Redemption Week

7 weeks until Chicago Marathon

I came into this week feeling a little beat up, physically and mentally. I was sore from the long run the weekend before and early in the week, the summer weather hit its peak heat & humidity levels. I needed my body to shed the soreness and respond to some tough workouts so that I could regain confidence as I headed into the biggest part of training. By midweek, I was feeling much better and with the help of a little break in the heat on Thursday I had a confidence building speed workout which led into a good weekend of running.

Monday 

  • Plan: Tempo Run w/5-6M @ 7:10-7:25
  • Actual: 9.75M @ 7:48 w/tempo: 7:22, 7:18, 7:14, 7:16, 7:10

I drove down to Morton on Sunday evening because I had to work in Peoria for the first couple of days of the week. It is nice to mix up the running routes a bit, but I was really nervous going into this run. It was brutally steamy at 6 a.m. and my legs were still really cranky. Fortunately the legs loosened up significantly in the first couple of miles and after I dropped Walter off, I was ready to see what they had in them. I would have LOVED to try for 6 tempo miles, but at about 2.5, I made the call to push the pace and stop at 5. I was drenched in sweat and even with two short water breaks at tempo mile 2 and 4, I could feel myself getting dehydrated. Considering tired legs and the heat, I am really happy with how it went.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: Strength Routine + 1:15-20 Easy Run
  • Actual: 9.6M @ 8:22 

It’s crazy that 72 degrees and 86% humidity actually felt cool after the previous few days. My legs were super creaky in the first couple of miles with Walter and still felt pretty heavy even after that. At the very end, I unintentionally picked up the pace a bit (~8:00-8:10) and suddenly started to feel more like myself than I had for the entire run.

Once again forgot to get up in time for strength work. I promised myself I would do it once I got back to Chicago that evening and I just flat out forgot.

Wednesday

  • Plan: 1:00 Cross Training
  • Actual: 3000 yd. Swim + Strength

Morning swim in the outdoor pool in my new suit. I am liking these weekly swims, but I had to keep reminding myself that it was okay to back off and take it easy. There is no reason to kill myself in the pool right now.

Since I skipped Tuesday’s planned strength routine, I did it Wednesday afternoon.

Thursday

  • Plan: Speed work w/3 x 1M @ 6:40 + 4 x 200 “all out”
  • Actual: 9.5M @ 7:54 w/repeats: 6:36, 6:37, 6:35; 200’s: 41, 40, 39, 39

Wow…what a difference 10 degrees makes. It almost felt fall-like on this run with low humidity, temps in the upper 60’s and a nice cool breeze. I ran to the track (and saw Chanthana on the way!) and even better than being all alone at the track was seeing my buddy, Lynton, there doing mile repeats as well. I felt really strong during this workout. I REALLY needed that confidence boost.

Friday

  • Plan: Strength Routine + 45 – 1:00 Easy Run
  • Actual: Strength + 7.25M @ 8:20

Finally did the full strength routine before my run for the first time in a while. It was humid, but overcast and even though my legs took a bit to warm up, I actually felt more like myself on this run than I have in a while. Walter joined me for the first 4ish then I went back out to finish up and found myself just really enjoying myself instead of worrying about my legs being tired/sore/sluggish.

Saturday

  • Plan: 2:00 Run
  • Actual: 15M @ 8:14

I thought a little company on my long run might help after the last couple of weeks of tough runs. Luckily Jeff was game to run together and we met up for about 12 miles starting at 6:30. The miles flew by and I felt really good, despite it still being warm and humid. I finished much stronger than the last couple of weeks with the last 4 miles: 8:04, 7:58, 7:58, 7:53. I really needed this.

Sunday

  • Plan: Strength Routine + Short Easy Run, Cross Train or OFF
  • Actual: Strength + 4M @ 8:25

Modified version of the strength routine (took out single leg squats) and nice, easy recovery miles with Walter. I was surprised how good I felt at the end of a big week. I also find that recovery runs on Sunday after a Saturday long run seem to make the Monday tempos feel better than a full rest day.

Totals

  • Run: 55 miles
  • Cross training: 1 Outdoor Swim
  • Strength: 1 full strength routine, 2 modified/shortened (much better!)
  • Yoga: 0. womp.

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Goals, running, Strength Training, swimming, training, Travel, walter, Weather, weekly recap, workout clothes, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Redemption Week

  1. Nice job this week! I basically fell apart after we parted ways. I had to sit down after my strides, ha. Good running with you again.

  2. elizabeth says:

    dude. great week after a crappy one. I’m glad it was a good one. Running in Madison made all the difference in the world for me! So glad Walter is getting some good runs in, too!

Tell me what you think!

