Jamaica Running, Mon

6 weeks until Chicago Marathon

We planned the trip to Jamaica waaaay back last winter and I didn’t even realize at the time that I would be in high volume training mode for Chicago. I was nervous about my runs during the trip for weeks and even researched on-line and called the hotel before the trip to see what the running situation would be. While the weather was unbearably hot and humid and the running situation wasn’t ideal…it worked and I was able to get all of my miles in during the trip.

Monday 

  • Plan: OFF
  • Actual: OFF

Since I didn’t have a complete rest day at all last week, Coach started the week with a day off to reset. Nicely lined up with Labor Day so I took a long walk with a friend and the pups to the dog beach.

Tuesday 

  • Plan: Tempo Run w/4M @ 7:05-7:15
  • Actual: 9M @ 7:47 w/tempo: 7:11, 7:07, 7:06, 7:01

Bright and early run before a super busy day preparing to be out of the office for the rest of the week (well, technically two weeks since I am currently en route to Europe for a business trip). Felt smooth and controlled on the tempos, but September definitely didn’t bring cooler temps. This was a sweaty one.

Wednesday

  • Plan: 1:20 – 1:30 Easy Run
  • Actual: 11M @ 8:20

Helllooooo 3:30 a.m. wake-up call. No choice but to run before the 7:30 a.m. flight since the “feels like” temps in Jamaica in the afternoon are well into the triple digits. I took Walter for the first 4 miles since I knew that would be the darkest and most deserted part of the run. Once I headed back out after I dropped him off at 4:30, there were plenty of other runners out on the path. Despite having major GI issues on this run (thanks to BBQ and cake late the night before), I felt really good and wanted to keep going! I forgot how peaceful those dark, early morning runs can be.

Thursday

  • Plan: 1:00 Cross Training
  • Actual: Yoga

No gym at the hotel, but they had outdoor yoga every morning at 8 a.m. with a nice breeze coming off the water. It was gentle and lovely.

Breakfast views after yoga.

photo 1 (25)

Friday

  • Plan: Speed work w/ 6-7×400 @ 5k pace (~1:38)
  • Actual: 8M @ 8:06 w/400’s: 1:37, 1:37, 1:37, 1:38, 1:38, 1:39, 1:38

My first run in Jamaica. The hotel warned me to get out early before there was very much traffic since there are no sidewalks and people drive like maniacs. I was out the door by 6 and while there were some traffic, I was able to scoot off the road and stay clear when the crazy cars came by. On the way into our hotel the day before I had noticed a short (~1 mile) section of sidewalk/bike path just past the main downtown area in Negril. It was (conveniently) about 2.5 miles from our hotel so I ran over for the warm up and did the repeats there, then ran back for the cool down. I was absolutely SOAKED by the end of the run and was cat called by almost every man, woman and child I ran by, but all in a friendly manner and I felt generally safe the whole time. I felt all over the place on the repeats and was a little surprised to see how consistent the splits were when I got back and looked at the data.

Saturday

  • Plan: Strength + 45 min Easy Run
  • Actual: 5.5M @ 8:20 

Another steamy, sweaty run, but nice and relaxed. I ran in the opposite direction from the hotel than the day before and it was interesting to see a different part of Negril. This area was more neighborhoods and less commercial but I still felt plenty safe and the traffic was even less. I should have done the strength routine before I left, but I wanted to get out and get done before it got any later and traffic picked up. I thought maybe I would go to yoga after I got back, but I chose a leisurely breakfast with Brad instead.

After breakfast, we finally took some pictures of our bridge and cliff jumping adventures.

photo 2 (29)

 

photo 3 (12)

Sunday

  • Plan: 2:45 Run
  • Actual: 19.6M @ 8:26

 
I did this before we left Jamaica Sunday morning and it was an adventure to say the least. I think there is a lot more that I want to say about this run than makes sense here. Hopefully I will have a few minutes this week to share more!

Totals

  • Run: 53.1 miles
  • Cross training: 0
  • Strength: 0 (oops.)
  • Yoga: 1 (finally!)

About Corey

I am a 30-something swim, bike, run addict married to my best friend and in love with my two schnoodle doggies.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Goals, running, swimming, training, Travel, walter, weekly recap, workout clothes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jamaica Running, Mon

  1. Pingback: Proud |

  2. elizabeth says:

    you’re a machine!! You really aren’t scared to run at the time of the morning alone? Even at 4:30 I would freak. Can’t wait to hear about your trip.

Tell me what you think!

