Closing out Tri Season

Prior to last weekend, I can only think of one time that I have come off of an “A” race and not fallen deep into the clutches of post-race depression (PRD).

{That was last year after the NYC Marathon, when I was injured during the training cycle, thus didn’t have as much invested in the race. Plus I had so much to look forward to with my first Boston training cycle on the horizon.}

photo 5

The most fun I have ever had running a marathon.

The PRD always hits me like a freight train around 48 hours after crossing the finish line. Then I feel like shit for about 3-4 days before I can pull myself out of the post-race haze and move on with my life. During those days, I also spend WAY too much analyzing what went well, what didn’t go well, what I would change, etc. Some of that can be productive, but when the “what didn’t go well” gets way too much attention, it is counterproductive.

So this past Monday morning, I woke up expecting to mourn the end of triathlon season and over-analyze every part of the race and the days leading up to it. But those feelings never came. While I  was a little bummed that I didn’t ride as well as I thought I could’ve and that I didn’t make Worlds in Chicago, that was overshadowed by being pumped about a 10k PR and the fact that I had a freakin’ blast racing (plus drinking and eating) in Milwaukee. I woke up Monday morning mostly just ready to focus on running and the Chicago Marathon.

chicago image

Side note: Maybe all of that also means that it wasn’t truly an “A” race? Likely.

With that being said, the last couple of days, after a run in the morning, I have found myself bored in the afternoon. Like, shouldn’t I be going for a lunchtime swim or bike ride? Somehow *just*running doesn’t seem like enough after doing two-a-days all summer. Of course this is crazy because when I was doubling up on workouts the last couple of months, I felt like a lunatic that was constantly training. But I can’t pretend that I don’t miss swimming in the cool water with the sun shining on me at lunch. And while I definitely won’t miss riding on the Lakefront on weekdays, I will definitely miss Sunday morning rides up through the North Suburbs along the lake.

pool

My beloved Holstein Park Pool

I know this feeling will be fleeting as the colder weather sets in this fall and I would be driven to indoor pools and rides on the trainer. But somehow wrapping up the season this year seems different. While training for a marathon and a triathlon was overwhelming at times, I never got burnt out like I have in the past. It has been two years since I trained for a longer distance triathlon and I really miss it. I have had thoughts of Ironman dancing in my head for the last couple of summers and just haven’t been able to pull the trigger. The time just hasn’t seemed right. But as I close out triathlon season, knowing I won’t be spending much time on my bike or in the pool in the coming months, dreams of that sub-5:00 70.3 are dancing around in my head. And real thoughts of finding the right Ironman race and a support team (i.e. training partners and a Coach) are bubbling up again.

I still don’t know if I am ready get serious about an Ironman. There is so much that goes into training and there are some questions I need to answer first (primarily around a potential new position and/or more responsibility at work) in the coming months. But I am day dreaming about cycling and swimming, knowing that my 6 day/week running schedule and increasing mileage probably means I should stay in my running shoes and out of the saddle/pool for now.

Onward!

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in bike, Chicago, friends, Goals, Races, running, swimming, the lake, training, triathlon, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Closing out Tri Season

  1. Jodi says:

    Do you read Shut up and Run? She’s from here in Colorado (I don’t know her personally, just her blog) and she just finished her 2nd ironman in like 9 months.

  2. Pingback: All the Easy Miles |

  3. elizabeth says:

    WHOOP WHOOP!! Sherpa in training….yes, doesn’t seem like it was that big of an A race for you this year. BUT, so excited to see what Chicago has in store for you!

Tell me what you think!

