last year. I definitely haven’t put the intensity (speed, intervals) in on the bike this year that I did last summer, but with some hilly riding in Virginia and bike upgrades (WHEELS!), I do think I can ride well.

And then there was that crazy split from ITU Chicago. {I still question whether the course was short, because 23+ mph baffles me.} If I could pull off a split like that (although the course isn’t quite as flat and wind protected as Chicago), I would blow my goal out of the water. Bottom line, I would be stoked with any split above 22 mph or 1:07:30 (ish).

20x30-CHIJ7651

From Chicago ITU’s shocking bike split in June.

Run

I ran really well at Nationals last year, with a 44:22 10k (7:08) pace. I surprised myself a little then and hope I can pull off another fast 10k this time. I am in better running shape than I was last August, but as I learned 6 weeks ago in Chicago, that doesn’t always translate. My big scary A goal is to average 7:00 for a 43:30, which would also be a 10k PR. I would ultimately be thrilled with anything under 44:00, and would settle for anything in the range of last year’s split.

turkey trot happy

Another stolen pic…from my 10k PR in 2012.

Overall

Sooooo…If I could put each of those A goals, it would mean a total time of ~2:17. That seems crazy and it is highly likely that I may lose a little time here or there for various reasons, but I have my fingers crossed for one of those magical days where all the stars align and I can make this crazy number a reality.

{And yes, of course I have looked to see what placement a crazy number like that would give me!} Because of the way age groups work in triathlon, I will compete in the 30-34 age group this year, but a slot to Worlds would have to be in the 35-39 AG since that is the age I will be next year. Last year that AG was slightly less deep with sub-2:20’s and my scary ass goal would put me in a place that I could only ever DREAM of being.

Finally I am BEYOND excited to spend this weekend and race with my good friend, Char, again. We had so.much.fun. last year in Milwaukee. The running and triathlon talk is endless, but so is the laughing, eating and beer consumption.

IMG_1022

 

Two days!! Let’s do it!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Goals, Races, running, swimming, training, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to USAT Nationals: Big Scary Goals

  1. ErinAMG says:

    Goodness, you’re awesome. Tear it up out there this weekend. Hi to Char, too. 🙂 xo

  2. chanthana says:

    Good luck this weekend!!

  3. This is really exciting, good luck! I can’t wait to read your recap 🙂 And a 7:08 pace after the biking is so awesome!

Tell me what you think!

