Summer Finally Arrived.

8 weeks until Chicago Marathon

We have been SUPER lucky with this summer’s weather in Chicago. For the most part, it has been gloriously cool with low humidity. I firmly believe that we earned it after enduring the absolutely brutal winter. BUT the warmer temps and humidity graced us this week (in Virginia & Chicago) and I definitely felt the affects in my running.

Monday 

  • Plan: Tempo Run w/3-4M @ 7:05-7:15
  • Actual: 9M @ 7:50 w/tempo: 7:13, 7:16, 7:08, 7:07

I seem to default to vacation mode when I am at the lake…even though this was most definitely a work day for me. I slept in until 8:30, then after a little foam rolling, I ran around 9:15. It wasn’t crazy hot (low 70’s) but there was almost 100% humidity (it sprinkled during the run and rained the rest of the day). I picked the route for the tempo hoping to not punish myself with all uphills but not cheat by doing more downhills. The way out is much more UP and the way back is much more DOWN.

Screen Shot 2014-08-20 at 2.30.44 PM

I had to fight hard for the first 2 miles and then my legs were shot, but I was able to use the downhills to keep the effort in check and still be in the goal range.

photo4

This is what a humid 9-mile run looks like for me. So.Much.Sweat.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: Strength Routine + 1:00 Easy Run
  • Actual: 7.2M @ 8:23 avg.

Last run on the hills before going back to Chicago. I forgot to set my alarm to wake up early enough to do strength work and run before my flight. My legs were a bit sore/tired from Monday’s tempo so I decided I was better off scratching it than doing it when I got back to Chicago.

Wednesday

  • Plan: 1:00 Cross Training
  • Actual: 3200 yd Swim

I was looking forward to this all week because I have been missing outdoor swims (and also my legs were ready for a break). I had meetings in the morning so I went at lunch, which worked out perfectly because the sun was out and it was glorious. I am not sure why I was surprised that I didn’t feel strong and fast after 10 days not swimming though :P. I also find it ironic that my longest swim of the summer happened after triathlon season was over.

Thursday

  • Plan: Speed work w/7×800 @ 3:15-3:20
  • Actual: 9M @ 8:03 w/800’s: 3:15, 3:16, 3:16, 3:16, 3:15, 3:16, 3:16

This was a day I am really lucky to work from home. I woke up at 6 a.m. to a complete downpour and while I normally don’t mind a rainy run, since I would be walking on the front and back end, I wasn’t all about it. {The new Lakefront track is 3 miles from my house and my warm-up was ~2.5M and cool down ~1.5M so I walked the balance.} After weather stalking all morning, I finally ran around 9:30 and it was 76* and 90% humidity. I planned to start easy on the 800’s and work my way down but the first 3-4 at 3:15-3:16 felt like cruise speed. Then as I sweat out everything I drank that morning and more, it got hard. The last 2-3 were brutal and I felt like I was running through sand.

Friday

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Worked all morning then went to the Cubs game with Chanthana in the afternoon. I was almost as sweaty as some of my runs this week! After the game I had finish all the work that I didn’t do that afternoon and ended up working until after 8 p.m.

Saturday

  • Plan: 2:35 Run
  • Actual: 18.25M @ 8:27

This was absolutely brutal. I started at 6 a.m. but it was already 77 degrees and 96% humidity. I know you southerners have been dealing with this all summer, but I am definitely not acclimated. I took Walter for 3 miles then set out with a water bottle and extra Nuun tabs hoping that I wouldn’t crash and burn. I split the run up into 3×6 mile segments, with the goal of 1-6: 8:20+, 7-12: 8:15+ and hoped the last 6 I could drop the pace. I was right on track through 12, but even at these conservative paces, I fell apart in the last 5 miles. From 13 on: 8:27, 8:32, 8:32, 8:38, 8:48, 9:14 (0.25). Yikes. I filled my water bottle up 4 times (2xNuun, 2xwater) and still felt so thirsty, but it got to the point where it hurt my stomach to drink any more. I was pretty disappointed and after two crappy long runs in a row, my confidence was suffering.

Sunday

  • Plan: Short Easy Run or Cross Train
  • Actual: 4M @ 8:43

I was pretty sore from Saturday’s run, so this was a true recovery run. I took Walter, we made stops for water several times and just focused on getting the junk shook out. It worked because I felt much better afterward than before.

Totals

  • Run: 47.5 miles
  • Cross training: 1 Swim
  • Strength: 1 modified session (need to focus)
  • Yoga: 0 (grrr.)

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Goals, running, Strength Training, the lake, training, Travel, walter, Weather, weekly recap, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Finally Arrived.

  1. I’m sorry you had some rough runs this week but they are still awesome times/splits and you’re still nailing your plan! Those 800’s are awesome!!
    I totally feel you on the heat/humidity. I walked a bit during my long run this weekend and even sat on the side of the road for a minute to regroup. Brutal is a very appropriate description. You’d think eventually I’d acclimate since I’ve always lived in this climate, but apparently not. This summer has been slowing killing my running soul. Good news is today is much cooler than last week/weekend (86 vs 100+)- and it felt so much better running this morning! Hopefully y’all get a break again soon! xoxo

  2. Ugh, when several of the same kind of run suck in a row, it’s such a confidence killer. Last summer I was miserable every time I had a tempo on schedule. You’ll get through it though, persistence is key 🙂

  3. elizabeth says:

    ahh. this sounds like my runs! i know how the confidence suffers. Hoping it’s cooled off. And dude. i’m over your traveling. we need to catch up :):):)

  4. Pingback: Hamburg |

Tell me what you think!

